HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

90.2% Overall Rating

134 out of 141 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Jessica McCubbin thinks…

"Staff were nice and the guy in reception when we arrived was very friendly and full of information. The room was nice, although very cold. You can pay for heating but the blankets were enough for us.…"

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Violeta Limon
14.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
14.19 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 81 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
14.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
15.08 USD

Hostel 91.6% 13 reviews
La Colombina
26.60 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
21.28 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
PataPata Hostel
13.30 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

134 out of 141 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 137 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Agustin Claret

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Agustin would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful well decorated and very nice.

Disliked: THe showers are not so good.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: I normally dont comment about my stay but this is my first really negative experience in my 6 months of travel. Sure checkout is 12 hence why we left our room but being asked to leave the hostel and not allowed to stay in communal areas even for people who have late flights is not something I have experienced. Also saying she had problems with us because we gave over 48hrs notice to cancel a night shows she issues. Also showers were always cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dolan Edward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Dolan would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful design within the hostel and lovely comfortable rooms. The location could not be better: really close to Cerro Concepion where there are great cafes and restaurants, and not too much of a trek up the hill from the shops, banks, buses etc

Disliked: Sometimes it was hard to find anyone who worked there but they were very helpful when found!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wacker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The location for day and night activities was excellent. There was loads of character in th building, Carolina was very helpful at the hostal, and giving information on the town. Hot water worked great, kitchen was well equipped, and the trapeze was a nice touch.

Disliked: Nothing. It was a bit quiet while we were there, but that was fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very unique house, close to where you want to be in Valparaiso!

Disliked: It could be a lot cleaner, showers are very small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great stay in Casaverdelimon! The house is beautiful and the room was nice and comfortable (good bed!) Common kichen was good and clean. First time in my trip I fellt like I was home, really nice atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2010

Liked: Good location close to bars and restaurants. TV's in the private rooms. Good kitchen.

Disliked: The common area was very cold and the heaters weren't working. Very quiet when we were there so didn't get to meet many people, but might have been the time of year.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Charnock

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place, and it has a trapeze!!

Disliked: it was fab, just a little cold at night, but beautiful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great building and social area. Location is perfect.

Disliked: Gas heaters difficult to work, sometimes gas bottles empty for few days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a lovely private room which was more like a studio. Full kitchen well kitted out in our room, was nice to make our own breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing stood out

Disliked: was very quite, not good if your trying to meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Much character, interesting colours. A trapeze! On a lovely street and near to everything. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Unreliable hot water upstairs and rooms can be drafty... but no biggies.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Monika Divisova

25 June 2010 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel stuff, both ladies, are very nice. Working for everyone needs. The hostel can be noisy, inside and outside as well, it depends the time of the year you visit, I think. And on your sleep as well, mine isn't too deep, so I got bit disturb by the noise. TV in each room is very good idea, especially during the football games! We really enjoyed it. The kitchen is very well equipped. All the house is airy and feels comfortable, even bit cold, but there are 2 heaters in common area, near the eating table and near the computers. PC's and wifi are working well tambien! It made us feel welcome and comfy, one of few places, during our 8month travel through South America, we won't forget.

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities. kitchen was so easy to work in. Everything worked perfectly. The beds are comfy and good supply of bed clothes. Rooms size are good. The hostel is very quirky and has a feel good vibe - was very nice to land there on a rainy evening after having issues at the Chile/Argentina border. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it. The bathrooms were kept well also. Only thing is you have to go through the kitchen to get to the shower (sounds worse than it is). Could do with hotter water but it wasnt unbearable, was more awkward for washing greasy dishes, nothing a kettle with boiling water couldn't solve though. Location is very good. close to the main street and supermarket and a good base for all sightseeing. Laundry is quite cheap, we washed a massive bag 5kgs for 3500CH pesos and it's ready in about 2 hours. Staff are helpful and they actually provide an itenery as to what to do for 3 days. We stuck to this and we covered eveything in the city.Would recommend this to friends and would come back if I ever happen to be here again. Wouldn't see it as a party hostel but then it is June/Winter at the moment and things are a little more quiet. I would imagine it's a little more lively in the Summer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, modern and comfortable hostel. But rather quiet while I was staying there and hard to find anyone that works there at times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful place.. We loved to stay at this hostel.. It's very clean.. the rooms are awesome and it is also perfect to have a rest.. I really would recommend this place to everyone..:) The only thing is that the earliest check-in is at 8:00 a.m.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Clark

07 March 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly. Beautiful artwork all around the house.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, clean, good location: 100 points

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel and have stayed here multiple times, I never want to leave! Great artistic style, helpful staff, and the location is perfect for walks to cerro alegre and around Valparaiso. Don´t miss it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Hall

11 February 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

marc squires

07 February 2010 marc would recommend this property

Liked: really groovy place with fab decor and thoughtful touches- valparasio itself is a great place is a top pick to stay - not much help form staff who are nowhere to be seen but had a great stay and recommend

Disliked: marc left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice hostel to stay in, the communal area is very open making it very easy to talk to other travellers. There is a trapese in the communal area too to practise your circus skills! There are 3 showers and 3 toilets which seemed fine for the amount of people when we stayed- however there was a problem occcasionally with the hot water.The communal area is next to the dorm room & some twin rooms which was a problem when we stayed as there were some very noisy travellers who didn´t go to bed despite the rules that you had to vacate the area by 12pm. The staff tried to ask them to go to their rooms but they wouldn´t and carried on their fun - I think that the staff should have not allowed them to stay after the 1st noisy night but they did which meant that some of us didn´t sleep for 2 nights ... not good!The hostel is decorated by the owner inside & out and it is fantastic´- they are just finishing the outside and it´s really wonderful!It is also in a good location, very central and close to everything.I would recommend this as a place to stay - just bring some heavy duty ear plugs!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very bohimian hostel, there was road works going on right outside the hostel when we stayed so it was noisy in the morning from 8.30am onwards. Internet was fast and free. Shame they dont do breakfasts, kitchen was well equipped though. They should change the bins in the top toilet everyday, we stayed two days and it wasnt emptied once so smelt a bit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.