HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

91.1% Overall Rating

137 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

Erin Allenby thinks…

"Our double private room was huge, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hostel itself is a pretty cool building with a neat layout. We were able to store our bags for the day before catching a…"

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Violeta Limon
13.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 82 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
La Colombina
24.98 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

137 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 140 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mr Richard Cravos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Mr Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was very spacious and extremely well equipped. The beds and general décor of the hostel were pleasant. The location is perfect, in a safe area, next to an array of bars and restaurants, whilst being chilled at the same time.

Disliked: Bit cold, even with the heaters. Lacked a bit of atmosphere and general edge.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: The hostel is in a pretty good location, lots of graffiti about the place and close to some cool bars. It has loads of character, well-equipped kitchen and beds are comfy but that's about it on the good stuff.

Disliked: I found the staff to be really unfriendly and unhelpful, it seemed like they just wanted to be on facebook all the time. When we arrived at night after a long bus, we were told to pay straight away - I asked if we could go to the ATM the next morning, as we'd booked 3 nights. They said no. It wasn't until we came back as the ATM was out of order, that they said we could pay the next day. I just think that's unhelpful. We alse asked if they could order a pizza, which was met with huffs as if we were bothering them. The place is also REALLY cold. Granted it's winter now, and we thought it would be fine but it really isn't, and they charge a lot for heaters. To get a shower, you have to walk through the common area and kitchen which is a bit annoying. We stayed just 2 nights - it wasn't the worst hostel ever, but I wouldn't recommend it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lowelle Bryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Lowelle would recommend this property

Liked: It had a relaxed atmosphere and was very clean. The hostel is very colourful and the staff are friendly. The location is very central and near some cool bars. The kitchen area is great and is fully equipped!

Disliked: It was a bit cold in the common areas of the hostel but I guess that is the Chilean winter! They provide you with plenty of blankets for the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FuJen Tsai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 FuJen would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff....

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely cosy hostel with a bohemian feel, located just at the bottom of the Cerro Alegre. Big common area (with a trapeze you can practice on!) that makes meetings with fellow travellers really easy. Would have stayed longer if I could.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms. really bright hostel that feels nice to sit in common areas. good place to meet people. great location

Disliked: nothing, though very cold at this time of year and bit pricey to rent heaters - these being provided free would make this hostel perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice staff, artistic atmosphere. Nice commonplace to meet others.

Disliked: We were here in May so it was quite cold. They only have 2 heaters in the common room. In the bedroom it was very cold. There is no breakfast but there's free (instant) coffee and tea all the time. Too bad there's no patio or some place outside.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard BERNARD

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice setting and character. Staff really helpful. Close to the main point of interest but not in the tourist area, perfect.

Disliked: The upper shared bathroom is not getting a real hot water... use the ones downstairs. Can get cold in the main resting area...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. The guy on reception was really helpful & friendly. The vibe was good, great other travellers. Cool location, right in the centre of things.

Disliked: Did get a bit cold but then that's just Chile in the winter, I guess.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tita Cvetkovic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Tita would recommend this property

Liked: This 'hotel' rather than 'hostel' has a particular charm and attracts the most amazing crowd.

Disliked: NO 24-HOUR RECEPTION! Do not bother trying to check-in before 10 a.m. or even later. You will not be offered any breakfast either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The colours, the people, good kitchen and very clean!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immense character here, fantastic decor, lots of room and well equipped!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly! I became ill why we stayed here and they helped us find a doctor a make an appointment and afterwards they ask me how I felt. The building looks very nice with all the pantings and all. The location is great, the have really good and fast internet, good kitchen and nice beds. Free coffee all day long

Disliked: There are 3 showers and only one is really good, the others are not warm enough and one is broken...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulina Pilch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beutiful builidng in the perfect location. Artistic character, great staff and clean place.

Disliked: It is noisy! A lot of young crowd parting through the night in teh common area while majority of room are located around this area. Hard to sleep. No breakfast, despite the description of a place as B&B.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very artsy atmosphere directly in front of a colourful square. Their art school was given a price by the governor during our stay. So it should be pretty good. Very friendly staff, especially Peter.

Disliked: The internet worked only in one of the two computers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character...Big kitchen, nice beds

Disliked: no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is beautiful. very well maintained. great atmosphere. lovely staff. attracts a nice crowd. in the centre of where you want to be. art class was BRILLIANT.was able to get involved and create some of my own street art in valporaiso. cant fault it

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chris Marshall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: nice old building, clean rooms and very good location

Disliked: no breakfast included, and it can be quite noisey as its an old house so not very sound proof. Also it was supposed close common areas at mid night but there was no body around to inforce it as the staff left at 11pm....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abraham Verheij

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011 Abraham would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and atmosphere for a great price. Art classes downstairs of the hostel are great fun and good value for money. We've left our marks on the outside of the building!

Disliked: nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, clean and colorfull place with big rooms and a lot of bathrooms and free tea and coffee

Disliked: we missed a place to sit outside

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rainer Stalvik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2011 Rainer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to everything, good wifi

Disliked: No cleaning of room during my stay, rather rundown bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique, in a good way!

Disliked: Speaking English would ease things.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: run down showers, cleanliness, smelly room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has so much character and a really good vibe. We stayed in the double room with private bathroom and kitchen. We were very surprised with how big the room was and it did feel very cosy.

Disliked: Not much. It is an older building though, with older ammenities and linen etc.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

BARRE AMELIE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 BARRE would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, nice neighbourhhod and colourful place!

Disliked: no breakfast....and very little,old bathrooms