We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

92.0% Overall Rating

148 out of 155 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2015)

"Really nice hostel, great atmosphere, friendly & very helpful staff. Met other nice travellers, and in perfect location in valparaiso. Very clean, comfy beds, good facilities (there is even a trapeze..!) much…"

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Violeta Limon
17.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
12.95 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 82 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
19.43 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
13.76 USD

Hostel 89.1% 17 reviews
La Colombina
24.28 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
19.43 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.81 USD

Hostel 87.4% 20 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

148 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 135 of 151 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect close to bars and restaurants in the center and not too far uphill. The building and interior are really nicely decorated with a lot of love for details and art. The common areas and rooms are very spacious and the kitchen very well equipped.

Disliked: The staff didn´t seem to be into interactuate with the guests. Apart from doing you the check in some of them weren´t even able to tell you goodmorning. Although the hostel is really nicly decorated and spacous not only the rooms but also atmosphere were pretty cold, no music (there was one radio but it doesn´t work), no activities... The hostelbookers certificate for best atmosphere exhibited in the living room must have been given to them long time ago... Also during the 3 nights we stayed there they never changed the towels in the bathrooms :/

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nicely decorated and clean. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The walk to the showers and bathrooms through the common area. Also some rooms lead straight onto the common area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost evrything

Disliked: The Internet connection breaks sometimes The hostel is pretty cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Dale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! There is a trapeze in the main area and some silks, both of which you can actually use - they have mats and everything. They have free tea and coffee, a decent kitchen, computers and quick wi-fi, very comfortable beds (even the top bunk), a decent book exchange and the common area is nice, and, kind of helps interaction between guests. Heck, the couch has a tail!! The staff are super nice and helpful and knowledgable and the place is always clean. The location is perfect because its central and there are a lot of good bars and places to eat on the street.

Disliked: It was all good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice kitchen and double rooms

Disliked: The bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Woodhouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011

Liked: The building itself is very nice and bright with good communal areas. The staff were really friendly.

Disliked: I wouldn't recommend this property to other travellers - it was too cold at night and the hostel rented heaters at an extra cost of 3000! The kitchen wasn't that well equipped and the security was terrible. All the lockers were cupboards with the backs hanging off. The locks were iffy, we also came back during the day and the door was wide open to the street so anybody could have stolen our stuff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The eclectic interiors- full of colour and character. What was nice as well was that there were a couple of different entrances and that it wasn't too far up the hill!

Disliked: It was a bit cold, which was a shame because the communal area was really nice and we would have liked to have spent more time there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful, quirky and full of character..excellent communal kitchen..large rooms with telly..lovely staff

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mr Richard Cravos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Mr Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was very spacious and extremely well equipped. The beds and general décor of the hostel were pleasant. The location is perfect, in a safe area, next to an array of bars and restaurants, whilst being chilled at the same time.

Disliked: Bit cold, even with the heaters. Lacked a bit of atmosphere and general edge.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: The hostel is in a pretty good location, lots of graffiti about the place and close to some cool bars. It has loads of character, well-equipped kitchen and beds are comfy but that's about it on the good stuff.

Disliked: I found the staff to be really unfriendly and unhelpful, it seemed like they just wanted to be on facebook all the time. When we arrived at night after a long bus, we were told to pay straight away - I asked if we could go to the ATM the next morning, as we'd booked 3 nights. They said no. It wasn't until we came back as the ATM was out of order, that they said we could pay the next day. I just think that's unhelpful. We alse asked if they could order a pizza, which was met with huffs as if we were bothering them. The place is also REALLY cold. Granted it's winter now, and we thought it would be fine but it really isn't, and they charge a lot for heaters. To get a shower, you have to walk through the common area and kitchen which is a bit annoying. We stayed just 2 nights - it wasn't the worst hostel ever, but I wouldn't recommend it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lowelle Bryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Lowelle would recommend this property

Liked: It had a relaxed atmosphere and was very clean. The hostel is very colourful and the staff are friendly. The location is very central and near some cool bars. The kitchen area is great and is fully equipped!

Disliked: It was a bit cold in the common areas of the hostel but I guess that is the Chilean winter! They provide you with plenty of blankets for the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

FuJen Tsai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 FuJen would recommend this property

Liked: good location and friendly staff....

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely cosy hostel with a bohemian feel, located just at the bottom of the Cerro Alegre. Big common area (with a trapeze you can practice on!) that makes meetings with fellow travellers really easy. Would have stayed longer if I could.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms. really bright hostel that feels nice to sit in common areas. good place to meet people. great location

Disliked: nothing, though very cold at this time of year and bit pricey to rent heaters - these being provided free would make this hostel perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice staff, artistic atmosphere. Nice commonplace to meet others.

Disliked: We were here in May so it was quite cold. They only have 2 heaters in the common room. In the bedroom it was very cold. There is no breakfast but there's free (instant) coffee and tea all the time. Too bad there's no patio or some place outside.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard BERNARD

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice setting and character. Staff really helpful. Close to the main point of interest but not in the tourist area, perfect.

Disliked: The upper shared bathroom is not getting a real hot water... use the ones downstairs. Can get cold in the main resting area...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. The guy on reception was really helpful & friendly. The vibe was good, great other travellers. Cool location, right in the centre of things.

Disliked: Did get a bit cold but then that's just Chile in the winter, I guess.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tita Cvetkovic

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Tita would recommend this property

Liked: This 'hotel' rather than 'hostel' has a particular charm and attracts the most amazing crowd.

Disliked: NO 24-HOUR RECEPTION! Do not bother trying to check-in before 10 a.m. or even later. You will not be offered any breakfast either.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The colours, the people, good kitchen and very clean!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immense character here, fantastic decor, lots of room and well equipped!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly! I became ill why we stayed here and they helped us find a doctor a make an appointment and afterwards they ask me how I felt. The building looks very nice with all the pantings and all. The location is great, the have really good and fast internet, good kitchen and nice beds. Free coffee all day long

Disliked: There are 3 showers and only one is really good, the others are not warm enough and one is broken...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paulina Pilch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Paulina would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beutiful builidng in the perfect location. Artistic character, great staff and clean place.

Disliked: It is noisy! A lot of young crowd parting through the night in teh common area while majority of room are located around this area. Hard to sleep. No breakfast, despite the description of a place as B&B.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very artsy atmosphere directly in front of a colourful square. Their art school was given a price by the governor during our stay. So it should be pretty good. Very friendly staff, especially Peter.

Disliked: The internet worked only in one of the two computers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great character...Big kitchen, nice beds

Disliked: no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is beautiful. very well maintained. great atmosphere. lovely staff. attracts a nice crowd. in the centre of where you want to be. art class was BRILLIANT.was able to get involved and create some of my own street art in valporaiso. cant fault it

Disliked: nothing