HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Verde Limon

Hostel | Cumming (Plaza El Descanso)198, Cerro Cárcel Valparaiso, Chile 000

91.4% Overall Rating

135 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Jessica McCubbin thinks…

"Staff were nice and the guy in reception when we arrived was very friendly and full of information. The room was nice, although very cold. You can pay for heating but the blankets were enough for us.…"

Read all Casa Verde Limon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Violeta Limon
14.16 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Angel Hostal
12.01 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 82 reviews
La Casa del Puerto
13.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Valija Hostel
14.59 USD

Hostel 92.0% 14 reviews
La Colombina
25.74 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 4 reviews
Casa Kultour
20.59 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
PataPata Hostel
12.87 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

135 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Verde Limon'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 125 of 138 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful architecture nice size hostel.

Disliked: Bit noisy with noise from the street at times but drumming and dogs are a problem everywhere!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cosy atmosphere, great place to meet other travellers.

Disliked: I can imagine it being quite cold as even in the Summer it was quite fresh in the communal areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ling Yin Phyllis Ho

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2012 Ling Yin Phyllis would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room with bath room, to our surprise it includes a kitchen and there is a refrigerator too! To my observation, there is a tv in each room. The staff are helpful. Sammy provided info of Valparaiso and helped us to search information for our trip to Argentina.

Disliked: Staff may stayed just 1 floor above our room, sometimes we heard they walked around.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

adam popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: great location, everything we needed for one night stay, good kitchen etc, helpful staff and a nice building.

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maria Patricio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Super Sweet Hostel, recommendable.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Monique Wezel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice building, nice atmosphere, good location.The private room was great and huge and the dorm (5 beds) was very oke. Close to bars and restaurants and not too far uphill..

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good, clean hostel, with welcoming staff.

Disliked: It could be a little noisy at times. Beware the steep steps into the common room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decoration is nice

Disliked: toilets are in the middle of common area and showers - nearly in the kitchen and

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Willem Boshoff

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Willem would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building right in the middle of the city's Bohemian hub; easy walking distance from most attractions. The hostel is nicely in tune with the city's atmosphere and offers quality accommodation for the price. Staff was very friendly & helpful.

Disliked: My bed was very creaky and I ended up putting my mattress on the floor :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in good location! Our private double room ensuite had its own kitchen inside! Great.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, dorms are large. Also large commonroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice the atmosphere is great. It´s a really a magic place to enjoy Valparaiso. It´s one of the best hostel that i saw in my travel in south American, i would recommended it. You can't really forget this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, big and clean room.

Disliked: The breakfast should be included.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere...enjoyed meeting other travelers. Good kitchen facilities and great showers!! Enjoyed the trapeze and silks!

Disliked: very cold at night, I thought it wouldnt be a problem during summer, but it still was. Ask for a room on the top floor rather than near the common area because it can get really loud!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect close to bars and restaurants in the center and not too far uphill. The building and interior are really nicely decorated with a lot of love for details and art. The common areas and rooms are very spacious and the kitchen very well equipped.

Disliked: The staff didn´t seem to be into interactuate with the guests. Apart from doing you the check in some of them weren´t even able to tell you goodmorning. Although the hostel is really nicly decorated and spacous not only the rooms but also atmosphere were pretty cold, no music (there was one radio but it doesn´t work), no activities... The hostelbookers certificate for best atmosphere exhibited in the living room must have been given to them long time ago... Also during the 3 nights we stayed there they never changed the towels in the bathrooms :/

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very nicely decorated and clean. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: The walk to the showers and bathrooms through the common area. Also some rooms lead straight onto the common area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost evrything

Disliked: The Internet connection breaks sometimes The hostel is pretty cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Dale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! There is a trapeze in the main area and some silks, both of which you can actually use - they have mats and everything. They have free tea and coffee, a decent kitchen, computers and quick wi-fi, very comfortable beds (even the top bunk), a decent book exchange and the common area is nice, and, kind of helps interaction between guests. Heck, the couch has a tail!! The staff are super nice and helpful and knowledgable and the place is always clean. The location is perfect because its central and there are a lot of good bars and places to eat on the street.

Disliked: It was all good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice kitchen and double rooms

Disliked: The bathrooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Laura Woodhouse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011

Liked: The building itself is very nice and bright with good communal areas. The staff were really friendly.

Disliked: I wouldn't recommend this property to other travellers - it was too cold at night and the hostel rented heaters at an extra cost of 3000! The kitchen wasn't that well equipped and the security was terrible. All the lockers were cupboards with the backs hanging off. The locks were iffy, we also came back during the day and the door was wide open to the street so anybody could have stolen our stuff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The eclectic interiors- full of colour and character. What was nice as well was that there were a couple of different entrances and that it wasn't too far up the hill!

Disliked: It was a bit cold, which was a shame because the communal area was really nice and we would have liked to have spent more time there!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful, quirky and full of character..excellent communal kitchen..large rooms with telly..lovely staff

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mr Richard Cravos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Mr Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was very spacious and extremely well equipped. The beds and general décor of the hostel were pleasant. The location is perfect, in a safe area, next to an array of bars and restaurants, whilst being chilled at the same time.

Disliked: Bit cold, even with the heaters. Lacked a bit of atmosphere and general edge.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011

Liked: The hostel is in a pretty good location, lots of graffiti about the place and close to some cool bars. It has loads of character, well-equipped kitchen and beds are comfy but that's about it on the good stuff.

Disliked: I found the staff to be really unfriendly and unhelpful, it seemed like they just wanted to be on facebook all the time. When we arrived at night after a long bus, we were told to pay straight away - I asked if we could go to the ATM the next morning, as we'd booked 3 nights. They said no. It wasn't until we came back as the ATM was out of order, that they said we could pay the next day. I just think that's unhelpful. We alse asked if they could order a pizza, which was met with huffs as if we were bothering them. The place is also REALLY cold. Granted it's winter now, and we thought it would be fine but it really isn't, and they charge a lot for heaters. To get a shower, you have to walk through the common area and kitchen which is a bit annoying. We stayed just 2 nights - it wasn't the worst hostel ever, but I wouldn't recommend it.