We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Portobello

Guesthouse | Artillería 115, C°Artillería, Valparaiso, Chile 237-1349

88.7% Overall Rating

52 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/01/2012)

"I highly recommend this hostel. The lovely family that runs the hotel ist so nice. They really care for you and will make your stay in valpariso the best stay in town ever. If you have a chance, stay here!"

Read all Hostal Portobello reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 99.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Hostal 199 B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 62 reviews
Casaclub Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 57.9% 4 reviews
Millenium House
12.99 USD

Hostel 76.1% 123 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
37.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Casa Fischer Hostal
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 123 reviews
Hostal Casa Valparaíso
11.66 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 116 reviews
Casa Volante Hostal
13.30 USD

Hostel 96.0% 75 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 70 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

52 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Portobello'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 52 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend this hostel. The lovely family that runs the hotel ist so nice. They really care for you and will make your stay in valpariso the best stay in town ever. If you have a chance, stay here!

Disliked: Everything was just great.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariana Nakashima

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really kind and breakfast is very, very good! Athough it is indicated for you to reach the property by elevator, it is possible to walk there and save a couple of chilean pesos. The view from the way up is gorgeous.

Disliked: Shower in the red room had mood swings and went from super hot to freezing cold.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful interior, nicely decorated rooms, delicious breakfast with home-made yoghurt and cake...

Disliked: Restaurants for dinner are in a distance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aoife O'Grady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Aoife would recommend this property

Liked: It's huge, very clean, with colour-themed rooms and the decor is very boutique-like. Breakfast was amazing and is served up until 12.30pm!

Disliked: Nothing at all... We had the whole place to ourselves as no one else was staying there! Didn't get to meet the owners, as they were away, but we were v well looked after by a friend of the owners.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: My girlfriend and I loved Hostel Portobello. We had a great double ensuite room, no sea view but it didn't really matter. The rooms with a view of the sea were even nicer. The manager was exceptionally friendly and helpful, she basically helped us to plan our 24 hours in Valparaiso singlehandedly and really makes you feel welcome. The old building is beautiful, and decorated so you really feel at home. The homemade breakfast includes freshly cut fruit, beautiful fresh yogurt, home made cake, juice, coffee, and some of the best fresh bread Chile has to offer. We would recommend the Portobello hostel to anyone.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything about this hostel: very nice friendly owners, the place is creatively decorated, clean and makes you feel cosy! The breakfast was really good. We recommend this hostel to everybody who is going to visit Valparaiso, both young people and families! Vlad and Elena.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Niels Jakob Mye

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

26 August 2010 Niels Jakob would recommend this property

Liked: La palabra clave de 'Portobello' es hospitalidad. Somos una familia de 4 y todos hemos viajado mucho - pero nunca vivimos un lugar como 'Portobello' con gente tan buena, tan amable y con tanta "buena onda". Los dos dueños de Portobello están sonriendo, abiertos y te están dando la bienvenida como pocos otros.We are a Danish family of four, and we must admit that our stay at Portobello in Valparaiso more or less saved our trip to Chile. The two owners are so very welcoming and friendly, the rooms are nice and clean, the view is magnificent and the location is great for exploring the city of Valparaiso. But above all, what really makes the difference is the overwhelmingly lovely atmosphere at this hotel - manly due to the wonderful young couple who runs this place.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Barnett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2010 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts are fantastic and helpful and it was a pleasure to stay there for a few nights.

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

27 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is necessary to get a tax to return to the hostel at night due to the local area not being safe at night. The taxis are expensive.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Erickson

20 December 2009 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: It was within walking distance to Valparaiso downtown restaurants and shops. Our hosts were very friendly and helpfull in recommending things to do and see.

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susanne Schultz

15 December 2009 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: schoener gemeinschaftsraum,internet frei,hohe gemuetliche zimmer(spartanische zimmer),gutes fruehstueck

Disliked: Susanne left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 December 2009

Liked: Our first time staying at a Hostel....It seemed just O.K.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Sarah Holohan

11 December 2009

Liked: Nice hostel with lovely staff, but overpriced and not in a great location.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 November 2009

Liked: google search

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a nice, clean hostel with outstanding friendly staff and good breakfast. only disadvantage is the location. one should take a taxi while travelling in the night and be careful of some areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior is a complete surpirse - beautifully presented. the staff where more than helpful, contacting people to ensure my plans went smoothly. Well worth the wal up the hill to Artillier

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Hostel, its a place very nice and comfortable,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a small hostel with a very homey and friendly feeling. The views of the bay are lovely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Real coffee and fresh orange juice for breakfast!! Owner Max is so so helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really loved our hosts! Carolina was so nice. The hostel is spotless and very well maintained.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nicolas Medot

07 October 2009 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Carolina was very welcoming and helpful.It really felt like a home away from home.The only thing that we think could be improved is putting heating in the bedrooms.

Disliked: Nicolas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Harrison

18 September 2009 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant value for money, great breakfast and extremely welcoming and helpful hosts

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic - Carolina and Max were so friendly! It was very quiet when I was there but I had an amazing time - they were so helpful, and the location is stunning - views over the bay from the dorm!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, a great place for a view of the harbour & you get to use the cool little elevators.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashish Patil

25 August 2009 Ashish would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very quite place. Very quaint. Not recommended for single travellers. Difficult to meet people.

Disliked: Ashish left no negative feedback.