We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Portobello

Guesthouse | Artillería 115, C°Artillería, Valparaiso, Chile 237-1349

88.7% Overall Rating

52 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/01/2012)

"I highly recommend this hostel. The lovely family that runs the hotel ist so nice. They really care for you and will make your stay in valpariso the best stay in town ever. If you have a chance, stay here!"

Read all Hostal Portobello reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 99.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Casa Hostal 199 B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 62 reviews
Casaclub Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 57.9% 4 reviews
Millenium House
12.99 USD

Hostel 76.1% 123 reviews
Hotel Montealegre
37.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Casa Fischer Hostal
13.32 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 124 reviews
Hostal Casa Valparaíso
11.66 USD

Guesthouse 91.4% 116 reviews
Casa Volante Hostal
13.30 USD

Hostel 96.0% 75 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 70 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

52 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Portobello'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 52 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davy Chang

13 August 2009 Davy would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostelbookers rates was amazing! I got my own bathroom in a 6 bunk shared room. The largest hostel room and bathroom I´ve seen in South America yet! Highly recommend Portobello for a comfortable and inexpensive stay.

Disliked: Davy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Coleman

23 July 2009 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: For any traveller going to 'Valpo' Hostal Portobello should be the first choice for accomodation. The property is decorated to perfection with all the mod cons, the beds are among the most comfortable able I have slept in whilst on my travels and the staff were superb - friendly, helpful and ensured that I had a great time in Valpo. All this for a very very reasonable price. 10 out of 10!

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were the first ever guests for the new owner Max! The hostel is beautifully decorated with wooden floors and high ceilings. The beds are new, as are the sheets and the towels and the view from the hostel is amazing. Max lives here and we spent the evening chatting to him and drinking beer. He has big plans for this place and we think it will only get better. It has the feel of a boutique hotel.. We would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte linford

14 May 2009 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the windows that opened out to the port, and I liked the location in the old part of the city, but it was the staff friendlyness that I liked the best.

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the managers maria,jose and aljiandro where the kindest and most helpful people breakfast was plentyful with freshly made juice every morning aijiandro help with our bookings to go south and anything we asked even doing our corrisponding for us with new found family as we spoke no spanich we didnt want to move from the portobello but hope to return 2010 wonderful spot wonderful owners they made everything so easy for us muchas gracias maria,jose and aljiandro

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Madeline Petrillo

18 April 2009 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a lovely location with great views over Valparaiso. The owners are extremely helpful and offer lots of information about what to see in the city.

Disliked: Madeline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Horton

14 April 2009 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The house has a lot of character and is in a great location. I had even taken a picture of this area from the cruise ship we arrived on. It´s right next to the prominent light blue Victorian restaurant, the naval museum, the Artilleria funicular, and a nice walking area with vista points. Alejandro was so helpful and very easy to talk to. He set us up with a nice city tour and helped us make phone calls, made travel suggestions, etc. The port view from our room was wonderful. We were very happy with this hostal.

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emilie Tipton

07 March 2009 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: The host was wonderfully helpful and dependable; breakfast; internet; view of harbor; meeting guests in the morning and at night

Disliked: Emilie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ireen Born

27 February 2009 Ireen would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. Really nice decoraded. The breakfast was great, homemade brown bread. Fresh juice. great shower.

Disliked: Ireen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Quarmby

27 February 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Great for privacy and a quiet rest.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

catherine watkins

23 February 2009 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a lovely home with wood floors and high ceilings. Very quiet and nice place to relax. The owners are delightful. Very close to the ascensor (elevator) and an easy walk to town. The Puerto Viejo is a great place to eat seafood.

Disliked: catherine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were very kind and helpful, and the place itself was cozy and very well located.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Bremen

15 February 2009 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The view is incredible...right out over the famed harbor of Valparaiso, which is a fascinating city. The room was very clean, comfortable and the owner Alejandro was very helpful in orienting us to the city and the neighborhood. The hostel is literally steps from what seems to be the most popular of the city´s many funiculars (acensors). The hills are steep, so it is not good for those who cannot walk. Valparaiso apparently has some crime, which we were warned about from several people, but we did not have any issues with walking almost anywhere. One time at night we took a cab up the hill for safety reasons, but other than that, this was a wonderful, friendly place to stay...highly recommended.

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Stewart

30 January 2009 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, beautiful sunny room, host very helpful, best breakfast by far. Homemade bread, fresh fruit, etc.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Zukowski

21 January 2009 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel Portobello is a very pleasant, clean place, with a beautiful view of the city of Valparaiso. The proprietor Mr. Alessandro treated us very well. I will recommend my friends.

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

chantelle agnew

11 January 2009 chantelle would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Very clean with beautiful breakfast.

Disliked: chantelle left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Clement

08 December 2008 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: extremely friendly welcome, instantly felt at home, fantastic decor.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service was great, the owners are very helpful and accommodating. Good location on the western end of town, near the top of a funicular, although there are few restaurants nearby. Great views of the city and the port.I liked that it's not a hostel--it's a bed and breakfast. "Hostal" is just the word used to describe B&B's in Chile. It's a false cognate and doesn't mean it's a hostel in the sense that the word means in English to Americans.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Woolley

30 November 2008 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very friendly host who spoke English and was most helpful

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Deleissegues

13 November 2008 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Portobello was more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hostel. Hosts were very kind and informative, providing copies of maps, walking tours, restaurant recommendations, etc. They even arranged transportation for us. Breakfast was decent, and the room was comfortable with a nice view and many channels of TV to choose from. Room, bathroom and common areas were clean and neat. I'd stay here again.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alejandro, the host, was probably the most attentive host we have had at any hostel we have stayed at around the world. He made sure that we had everything we needed, and also gave useful advice about the area and things like translating menus. The hostel is a beautiful building, comfortable and clean. Breakfast includes freshly squeezed juice and homemade bread. It was perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

roger knudsen

20 October 2008 roger would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful owners, Maria José&Alejandro

Disliked: roger left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanna Gallagher

05 October 2008 Jeanna would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome and at home. The building has wonderful character and our hosts were extremely helpful and very kind. They went out of their way to to help and provide us with local information about Valaparaiso. I would love to stay again, but longer next time!

Disliked: Jeanna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Renn

01 October 2008 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Alejandro and wife are excellent hosts. It felt like our home. Oftentimes we didn´t leave the B&B until late afternoon because of it´s comfortable atmosphere. I would recommend to 25 years and up group looking for a relaxing stay.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Veale

07 September 2008 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: This is good guesthouse for people who want to stay somewhere with a more personal feel.Set in a Prime Location overlooking the city just 50 feet from the top of the Artilleria funicular, (The best Views of Valparaiso). Run by a friendly and very helpful couple. The house itself is beautifully decorated with good-size rooms some with fantastic views. The price includes a generous continental breakfast.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.