HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Kreyenberg

Guesthouse | Avenida Alemania 4626, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile .

92.5% Overall Rating

232 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2013)

Patrick Coley thinks…

"My time spent in Valparaiso could only be topped by my stay at Casa Kreyenberg! Clean, great view, beautiful house and friendly hosts. I can't say enough wonderful things about my time there. I hope…"

Read all Casa Kreyenberg reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Planeta Lindo Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 94.6% 10 reviews
Luna Sonrisa
17.94 USD

Guesthouse 95.8% 39 reviews
Hostal San Pedro
14.35 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
16.14 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
17.94 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kultour
21.52 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hostel Los Gaviotines
16.14 USD

Hostel 91.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

232 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Kreyenberg'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 215 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Makarowska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Coley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

20 June 2013 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: My time spent in Valparaiso could only be topped by my stay at Casa Kreyenberg! Clean, great view, beautiful house and friendly hosts. I can't say enough wonderful things about my time there. I hope to return some day. I encourage any person traveling to Valparaiso to stay at Casa Kreyenberg. Lucia will make you feel like you're at home!!!

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Big, comfortable dorms and wifi works in the rooms which has been rare so far in SA!

Disliked: Very, very quiet. A bit out of town so I'm guessing a lot of people give it a miss. Shame. Wasn't great for meeting people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Ramos

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 April 2013 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is really good and the view of Valparaiso is unbelievable, plus is in Cerro Alegre, which is the fancy part of the city with great restaurants and coffee shops. The two owners, Juan Pablo and Lucia, are very friendly and they help me move around. Plus there is a burbecue and a full kitchen if you want to stay in. I surely recommend it if you want to relax and rest from your trip.

Disliked: Felipe left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and lovely place! Amazing view from the garden!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! The owners are just great! Extremely helpful and friendly. I stayed in the dorm room which was very nice, with properly working lockers and comfortable beds. The breakfast was one of the best I ever got in South America with fruit salad and fresh bread. I enjoyed many lazy days on the beautiful terrace overlooking the city and harbour. The hostel is located in a quite area not far away from small cafes and shops... You have to walk for quit a while to get to the city centre, but there are buses going up the hill all the time, so it's not really a problem.... I will definitly come back!

Disliked: Nothing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 February 2013

Liked: Clean, in a good location to see the main sites of Valpariso, fairly cheap, decent WiFi (no other Internet) and directly on a bus route to/from the bus station and Vina del Mar

Disliked: It is really a B&B not a hostel. If you are happy to eat all your meals/have all your drinks out then great but otherwise............ The dining room is only used for the included breakfast, it is seemingly not available otherwise. The kitchen is only open 13:00 to 21:00 and its fridge is not big enough to accomodate much by way of guests' food. I had to ask for cutlery which was obtained from the dining room. Can be noisy at night, local dogs mostly but when I was there the owners through a party the noise from which (I wasn't invited) kept me awake beyond 2:00 am despite ear plugs.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Schmitz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I've stayed in South-America! So nice and calm and very close to most parts of downtown!

Disliked: Florian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the view, owners are very friendly and helpful, beautiful property.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous house with great view of the town. Large clean room with lovely views also. Juan friendly and helpful, while Lucia has some gorgeous paintings throughout the house. Great breaakfast. We liked the cats too!

Disliked: Anyone using the computer could be 'thrown off' by the owners for business purposes e.g. updating online booking sites. Maybe they should get a separate pc or laptop for business purposes?

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo Rodriguez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend this place but be aware that although there are shared rooms, this is more of a bed a breakfast feel than it is a hostel. With that said, it couldnt be any cleaner, beds most comfortable i've slept on, excellent breakfast, and owners are super friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great stay.

Disliked: Which i could have stayed an extra day or two. :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very nice house in a good part of the town. You have a terrace with a great view of the city and the sea (spent a lot of time reading there!) The staff is super friendly and helpful, you feel like being invited by friends. The facilities are excellent: the beds are over comfortable, the showers are large and so clean, the common room is like a living room, etc. We had a BBQ for christmas day and that was a very good evening with great people and the staff organised everything. To summarise, this is one of the best hostels I've aver been in (travelling for 10 months already) and I would defenitely recommand it to anyone!!!

Disliked: Nothing, all was so good!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very helpful. Family atmosphere. Very quiet.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Landais Marina

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2012 Landais would recommend this property

Liked: Calme, bien placé, très bon accueil, barbecue organisé pour la soirée de Noël avec les autres résidents, propreté, conseils pour visiter la ville...

Disliked: Landais left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amasingly comfy beds and helpfull staff. Breakfast quite good and location perfect.

Disliked: There is lots of cats so not good for people allergic to those

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely place to stay in Valparaiso. The owner are very welcoming & helpful. The rooms are clean & have great character (as well as awesome duvets). The view from the rooms and the terrace is amazing. The shower was better than any other I've had so far on my trip. And the breakfast was great with fruit salad, cheese, ham, warm fresh bread & yummy preserves. Great job!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: great! clean, good location if you dont mind he walk to the top of the hill! helpfull staff, great experiance... exactly what you need in an amazing city.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyce Clee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Tyce would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel we've stayed at in South America to date. The local couple that run Casa Kreyenberg go out of their way to help during your stay, making sure we had a great time in Valparaiso. The breakfast is fantastic; cheese and ham, good coffee, even your own bowl of cut fruit - amazing! It's more like a b'n'b than a hostel, but the 6 dorm is extremely comfortable and has an incredible view of Valparaiso.

Disliked: Tyce left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Castro

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 September 2012 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Juan pa and Lucia were very nice to everyone, they were always willing to help and recommend places to visit. The breakfast was very good, more than a breakfast was a moment were you could share with the rest of the people that was staying in the hostel. Casa Kreyenberg is located in a very safe place, we went out at night and streets were very safe.

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great with an amazing view of Valpo. The room was big nd comfy and the kitchen had everything we needed. Juan and Lucia were superb hosts and helped us with everything, we have had a BBQ with them and their friends on 2 nights

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything although it was quite quiet while we were there and it's definitely not a party hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

José Pedro Urrestarazu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 José Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely PERFECT place!! The location can't be better, up on the hill with the most beautiful bay view. The house has a lovely last century decoration, with ancient and perfectly kept furniture. Lucia and Juan Pablo are so friendly and helpful. They will do everything to make you feel at home (or much better, at hollidays). The room and bathrooms are so clean! And the breakfast is delicious, with good breads, fruit salad, etc... I would give them a %200 if I could! Stay there!

Disliked: José Pedro left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Terrance Lobo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Terrance would recommend this property

Liked: The Owners are great, very helpful! awesome Breakfast, chilled atmosphere, great views. Really enjoyed my brief stay there.

Disliked: Terrance left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marlies Kimpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2012 Marlies would recommend this property

Liked: Great views from the room (with balcony!)

Disliked: Could improve a bit on cleanliness.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very nice and helpful about what you can do in the area. Breakfast is very good (a very delicious fruit salad). Beds are comfortable, the hostel is quiet and from their garden you have a very nice view of Valparaiso.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ignacio Faisal

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 August 2012 Juan Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated on a beautiful location with a great view. The atmosphere is just great and the staff couldn't be more helpful, after two days in there it felt like friends, not to mention the breakfast they serve, the best I have ever had at a hostel. I couldn't recommend this place enough and cannot wait to go back.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say, we had a brilliant stay!