We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Kreyenberg

Guesthouse | Avenida Alemania 4626, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile .

92.5% Overall Rating

232 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2013)

Patrick Coley thinks…

"My time spent in Valparaiso could only be topped by my stay at Casa Kreyenberg! Clean, great view, beautiful house and friendly hosts. I can't say enough wonderful things about my time there. I hope…"

Read all Casa Kreyenberg reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Planeta Lindo Hostel
15.15 USD

Hostel 92.2% 14 reviews
Luna Sonrisa
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 95.9% 42 reviews
Hostal Tricahue
19.98 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
23.81 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
16.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kultour
19.98 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hostal Casa Aventura
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 70 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

232 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Kreyenberg'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Helgesson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel I've stayed in in Southamerica. You could have this hostel as a school in service mind, helpfullness and friendleyness from the stab. They do everything for you. And the wiew over Valparaiso from the outside yard is magnificant!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a warm, cozy house at the top of the "Cerro Alegre". Great view and really close to touristic center. Breakfast was great. Milk, coffee, chease and ham! and jam. It was a vacation in my trip.

Disliked: Every thing was perfect, Lucía and Juan Pablo are very nice and helpfull.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lea Ngoc-Minh QUACH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Lea Ngoc-Minh would recommend this property

Liked: I planned first staying just for 3 nights then extended to a full week as I got such great feeling with Lucia and Pablo, they were so nice ! I also took the private spanish lessons with Victoria (lucia's sister) and that was great ! The description on hostelbookers didn't really give the real atmosphere there as I really got the feeling being at home...and having so much fun. All the amenities are great too : breakfast are totally great, rooms cleans, showers rooms perfect and friendly playing companions with the families cats.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011

Liked: nice owner

Disliked: too many cats!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011

Liked: Excellent dorm, comfortable mattresses and pillows, friendly staff, location

Disliked: Kitchen was filthy, cats walking on worksurfaces, bin lid was gross, ledge where washing up sponge kept mouldy and slimy, white plastic chopping board stained and brown, floor unwashed. I bought food to cook but went out to eat instead as it was so gross. Such a shame as the rest of the property is lovely, but really, really lets it down. Showers were icy cold everyday during my stay, and bath needed demoulding.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for the money. The owners are nice, and the breakfasts are very good! The location on Alegre is good (a very steep walk, beware!). Felt safe and secure. They also aren´t stodgy about you using the internet! Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, some have awesome views. A great stay and recommended!

Disliked: Although I liked the cats, they can make things a bit smelly. The kitchen was not as clean as the rest of the hostel.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good beds, very good breakfast, great location, big lockers, own key for front door, friendly staff

Disliked: kitchen has everything except glasses, but seems a bit untidy. had a cold shower, never found out, why there was no hot water...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Olivier Parent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2011 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: nice home, nice beds, nice breakfast, nice internet, nice hill to climb up to arrive to the hostel

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic location on a hill (taking a collectivo/taxi up the hill is easy/inexpensive), beautiful house & furnishings, very friendly host couple, great Sunday BBQ, relaxing atmosphere: so hard to leave!

Disliked: nothing: its a perfect change from noisy & impersonal party hostels: I thoroughly recommend it (and Valparaiso is a wonderful destination too)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leah DAVIES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: The most friendly hostel we have stayed in so far in 3 months. It's more like a guesthouse and feels like a home. The couple that run it are very helpful and do great bbq's. really small and great to meet people. Location is in the most beautiful part of the city with amazing restaurants close by and fantastic views too. Really cool place.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Iris Madeleine Kvæstad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Iris Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, its clean, good internet connection and you have a wonderful view of the city! BBQ in the evening - great! The bus to Vina del Mar goes right infront of the hostel, what was really nice!

Disliked: nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very freindly people, very nice atmosphere

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel felt more like a home than a hostel. It was small, clean and overall very nice.The staff was very friendly and helpful and everybody was sitting around the table for the (excellent) breakfast in the morning which made us feel very at home.

Disliked: If you are allergic to cats, this is not the hostel for you....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exellent view (room 2), just like home

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Filip Corens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: Typical house on the top of the hill with a magnificent view of Valparaiso! Very warm, houselike welcome, good infrastructure and outstanding breakfast. If you want comfort and rest, not partying; excellent address. Top of the bill!

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing view

Disliked: The hill is hard, but the taxi´s are good and cheap

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was honestly almost too nice to be a hostel. The duvets were plush, the breakfast was delicious, there was a fantastic view.

Disliked: It isn`t your typical party hostel, which is nice if you are looking for some sleep but if you are looking for a party look elsewhere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good breakfast, hot showers, close to cheap restaurants

Disliked: Felt like we were staying in someones home rather than a hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast ever! Every single day! Warm bread (special kind), butter, jam... pretty normal so far, right? Add cheese, ham, strawberries, cherries, peaches, bananas, oranges, tea and coffee. Mmmmm! Delicious.I stayed in the 6 bedroom room for 9 nights... the beds and bedding are sooooo comfortable it was hard to get out of bed in the morning.Also felt very safe. Like a family house.

Disliked: Getting up the hill although I did find a "colectivo" that takes you to the door from the bottom of the hill for 350 pesos.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view and clean dorms

Disliked: the five cats running about

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the house, felt like home. Great breakfast, great view !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tilmann Zechlin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2010 Tilmann would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners, a nice old house and pleasant people around. We enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Tilmann left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice & big rooms, excellent breakfast

Disliked: can be noisy at night, depends on the party which is going on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dominic tetu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

25 October 2010 dominic would recommend this property

Liked: It cant get any better for the price.Definitly a must.Juan Pablo and Lucia you are wonderfull!Thanks

Disliked: I went to bed too late because I had too much fun with the nice people I met.