HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Kreyenberg

Guesthouse | Avenida Alemania 4626, Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso, Chile .

92.5% Overall Rating

232 out of 238 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2013)

Patrick Coley thinks…

"My time spent in Valparaiso could only be topped by my stay at Casa Kreyenberg! Clean, great view, beautiful house and friendly hosts. I can't say enough wonderful things about my time there. I hope…"

Read all Casa Kreyenberg reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Valparaiso?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Valparaiso

Planeta Lindo Hostel
14.37 USD

Hostel 94.6% 10 reviews
Luna Sonrisa
17.74 USD

Guesthouse 95.9% 42 reviews
Hostal San Pedro
14.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
MM 450 Hostel Boutique
15.96 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PataPata Hostel
13.30 USD

Hostel 87.5% 19 reviews
Allegretto B&B
17.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Casa Kultour
21.28 USD

Guesthouse 93.7% 28 reviews
Hostel Los Gaviotines
15.96 USD

Hostel 91.4% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

232 out of 238 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Kreyenberg'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 215 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great breakfast with fresh fruit, toast, ham, cheese, tea and juice. Good book exchange and Felipe is a fantastic host.

Disliked: There were no other travellers staying while we were here, so not ideal for meeting people, but still a great place to stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Mariana Schwarz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

11 November 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my husband where at Casa Kreyenberg for 3 nights. The view of the city is something else! Felipe was great, very helpfull and friendly, we were very glad to stay there. I truly recommend!

Disliked: Bathrooms and the bed - very noisy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely feel, close to the interesting, touristy part of town Felipe is really friendly and helpful

Disliked: Too few showers if all the beds are occupied. Our twin room shared a balcony with a double room and the couple who were in it used to the balcony to smoke so we had to keep our French doors and curtains closed most of the time

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Hatfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The view, the location, and the breakfasts were excellent. Most impressive thing was the helpful, friendly chap who worked there- helped us with everything, including booking tickets onwards to san pedro.

Disliked: Initially felt like I was staying in my grandma's house - fairly dated- but the pros far outweigh the cons. Also, may not be good for anyone allergic to cats.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel- the host Felipe was so friendly.... He made us feel very welcome. Yummy breakfast. Amazing views. Great location in Cerro Alegro. Warm rooms- heaters in bed rooms. Friendly cats. Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: No problems

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Puigdomenech

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, specially the friendlyness of the owner, Felipe. Location is perfect, at cerro alegre which is one of the most representatives in valparaiso. Also within walking distance to La Sebastiana, Neruda's home. Definitely recommendable.

Disliked: Nothing really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jarred Holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Jarred would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place. great views over Valpariso to enjoy with a glass of vino. Filippe is very helpful and a great host. big lockers with locks provided. i had the dorm to myself, shared whole place with one other couple. fairly warms considering how cold it was outside. feels like a guest house rather than a hostel.

Disliked: fridge was a little filthy when i arrived and put off placing anything in there, but was cleaned soon after. may be a wait for the bathroom if there were more people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly staff, safe, great value for money

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Altmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ! Good in Winter with heating in all rooms, Perfect an big Thanks for everything to Felipe ! ...muchas cracias for todo, con patre!

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, breakfast, comfy bunks, good large bathroom, location, view, friendly cats

Disliked: We had the place to ourselves but if it was full then might be wait for bathroom but nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice host, fresh fruit for breakfast, comfy duvet instead of blankets, good location, more like a B&B for the price of a hostel.

Disliked: All good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, clean, pretty comfortable, good staff.

Disliked: It was off season, so not many people around.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, great views, cheap.

Disliked: Bit of a walk up the hill, fairly quiet in the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager Felipe was really helpful and very friendly, and he speaks perfect english. Our room had a balcony with an absolutely amazing view of Valparaiso - the location too was perfect - right in the middle of where you want to be. (not in El Plan) Also the shower was great - hot and powerful - the bathroom looks a bit groty as it is an old building but everything was clean and worked perfectly

Disliked: Nothing whatsoever - but we did get ripped off by the taxi driver who dropped us there from the bus station - it is quite far but he went a VERY long way round! I recommend getting the bus (i think it was a green 607) to Plaza San Luis

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nicest room we have stayed in in 6 months in South America. The house itself is in a great location and is full of the owner's artwork. The person running it is so friendly and helpful and the breakfast is great.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and funny staff. To the hostel belong 4 cats. Is located in a nice neighbourhood

Disliked: It`s a bit difficult to get there. I took a taxi, but there should be a bus too....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Oliveira Adriano

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 April 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever been. Excellent location and a very beautiful and cozy house. The view from the apartments is wonderful. Felipe, you're the greatest host ever. Thank you for everything!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful surrounds,atmosphere was comfortable,location perfect for view of harbour,staff very helpful and friendly

Disliked: we love animals...the cats owned the place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kjersti Stubbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Kjersti would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. We stayed an extra night but would have stayed longer if we could. Amazing terrace with views of the city, with lots of cats about. Guy who worked there was really friendly and couldnt do enough for you. Breakfast was delicious, toast, ham, cheese, jam, fruit, teas and coffee. Kitchen was well equipped. Beds were really comfy with duvets. Got keys to the house, secure locker and gate at the front. In a quiet area about 15 minutes to el plan. WifFi is really fast. The house had loads of character and felt like staying at home.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Maria Engel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Anne Maria would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place to stay, breakfast is awesome, fresh fruit cheese ham and nice jam! good tea! beds are amazing nice and warm good matrasses! host very helpfull and friendly really recommend this place!

Disliked: nothing, only uphill, buts thats our problem because we have a poor physical condition!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

virginie besnard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 virginie would recommend this property

Liked: We LOVED the house, really felt at home! Felipe is the greatest host we've had so far (during our world trip!) with his legendary fresh daily breakfasts!!!!! Rooms are very confortable, with amazing view on the bay and "los cerros" (look , you'll be able to see Neruda's Sebastiana!!).

Disliked: we had to leave!...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend it! The breakfast the lovely, the cats friendly (but not overwhelming), the views spectacular, the water for the showers is hot, and the beds are comfy. Also, Felipe (who is running the place right now) is awesome! He is very helpful and knowledgeable. We very much enjoyed our time in the house with him - watching football games, having asados, and indulging in Chilean beers and wines. This hostel is a great place from which to explore Valpo!

Disliked: Can't complain about a thing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anne Kaasalainen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Home kind of athmosphere. Really helpful host, speaking great English. The breakfast was suberb and free, even the times for it are flexible according Your traveltimes. Great view from balcony!!

Disliked: Kitchen for guests use only between 1300 to 2100.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: See above

Disliked: see above

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul van den Hurk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Finally a place with character. Loved the old furniture. Private balcony. Great breakfast with fruit!

Disliked: Nothing