We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ecohostel

Hostel | General Jofré 349 B, Santiago, Chile .

87.4% Overall Rating

191 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"Quiet neighbourhood and a good breakfast. The beds are comfy and the place is clean and the rooms warm in winter. The dorm rooms are great value for money and the bunks are huge."

Read all Ecohostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 29.97
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

No credit cards accepted – only chilean pesos on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
12.49 USD

Hostel 90.9% 128 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
57.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Almirante Riveros B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 82 reviews
Santa Lucia Green House
18.32 USD

Guesthouse 85.9% 267 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
13.32 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Hostal Forestal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 111 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

191 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ecohostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 142 of 162 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood and a good breakfast. The beds are comfy and the place is clean and the rooms warm in winter. The dorm rooms are great value for money and the bunks are huge.

Disliked: In winter, the bathrooms are really cold as they are essentially outside, so not for those who dislike a quick chill. Clean sheets were provided, but on the second day disappeared and new ones put out, so I had to make my bed twice for a two night stay, which seemed unnecessary. The rooms are big and comfortable, but if you sleep lightly, the noise from the living room may wake you up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was better than I expected. It was quirky and friendly and although we were only there for one night I would return in the future. Room was simple but comfortable and the breakfast provided in the morning very good, miles better than most I have experienced in Chile.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolin Harder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: Very multicultural People over there I really enjoyed it getting to know so lovely People Talking about what I can do in town,what I can do next, ...:) Breakfast was also very good and it connected People

Disliked: It could've been a bit warmer e.g. In the Kirchen and the bathrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and they had a purpose with the hostel (eco). Everything was clean and the beds comfy! Hostel small and personal. Good breakfast and just nice kitchen over all. Would definately go there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martha Hirsch

Alone

Family Holiday

04 January 2014 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed most of all the friendliness of the staff. They are wonderful they make everything possible to make feel at home. ´The hostel is very clean , AND has space for people to meet. i LOVE BEING HERE.

Disliked: nothing.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the ecological mission of this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times

Disliked: The only PowerPoint in the room was faulty, half pulled off the wall with exposed wires. Still useable but had to be careful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: love this place, love the eco friendly setup, and environmental messages promoted at the hostel. many recycle bins for all types of materials, posters promoting a green lifestyle. there was even a notice board for discussing climate change. the breakfast is healthy and includes fruit. the kitchen well equipped. the location of the hostel makes it easy to walk everywhere in Santiago and to the metro to access the bus stations and airport.

Disliked: the showers are temperamental, they can become too hot or too cold, then you have to wait a bit for the temperature to reach a suitable warmth to shower, which results in a waste of water... i tried the other showers and the problem seems to be the same in each shower - needs to be addressed!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere, friendly staff, great location. Beds were comfy and clean, nothing bad to say about this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicolas Dalle

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 November 2013 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed hostel, good atmosphere thanks to the staff, good location (in a quiet street, not that common in central Santiago !)

Disliked: the rooms need some refreshment, a bit of decoration

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's friendly and in a good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Auberge de jeunesse bien située et calme le soir, le petit déjeuner le matin et la cuisine équipée, ainsi que le personnel, très gentil. Pas génial mais si on veut séjourner quelques jours à Santiago pour pas cher, c'est une bonne option.

Disliked: Je déconseille de prendre cette auberge pendant l'hiver ( pas de chauffage et mal isolé, il fait TRES froid), la propreté dans les salles de douches et les chambres laisse à désirer (beaucoup de poussière et de la moisissure)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly atmosphere, the cleanness and security/

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very impressively run hostel, with close attention to minimising waste, recycling and general eco-awareness. All rubbish is segregated, and minimising water usage is encouraged. The hostel itself is very comfortable and welcoming with a really nice relaxed atmosphere. Communal areas are cozy and nicely decorated. Staff are amazing, offering vegan brownies in support of feeding street dogs. Kitchen was spotless had a great atmosphere for cooking and meeting fellow travellers. Lastly the beds are above average size and rooms are spacious. I really enjoyed my stay here and have been recommending this place to everyone I meet traveling to Santiago!

Disliked: It is a quiet hostel - if you are looking for a party hostle this is not it!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christian meier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 christian would recommend this property

Liked: very relaxed, friendly, very central location, safe neighbourhood

Disliked: christian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very safe place. I even forgot one day my locker key to the room and when I got back in the evening, nothing had happened =) Friendly staff!!

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Guilherme Martins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: It's an alright place

Disliked: As the common areas are close to the dorms, depending on the guests, it can be a bit noisy till 1am or so

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Thomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: It's a pleasant house with lots of character and a chilled out atmosphere. The breakfast is great fresh fruit, cereal with real milk, toast and jam. No real coffee though but having this much on offer after the monotony of Peruvian breakfasts was a welcome change..

Disliked: The floor above my room was very creaky so I was disturbed a few times by people moving about above. The staff didn't have information about bus times to other cities, which would have been useful.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fernando Solano

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Was fine, plenty of bathrooms and showers and ncie patios. Bed was a bit rickety but would stay here again

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Martin del Rio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, Big beds, great showers, good breakfast

Disliked: Everythings was great

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: everything a little old

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some decent breakfast items to choose from; fruit, oatmeal. I think they should nix the cookies in the am, though! Decent location, comfortable beds with sufficient and comfortable bedding to keep us warm in the cool nights. The place seemed to attract like-minded environmentally and emotionally responsible, intelligent travellers. Also impressed with the level of English of the staff. Nice location in a safe, upper class neighborhood, but a little bit of a walk to the closest metro, if you are not travelling very light... Excellent deal for the money.

Disliked: Towels were for rent, and they sold almost everything from eco-bags to electrical adapters for more than double the price of the grocery or home store. Conversations outside the shared rooms seemed to bounce around and resonate through the walls, but the after-11 quiet policy was mostly respected.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + The girls in the reception were nice. + OK breakfast. + Good, working wifi. + Hot showers (but use slippers).

Disliked: - Don't use the airport transfer service. It is expensive and I think the money goes straight to the owner's pocket without passing the IRS. - The lining wasn't super clean. - A bit far from the city center.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the whole ECO aspect of the hostel and the friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Rooms were dimly lit but still fine!