We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels

Hostel | Loreto 109, Recoleta, Santiago, Chile 8420480

90.2% Overall Rating

16 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2015)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"Helder is one of the sexiest receptionists I have ever met, and he is also friendly, helpful and professional: he was the highlight of this hostel for me. The building has a lot of character but not…"

Read all Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Boutique Bella
14.52 USD

Hostel 90.2% 71 reviews
Hostal del Barrio
15.12 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 114 reviews
Santiago Backpackers
15.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 87 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 88.2% 373 reviews
Hostal Forestal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 115 reviews
casAltura Hostel
19.66 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 93 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

16 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.0%
Facilities
83.8%
Cleanliness
87.5%
Staff
97.5%
Value
90.0%
Safety
93.8%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace and common areas.

Disliked: Rooms are of variable quality - our first 2 nights were in a comfortable twin with ensuite but 3rd was in a very uncomfortable double bed with a private bathroom down the hall, right on the road side so very noisy. Recommend asking for an inward facing room!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2015 I. C. would recommend this property

Liked: Helder is one of the sexiest receptionists I have ever met, and he is also friendly, helpful and professional: he was the highlight of this hostel for me. The building has a lot of character but not as much social atmosphere as I had hoped. There's a nice little roof terrace, and plenty of communal space in general.

Disliked: I booked an eight-bed dorm but was put in a nine without explanation, let alone apology or discount. Three of the bunkbeds were really close together: without the extra single bed the spacing would have been appropriate. The dorm weirdly had separate men's and women's bathrooms: there is never any reason for individual bathrooms to be gendered, but it's especially silly in a hostel (since most travellers are male) and even more so within a dorm (such that in this case one woman had her own bathroom and all the guys had to take turns). It claims that it has a bar, but this isn't true: there is one next door that the hostel wraps around, but it seems like a separate business. It also says that it has a restaurant, but that is false as well. They should give directions from the metro station: the route goes across the river, so 'three blocks' is quite misleading, and the hostel is then quite difficult to find: Google Maps places it much closer to the river than is correct.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal is located in a really nice neighbourhood, with lots of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Staff is really friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: When I was there the hot shower was either to hot or to cold

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Regina Kirchberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, clean bathroom, friendly staff, nice terrace,

Disliked: Regina left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Mosaico is a really lovely hostel, i recomand it, first because it´s cheap, clean (with good design and lovely room) and perfectly situated. They are many services, games, pool, bar, etc and the staff is also nice. Then, it´s one of the best hostel i´ve been in South america. NB: Good place for musician, there are some instrument here.

Disliked: Only one thing: not enought equipment on a kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Moss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, lovely, helpful and fun staff, welcome drink on arrival. Clean rooms with safety lockers. Ideal location for travellers wanting to be able to access the key sights of the city. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El staff es muy buena onda! Me ayudaron un montón y son bien solidarios. Además, toman el tiempo necesario para explicarte cosas de la ciudad. Son excelentes! Y muy bueno el desayuno! Había variedad de cosas.

Disliked: Asegurate la cama de abajo en la cama cucheta. Las camas de arriba son re altas y si te caes, fuiste! jajaja Muy bueno todo! Cero quejas!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sara Pereira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Ótimas camas, local limpo e um café da manhã regular.

Disliked: O bar que funciona embaixo dos quartos faz um pouco de barulho, mas pelo menos, eles encerram as atividades cedo.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful hostel with big, spacious bedrooms. The dormitory bedroom I stayed in also had a private bath...not sure if this is the case for the others or not. The staff, especially the ones during the day, are very friendly and helpful and made me feel at home. It's close to the bella vista restaurant/bar area and a couple blocks from the ciclovia/park, which is beautiful and nice to walk down. it's also close to the bella vista metro station, which makes getting to other areas of santiago really easy. The common area downstairs is nice and has lots of natural light and there's also a nice balcony upstairs.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't like was that the kitchen is tiny and has very few pots/pans and no cutting knives.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eddie who works at night was amazing! Helped you with anything you need help with. We stayed first in the private double room that was very nice with a TV and heating. We also stayed in the dorm that didn't have heating but was also good. The breakfast was nice.

Disliked: The girl that was on the desk most days wasn't able to help very much which was disappointing. The kitchen only has a microwave but otherwise was a great place!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Las personas que trabajan allí. Son estupendas.

Disliked: El ruido de los coches algunas noches.