We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Chimba Hostel

Hostel | Ernesto Pinto Lagarrigue 262, Recoleta, Santiago, Chile .

89.8% Overall Rating

349 out of 371 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Nice hostel if you´re travelling alone, you can easily meet other travellers. Nice staff and good location! I would definately recommend this hostel!"

Read all La Chimba Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Dominica Hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel 88.7% 52 reviews
Bellavista Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 551 reviews
Hostal del Barrio
16.65 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews
Rado Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 60 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
13.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 10 reviews
Hostal Forestal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 111 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.82 USD

Hostel 89.8% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

349 out of 371 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Chimba Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 278 of 296 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena ubicación. Casa amplia y bien acondicionada. Personal atento y con muy buena onda. Siempre buena musica de fondo.

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled out and funky common areas. It is really close to the party area so can walk home no problem. In a safe area and also a short walk from one of the big attractions the virgin Mary with some of the best views of the city. Showers were always hot and good clean beds! We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm.

Disliked: Really weak breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

31 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cosy, nice staff, good showers. cool travelers

Disliked: pool table cues were worn out

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luciana Barbosa Brandão Machado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2012 Luciana would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: No hot showers near the rooms and no heater.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Alastair Dorreen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2012

Liked: The only redeeming quality is this hostel's location.

Disliked: The hostel appears to be run by kids who are completely blasé about the whole thing. First, our bed had bugs, it was absolutely disgusting. My partner and I stayed five nights in a private double and ended up with bites all over our bodies. The hostel was incredibly loud at night, all night long. There was never any hot water for showers. Breakfasts were weak. Finally, while the dorms had nice duvet blankets, the double had worn, ratty, dirty sheets; and, when asked for more blankets because it was absolutely freezing, the staff refused because they were afraid we'd steal them... Has the potential to be a nice hostel, but there are definitely better options in Santiago.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, super chilled out, very friendly staff and very helpful.

Disliked: The only very small thing I have to say is the lock on our door didn't seem very good (we were in a double private room) but it had lockers which we could put our valuables in anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: english speaking staff and fully equipped kitchen

Disliked: it's far from bus terminal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean Place with cosy and big communal area's. Breakfast is good and The location superb.

Disliked: Geen

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blair Wigham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2012 Blair would recommend this property

Liked: Rad place, people, atmosphere.

Disliked: Nada

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eloi Nobre

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2012 Eloi would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Bad showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aisling Rapier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: It has a really good atmosphere and it organises activities like a pubcrawl and movie nights are a great way to meet new people. It also has some great social areas.

Disliked: The showers are a little dodgy, it is very difficult to get a good consistent temperature. They seem to switch between freezing cold and scolding hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Good atmosphere.

Disliked: Very, very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working at La Chimba are so friendly and awesome. There's a great sense of community there. It's great for independent travelers because they can give you great suggestions for the nightlife in surrounding Bellavista and will probably even invite you to come and party with them! Really sweet people. Also, even though it's in a big party neighborhood the rooms are tucked away from the main road and so are not too noisy.

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to good restaurants and bars but still quiet. Good kitchen to use. Big hostel but didn't seem it.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was beyond expectations.

Disliked: bike rental was expensive

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central & clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, very secure front door, also they have good staff that are friendly and full of information about where to go

Disliked: rooms dont get much light during the day which makes them quite musty smelling. security lockers could be larger.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Williams

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday

27 February 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff. Big room. big lockers.

Disliked: have to ring bell to get in. bad showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lot's of space, clean, nice atmosphere, close for going out

Disliked: Long way to the next supermarket

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 February 2012

Liked: There is a nice atmosphere and people do seem friendly.

Disliked: The darkness, the ants in the bathroom, the lack of internet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, free internet

Disliked: Nothing really! A bathroom was out of order during my stay so it seemed as if there weren´t enough but if that one had been working, it would have been fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kresimir Vodopivec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Kresimir would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Santiago. They didn't even mentioned all what they offer! We had movie night, there's art work class, the staff is very friendly and helpfull. And the place is huge with 3 small gardens, 2 kitchens etc... Breakfast is very good

Disliked: I missed 4 times my way to the room :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location and atmosphere, nice interior, good beds, good rooms

Disliked: too large

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Schlachter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with very helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing