HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Selknam Hostel

Hostel | SAZIE 1885, Santiago, Chile 8320000

87.7% Overall Rating

22 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2013)

"Freindly family staff inc. the dog, lovely breakfast freshly cooked each morning for us, beautful assado organised by staff, comfy beds....if in Santiago - stay here."

Read all Selknam Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 44.47
  • Towel USD 1.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostel So Be
16.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 27 reviews
Landay Hostel
12.45 USD

Hostel 89.7% 125 reviews
Hotel Sahara Inn
20.45 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
21.34 USD

Hostel 90.2% 33 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.23 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Moai Viajero Hostel
11.56 USD

Hostel 82.5% 58 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 383 reviews
The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.45 USD

Hostel 88.9% 123 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.7%

Overall Rating

22 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Selknam Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.7%
Facilities
83.5%
Cleanliness
81.7%
Staff
92.2%
Value
87.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the bus stop for the airport.

Disliked: Although I have a reservation, it was not able to be reserved.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

feliks kostyuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 feliks would recommend this property

Liked: staff,security,cleaness

Disliked: feliks left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Arthur Wijckmans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Location is not to far from downtown and the room we had was ok.

Disliked: Booked a 4 bed dorm but It was not available when we arrived. But after a look by hostelbookers, the room was still available. So this was not serious. Breakfast is very late so if you plan to do something early forget your breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PENG JUITSUNG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2013 PENG would recommend this property

Liked: it's good enough for traveler choice

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and the staff was very helpful!!

Disliked: The rooms are very cold and didn´t had hot water all the time. If you are planning a long stay I would recommend another one if is a short stay this is an excellent choice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Freindly family staff inc. the dog, lovely breakfast freshly cooked each morning for us, beautful assado organised by staff, comfy beds....if in Santiago - stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Agnieszka Dyrda

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2013 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the localisation the most. Also the other guests were very nice and friendly.

Disliked: Definitely the building needs renovation but I spent there very pleasant time (if somebody is looking for luxury I would recommend to take a hotel room).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carol Yochim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2013 Carol would recommend this property

Liked: I spent an awesome time in Selk!! staff was very friendly and helpful, Nicole had a lot of information about things to do in the city. The hostel is located in a secure and funny neighborhood, I found the best beds, relaxed environment and party with Rodrigo's band !!...enough reasons to stay more time and come back!!

Disliked: My stay was so good...but I had to continue my trip!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

martina cermakova

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013

Liked: Location and comfy bed

Disliked: Bathrooms need good clean as well as kitchen - need more pots and pans,knives,can opener,chopping boards..... Very poor brekfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte BAUDOIN

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Le gérant est très accueillant, l'ambiance tranquille, muy bueno!

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Johannes Wilm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

05 December 2012 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff!

Disliked: Johannes left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is run by a couple, and they are just fantastic. Rodrigo spent several nights with us in the living room chatting, drinking and playing the guitar, which was really nice. I enjoyed my stay a lot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly privately run hostel. They invited us and cooked dinner one evening! We had a good time in the evenings with the friends of the hostel staff.

Disliked: Nothing really! The bathrooms could be a little bit cleaner

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very friendly and the rooms are spacious. Very close to the bus station!

Disliked: There were no security lockers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and helpful. They ate with us and drank wine/beers. They truly did make us feel at home. Also it was an excellent breakfast, eggs, fruit, toast, tea/coffee! Probably the best hostel in S.America!

Disliked: Nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

jean-baptiste bernicke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 jean-baptiste would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there for a week. Very friendly owners and good vibes at the hostel. Good value for money and homey atmosphere. Maybe not the most prestine hostel we stayed in but the rest makes up for it. Location is good, 2min away from the main metro line and in the center.

Disliked: jean-baptiste left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff. Their page on hostelbookers.com did not work properly yet, so they did not have any room when we arrived because of the lollapalooza festival but they were so helpful and found me and my friend a place to stay at the hostel till they got room. very nice atmosphere, great barbecues and drinks nights and a staff that is always happy - very very good value for money 8)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.