HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

90.1% Overall Rating

120 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2014)

"Perfect location! Quiet! Good breakfast! Nice staff! Our room (the one with the balcony) was huge! I mean really huge. The biggest room we had so far during our travel. AND with a balcony and a couch. Perfectly…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.85

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
13.54 USD

Hostel 91.8% 124 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 418 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.40 USD

Hostel 92.6% 56 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
44.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residencial Plaza Italia
13.54 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Chillihostel
12.90 USD

Hostel 84.9% 307 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

120 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 120 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ellinghaus

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: I found the hostel to be very cold and wouldn't recommend staying there in winter.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! Quiet! Good breakfast! Nice staff! Our room (the one with the balcony) was huge! I mean really huge. The biggest room we had so far during our travel. AND with a balcony and a couch. Perfectly clean and tidy! Nothing to complain about.

Disliked: I don't know if it was just bad luck, but we had exceptional bad internet connection (Wifi signal was good though) for our whole stay (5 days). It was hard to do anything, even sending an email. The Internet should not be your most important criterium for choosing a hostel, but when you have some "remote work" to do or some research for you further travel, than this sucks. But I guess it was just bad luck with their internet provider. We would still highly recommend this hostel!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small but safe and in a good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good and central spot, easy to reach from the airport (blue bus plus subway worked very easy). I had to leave early so I cannot say anything about the breakfast. Good and fast wifi.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Cristina Riobello

Alone

Relaxation/spa

23 April 2014 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tarant Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Tarant would recommend this property

Liked: Castillo Surfista was the perfect start to our South American adventure. The place is more like a big share house than a hostel; with everyone hanging out in the common areas a lot of the time. Amanda & Athia were awesome hosts giving us plenty of advice and laughs throughout our 4 day stay. And of course Duke the skateboarding puppy dog was awesome too. I'd recommend to anyone travelling to Santiago

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernardo Arrigoni

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome and comfortable! Very nice house and great location.

Disliked: Bernardo left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, only a short walk to a metro stop, 100 years old building has a special atmosphere, plus very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly. My stay was very comfortable here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location! 5 minutes walk to the nearest Metro Station, 15 minutes to the Bellavista area which is a cool place for eating out and drinks. Also close to supermarket and a laundromat. It wasnt a party hostel which we werent after. However there was a great bunch of people staying there and there was a patio area to sit and have a few drinks at. There was a mistake with our room so we were upgraded to a private for 1 night at no extra charge. One night the owner invited everyone to go buy some meat and use his BBQ to cook it all on. For an old building, it had a very homely feel about it. Probably one of the comfiest hostel bunk beds i have ever slept on with nice doonas and pillows. Old but very clean showers and faciilites, staff were great and friendly and were always doing whatever they could to make improvements or fix something. Lots of information at the hostel about Santiago and Valparaiso. Good security and safe location (we walked everywhere at night time). Would highly recommend!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

simon cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, in a nice area, near shops and metro. Lovely period house, even if the floorboards do creak.

Disliked: Too popular, so you may need to book all your days in advance.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Hower

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The staff spoke perfect English and Spanish and were very friendly and informative. More of a homely vibe than a hostel vibe, but I really enjoyed that after being on the road and hostel-hopping for such a long time. Very clean! In a great location with a fairly cheap cab ride to all major attractions.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is really nice, in an old style! The breakfast is quite nice too, with yoghurt, fruits, but very Americanised with waffles.

Disliked: The house isn't very comfortable, things don't get repaired or renovated. In both shared bathrooms the drain was blocked and it didn't look like that was a recent problem. Staff is very nice and friendly, though not all that helpfull, they don't offer to look things up online or call around for exemple about wine tours, they just send people off without directions. On the website it says they organize wine tours, which is kinda why we chose them, but they don't. I would go again though, just with different expectations

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and friendly. Staff very helpful. Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. Great safe and convenient location

Disliked: floorboards and doors were very noisy but it's an old property.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever stayed in! Very cool and unique and just an all around great vibe. Friendly staff, good location right close to just about everything, big spacious house, a comfortable clean bed and the owner had his dog skateboarding around the patio during the bbq. Toasted bread and ham and fresh fruit and yogurt for breakfast. I'll definitely be back.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Breakfast (if we can call this breakfast) and staff are really disappointing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and laid back staff in a charming old house with lots of character. It's in a very nice neighbourhood and close to the supermarket as well as within walking distance from several parks and the major attractions of Santiago.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ines Guerreiro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2013 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice, including Jonhathan, the owner, the hostel is cosy and the location is good. The value for money is good.

Disliked: Nothing really :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in a safe neighbourhood, very close to city centre and lots of bars and restaurants. Good value for money in Santiago.

Disliked: While staff were very friendly, they were not very knowledgeable on basic tourist information. Breakfast was also disappointing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, comfy beds, friendly vibe but not a party hostel. Good breakfast. Easy walking location.

Disliked: Staff weren't that present to ask questions to. Just in the morning really. But you can email them questions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay here. Felt more like staying in a shared house than a hostel! Good kitchen and common areas, spacious rooms with very comfy beds. Brilliant location, close enough to walk to the nightlife of Bellavista but far enough away for it to be quiet at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Morn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Sets the standard for hostels. An amazingly friendly and welcoming vibe from all the staff. Will be returning here any time I am in Chile.

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antony Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: skateboarding dog enough said

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Its a brilliant hostel.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Masri

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere and friendly staff. :) clean place and well located

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...