HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel Santiago Hostel

Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.78USD

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 31-40 of 44 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The best hostel I have ever stayed in! Very cool and unique and just an all around great vibe. Friendly staff, good location right close to just about everything, big spacious house, a comfortable clean bed and the owner had his dog skateboarding around the patio during the bbq. Toasted bread and ham and fresh fruit and yogurt for breakfast. I'll definitely be back.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Helpful staff. Great safe and convenient location

Disliked: floorboards and doors were very noisy but it's an old property.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you compliments! I´ve oiled up the door hinges, but yeah the floors creak a bit. Hard to avoid in a 100 year old property :)

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location

Disliked: Breakfast (if we can call this breakfast) and staff are really disappointing


The property's response is

I´m really sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay. Was there a particular incident with our staff or breakfast that affected your opinion? Our breakfasts always include fresh bread or waffles, jam and butter, ham, cheese, yogurt, fresh fruit and hot coffee or tea. And our staff are always here to help and offer advice. I read every review and am always seeking to improve. We only want the very best for our guests. Sincerely, Jonathan (the owner)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and laid back staff in a charming old house with lots of character. It's in a very nice neighbourhood and close to the supermarket as well as within walking distance from several parks and the major attractions of Santiago.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you!!!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location in a safe neighbourhood, very close to city centre and lots of bars and restaurants. Good value for money in Santiago.

Disliked: While staff were very friendly, they were not very knowledgeable on basic tourist information. Breakfast was also disappointing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments and we will work to improve.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff is very nice, including Jonhathan, the owner, the hostel is cosy and the location is good. The value for money is good.

Disliked: Nothing really :)

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Super clean, comfy beds, friendly vibe but not a party hostel. Good breakfast. Easy walking location.

Disliked: Staff weren't that present to ask questions to. Just in the morning really. But you can email them questions

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay here. Felt more like staying in a shared house than a hostel! Good kitchen and common areas, spacious rooms with very comfy beds. Brilliant location, close enough to walk to the nightlife of Bellavista but far enough away for it to be quiet at night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for the compliments and I see you´ve booked again. Looking forward to it!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Sets the standard for hostels. An amazingly friendly and welcoming vibe from all the staff. Will be returning here any time I am in Chile.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments!!!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: skateboarding dog enough said

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

haha Thanks!!!

Check Availability