HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

92.1% Overall Rating

113 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Tarant Hill thinks…

"Castillo Surfista was the perfect start to our South American adventure. The place is more like a big share house than a hostel; with everyone hanging out in the common areas a lot of the time.…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
14.35 USD

Hostel 90.7% 112 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 85 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 92.6% 411 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.25 USD

Hostel 90.5% 53 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residencial Plaza Italia
14.35 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Chillihostel
12.90 USD

Hostel 85.0% 303 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

113 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 113 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality accommodation with helpful friendly staff. Has everything we needed with clean tidy facilities, close to supermarket, laundry and public transport. Is the second time we have stayed and would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

serena humphries

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 serena would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel in a great area. The rooms are really modern and clean, a pleasure to stay in. I had a sneaky peak in the private double room and that was really spacious and light, a good choice if you can pay the extra. The owners are really helpful. The bathrooms are clean and the hot water was good. There are 2 bathrooms but we had no issues with waiting to use them, Also the hostel is located in a very nice neighbourhood and near to the subway.

Disliked: The breakfast didn't fill us up, my boyfriend wasn't very keen on a slice of cake for breakfast!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent. Jonathan & Val are very cool and helpful people who know Santiago very well. It is very clean and there are a lot of common areas and practically everything a great hostel needs even though it is very new. The breakfast is very good and different to normal. It is located in a very nice area.

Disliked: Cristian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernhard Kellerer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 Bernhard would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect: The staff is very nice, the location excellent and the house is clean and comfortable. Especially the bathroom is amazing for a hostel!

Disliked: absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice friendly friendly place, where it feels almost as home. The owners are great, the location is close to the city centre and it s a clean place. I can highly recommend this place!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Castillo Surfista Hostel is an amazing place! The owners - Jonathan and Valentina are very friendly and helpful. The hostel is a house actually, opened a month ago so everything is new, clean and well decorated, very confortable beds, big rooms, good breakfast, great location and neibourghood. It is a cosy and quiet place, only 14 beds (double rooms, one 5 beds dorm and one 3 beds dorm). I originally booked for 2 nights but I extended my stay. I definitely recommend that hostel, one of the best I have ever been in South America!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, very homely and helpfull. And the coolest puppy in the world onsite

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very familiar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. Great place!

Disliked: Bedroom floor were a bit squeeky. Also, the place would benefit from some airconditioning, or at least a fan in dorms.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners, very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: Smallish (and sweet) breakfast.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: John and Valentina are very helpful and are willing to provide information. It has a very friendly atomosphere and feels like a home! It was my first pitstop for a few months of travel and was a great place to start a trip!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kristin O'Grady

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Kristin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is only recently opened, so everything is new- it literally felt like we were staying at a friend's house, it was really comfortable & nice. Jonathan was really helpful & gave suggestion on where to go, what to do & how to get there. Nice kitchen & communcal areas & decent breakfast that included more than just the typical bread (fruit & yogurt too!) Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Not a dislike, but as it is so new, they were waiting on lockers for the rooms to arrive. It wasnt a problem for us, as it otherwise felt secure- so id score higher again once they are fitted :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: One of, if not the best hostel, ive ever stayed in, seriously! Its recently opened, very clean, sweet laid back vibe and the owner Jonathan goes out of his way to help you! Book this place if for nothing else but to see Jonathans dog, Duke, skateboard!! Its awesome! Great kitchen facilities and decent breakfast. If im ever in Santiago again, I know where im staying!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willem Boshoff

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2012 Willem would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful & clean house withing walking distance of the city's sightseeing and nightlife hubs. It is a great "stop over" in Santiago as part of wider travels; the staff was extremely helpful in making various arrangements. The hostel is nicely furnished and suitable quiet for a good night's rest.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET RULLI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: The owners of the hostel are incredible friendly and accommodating. The service at this hostel is the best service we have received yet at any hostel we have stayed at. The property is beautiful and is in an excellent location, which is right in the city, yet in a quiet, safe neighborhood . The atmosphere of the hostel is very social and friendly, and the owners host a free beer Friday and occasionally throw BBQ's for the guests, which is a really nice touch. Breakfast is delicious and different everyday, which you really don't see at other hostels. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and of good size. The kitchen is also very spacious, which makes it easy to cook meals during your stay. I would highly recommend Castillo Surfista Hostel to anyone travelling to Santiago!

Disliked: No towel service, but this wasn't a big deal at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Warnke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

14 January 2012 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great. It's newly renovated so everything is top of the line. Kitchen is well equipped, free breakfast, WiFi, multiple bathrooms, big back patio, and very centrally located. We've already booked our next stay here in two weeks time.

Disliked: No laundry, but that's most hostels. There's a laundromat around the corner with an English speaking lady who does laundry for $3.500 CLP per load ($7 USD).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Maytham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a quiet area yet handy for all the sights. the staff / owners are very keen and helpful and nice people not just people who want to make money out of you. It has been nicely decorated and furnished and has a very welcoming and homely feel. If you had a car parking would be easy. It is only 10 minutes to the metro.

Disliked: I had to walk 500metres to do my laundry at a launderette!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle French

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice chilled out atmosphere (the nintendo wii was good fun). Had free beer Fridays and pancakes for breakfast one morning. Rooms and nice and big as are the bathrooms with nice hot water.

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. Super clean, huge rooms, comfy beds, walking distance to town and Bellavista. The breakfasts in the morning were incredible. Pancakes, yoghurt, fruit. These guys really go above and beyond. John and Valentine made us feel super welcome and helped us make phonecalls and organise our day. The place is really relaxed and i hope the atmosphere of the place continues as it is because it is just perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice rooms and friendly people. The owner is American and friendly and helpfull. Instead of 2 nights, we stayed 4. we really liked it here.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Walter Bartlau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 January 2012 Walter would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good location of Santiago. The neighborhood is really nice. You can go walking from the hostel to the subway or to an important street in order to get transportation to almost any part of the city. Definitely a great place to stay if you're coming to Santiago, Chile. If you get to see Duke, the owner's dog, you must play with him, he is really friendly.

Disliked: Walter left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eilis O Callaghan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 Eilis would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lovely place with friendly owners. Safe location. Good breakfast. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: All good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Giess

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: - really welcoming and friendly vibe - the hostel is a lovely building with alot of character in a great location. - everything is brand new and clean! - free beer fridays...of course!

Disliked: Nothing!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janaka Radich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2011 Janaka would recommend this property

Liked: A great new hostel with spacious rooms, comfortable beds and pillows in a really good location, close to Bella vista so handy for going out. Jonathan, the owner, was really helpful and gave us good information on where to find a wave. Even if you are not a surfer I would definitely reccomend staying here as it is really nice place to stay.

Disliked: Janaka left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...