HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel Santiago Hostel

Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.84USD

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 21-30 of 40 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good and central spot, easy to reach from the airport (blue bus plus subway worked very easy). I had to leave early so I cannot say anything about the breakfast. Good and fast wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Castillo Surfista was the perfect start to our South American adventure. The place is more like a big share house than a hostel; with everyone hanging out in the common areas a lot of the time. Amanda & Athia were awesome hosts giving us plenty of advice and laughs throughout our 4 day stay. And of course Duke the skateboarding puppy dog was awesome too. I'd recommend to anyone travelling to Santiago

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks to you and especially to the staff!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome and comfortable! Very nice house and great location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Gracias!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, only a short walk to a metro stop, 100 years old building has a special atmosphere, plus very clean. Staff were very helpful and friendly. My stay was very comfortable here.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Gracias!!! I´ll pass your comments on to the staff. They´re the best!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is in a great location! 5 minutes walk to the nearest Metro Station, 15 minutes to the Bellavista area which is a cool place for eating out and drinks. Also close to supermarket and a laundromat. It wasnt a party hostel which we werent after. However there was a great bunch of people staying there and there was a patio area to sit and have a few drinks at. There was a mistake with our room so we were upgraded to a private for 1 night at no extra charge. One night the owner invited everyone to go buy some meat and use his BBQ to cook it all on. For an old building, it had a very homely feel about it. Probably one of the comfiest hostel bunk beds i have ever slept on with nice doonas and pillows. Old but very clean showers and faciilites, staff were great and friendly and were always doing whatever they could to make improvements or fix something. Lots of information at the hostel about Santiago and Valparaiso. Good security and safe location (we walked everywhere at night time). Would highly recommend!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments!!! Yeah, this old house just turned 100 years old but the maintenance is ongoing daily to make sure everything works properly for you guys ;)

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, in a nice area, near shops and metro.Lovely period house, even if the floorboards do creak.

Disliked: Too popular, so you may need to book all your days in advance.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for the coompliments! haha first time we were disliked because we´re too popular :/

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff spoke perfect English and Spanish and were very friendly and informative. More of a homely vibe than a hostel vibe, but I really enjoyed that after being on the road and hostel-hopping for such a long time. Very clean! In a great location with a fairly cheap cab ride to all major attractions.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments! Safe travels and hope to see you again!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small and friendly. Staff very helpful. Good location.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments!!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The house is really nice, in an old style! The breakfast is quite nice too, with yoghurt, fruits, but very Americanised with waffles.

Disliked: The house isn't very comfortable, things don't get repaired or renovated. In both shared bathrooms the drain was blocked and it didn't look like that was a recent problem. Staff is very nice and friendly, though not all that helpfull, they don't offer to look things up online or call around for exemple about wine tours, they just send people off without directions. On the website it says they organize wine tours, which is kinda why we chose them, but they don't.I would go again though, just with different expectations

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments. We appreciate your input. I think there was a misunderstanding with the bathrooms. There is a sign that mentions the drains in the floor are blocked - it is a sign to prevent guests from flooding the bathroom floor, where there is a visible drain that has been cemented over for the past 80 years. The drains in the actual showers are not blocked. We are always here to organize tours or look up information. Was there a specific staff member that did not help?

Check Availability