We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

91.0% Overall Rating

125 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Morgan Russell thinks…

"Friendly staff Good atmosphere DUKE THE DOG Comfortable beds Beautiful neighbourhood"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
12.22 USD

Hostel 87.4% 151 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 425 reviews
Nomades Hostel
14.66 USD

Hostel 70.7% 4 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
12.22 USD

Hostel 68.6% 12 reviews
Chillihostel
11.90 USD

Hostel 87.5% 313 reviews
Rado Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

125 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 125 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to subway and center area. Very calm neighborhood. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Kilby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character of the hostel and the friendly staff. Our room surpassed our expectations. Everything was clean and tidy, we had lovely big duvets, and breakfast was really nice! Jonathan, the owner, was super flexible, knowledgeable, and helpful. He let us in at 5am after our flight was super delayed and made sure we had everything we needed. The location is fabulous. Other backpackers we met had to travel via subway to BellaVista and Plaza de Armas but we were able to walk everywhere. We will definitely recommend this hostel to our friends!

Disliked: Justine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, helpful staff, quiet neighbourhood, warm and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really quiet at night but I walked to everything during the day. Jonathon's directions made it very straightforward to use (super cheap) public transport to and from the airport. This was my first few nights in South America and it was a nice soft landing pad. Friendly, well equiped, clean, secure. I've loved relaxing at night in the lounge watching movies from their hard drive selection.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house and well decorated with a B&B feel.

Disliked: Cold shower and cold building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small hostel in a fancy part of town but within walkable distance of most places, set up in an old house full of character. Castillo Surfista had all the facilities we needed - a comfy dorm and warm bed, hot water showers, kitchen facilities, decent breakfast, and quick wi-fi :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Mortimer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean, and has everything you could need for a safe and comfortable place to stay. We stayed for 5 nights, and never had any problems. We met a tonne of awesome people here, and managed to make some good friends. It isn't a party hostel, but due to its small size, it has a goo social atmosphere, which we much prefer :) We're staying here again on our way back through Santiago as we know it's safe, clean and secure. Another bonus is Duke the dog, he is awesome!!!

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really great with a very good location. Moreover I felt like at home: cosy house, living room with TV, good kitchen and good bedrooms.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold during the night...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very chill

Disliked: not the best place to meet people...was pretty empty while i was there.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private atmosphere, friendly and helpful owner

Disliked: nothing, we had a good time here!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like a home-from-home. Great beds with feather duvets, good location, nice ambience, good bathrooms, ace hosts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cozy. good location. jonathan is really helpful and dedicated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sharpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood, felt safe the whole time. Jonathan the owner is more than happy to answer any questions and help where he can. The place is very well kept and clean, showers were consistently hot! Awesome intro to South America

Disliked: Its all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, near Baquedano Metro and Santa Lucia. It's new, clean and has everything you can wish for (as a budget traveller). My husband and I stayed in a private twin which was a good size, nicely decorated, had comfy beds, and other extras such as a mirror, table lamp etc. The room had a shared bathroom which was a good size, clean and has a place to put your toiletries. Wifi is free and fab. Breakfast is included! Overall it's great value for money.

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a safe and lovely location in Providencia - easy to get to the metro and other restaurants/bars! The staff is fabulous and the rooms are so clean and spacious. The bathroom always had hot water!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, helpful owner, excellent location - highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, comfortable and homely hostel. Really relaxed atmosphere has a real "make yourself at home" feel to the place. The beds and bed clothes are all new. There is room for more than 14 people in this hostel, but they don't cram in more beds as they want it to be a pleasant and comfortable experience for the customer and it really is. STAY HERE!

Disliked: The locks on the bathroom doors could be upgraded. The breakfast is a little too basic and a fresh tea towel in the kitchen everyday would be a good idea.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mick thornton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 mick would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan on the desk was really friendly & helpful. Rooms were really clean . Breakfasts excellent & healthy. Lovely & safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great area, nice neighborhood, quick walk/metro to most things. It's a small, quiet hostel which we liked. The others staying here were friendly and we had a good time chatting - but if you are looking for a loud, late, drinking party it's not for you. The owner is super nice, helpful, and friendly - not detail oriented when talking about Santiago, so just have your own plans decided. The building is always clean (common areas, beds, baths).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and well decorated, with friendly staff

Disliked: No comment

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What did we not LOVE?? It was just the best place ever! It was like staying at a friends house. And it was clean, very nicely decorated, and very relaxed and chilled atmosphere, the beds was good, the best kitchen so far etc. We ended up staying in Santiago 5 more days just beacuse of the hostel. Was so sad to leave

Disliked: NOTHING!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in a European influenced neighborhood with big beautiful houses. Good breakfast, would have been perfect if they had real coffee.

Disliked: The floors are a really squeaky in the bedrooms, and the road is a bit loud in the mornings. But if you are sound sleeper, you'll have no problems at this hostel!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Guy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly and welcoming with a great vibe. Will definitely stay here again next time visiting Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing - it's great.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and it's nice, relaxed place to chill out and make new friends. Very clean and close enough to all the main sights.

Disliked: nothing :)

The property's response is...