HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

92.1% Overall Rating

113 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Tarant Hill thinks…

"Castillo Surfista was the perfect start to our South American adventure. The place is more like a big share house than a hostel; with everyone hanging out in the common areas a lot of the time.…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
14.38 USD

Hostel 90.7% 112 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 85 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 92.6% 411 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.27 USD

Hostel 90.5% 53 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residencial Plaza Italia
14.38 USD

Hostel 67.1% 10 reviews
Chillihostel
12.90 USD

Hostel 85.0% 303 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

113 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 113 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private atmosphere, friendly and helpful owner

Disliked: nothing, we had a good time here!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like a home-from-home. Great beds with feather duvets, good location, nice ambience, good bathrooms, ace hosts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cozy. good location. jonathan is really helpful and dedicated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sharpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood, felt safe the whole time. Jonathan the owner is more than happy to answer any questions and help where he can. The place is very well kept and clean, showers were consistently hot! Awesome intro to South America

Disliked: Its all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, near Baquedano Metro and Santa Lucia. It's new, clean and has everything you can wish for (as a budget traveller). My husband and I stayed in a private twin which was a good size, nicely decorated, had comfy beds, and other extras such as a mirror, table lamp etc. The room had a shared bathroom which was a good size, clean and has a place to put your toiletries. Wifi is free and fab. Breakfast is included! Overall it's great value for money.

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a safe and lovely location in Providencia - easy to get to the metro and other restaurants/bars! The staff is fabulous and the rooms are so clean and spacious. The bathroom always had hot water!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, helpful owner, excellent location - highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, comfortable and homely hostel. Really relaxed atmosphere has a real "make yourself at home" feel to the place. The beds and bed clothes are all new. There is room for more than 14 people in this hostel, but they don't cram in more beds as they want it to be a pleasant and comfortable experience for the customer and it really is. STAY HERE!

Disliked: The locks on the bathroom doors could be upgraded. The breakfast is a little too basic and a fresh tea towel in the kitchen everyday would be a good idea.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mick thornton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 mick would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan on the desk was really friendly & helpful. Rooms were really clean . Breakfasts excellent & healthy. Lovely & safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great area, nice neighborhood, quick walk/metro to most things. It's a small, quiet hostel which we liked. The others staying here were friendly and we had a good time chatting - but if you are looking for a loud, late, drinking party it's not for you. The owner is super nice, helpful, and friendly - not detail oriented when talking about Santiago, so just have your own plans decided. The building is always clean (common areas, beds, baths).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and well decorated, with friendly staff

Disliked: No comment

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What did we not LOVE?? It was just the best place ever! It was like staying at a friends house. And it was clean, very nicely decorated, and very relaxed and chilled atmosphere, the beds was good, the best kitchen so far etc. We ended up staying in Santiago 5 more days just beacuse of the hostel. Was so sad to leave

Disliked: NOTHING!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in a European influenced neighborhood with big beautiful houses. Good breakfast, would have been perfect if they had real coffee.

Disliked: The floors are a really squeaky in the bedrooms, and the road is a bit loud in the mornings. But if you are sound sleeper, you'll have no problems at this hostel!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Guy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly and welcoming with a great vibe. Will definitely stay here again next time visiting Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing - it's great.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and it's nice, relaxed place to chill out and make new friends. Very clean and close enough to all the main sights.

Disliked: nothing :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Valles

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The house was big, clean and the rooms were roomy, I was traveling with my coworkers and it was a last minute thing, but I am so glad we did go to Santiago . We felt at home the whole time , Johnathan and Valanetina ( the hosts) treated us like family. the guests there were great as well... Location was perfect for morning walks, and touring the locat sites, near the metro, parks and shopping. Easy to get to from Airport, Breakfast in the AM, coffee with fresh breads and Jam, yougurt and fruit was a good way to start the day, Johanthan strikes up the grill you bring your food and its a family day.... I would recommend this place if your looking for a quite place to chill, and be safe and near everythng. I look forward to going back... It was more value for the money.. Best Hostel I have ever stayed in.... Comfort , wifi, lots of hot water and super clean....

Disliked: NOTTHNG..... Your get more than your moneys worth, if you used to staying in hostels... Castillos gives you a chance to compare the rest... peace , tranquility in a nice neighborhood, no curfew, good locations and the best hosts ever.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Heinrich Töbelmann

Alone

City break

19 March 2012 Martin Heinrich would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very friendly staff, comfortable beds

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most laid back owner ever. Either the owner (a surfer from California) or his girlfriend is always around and they are as friendly and helpful as can be. The hostel is located in a quiet neighborhood. It is within walking distance of many of the ¨musts¨ of Santiago, including San Cristobal hill and the virgin Mary statue, Bellavista neighborhood and Pablo Neruda´s house. Some people might want more color on the inside of this hostel but I say that the owner and his girlfriend´s dispositions add more brightness than any coat of paint could. The breakfast is decent, ample. This is not a party hostel. Bonus---you might get to see a dog skateboard if you are lucky.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, great staff..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice safe part of town. Great staff, really nice breakfast. A great hostel that provides a smaller environment.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter sullivan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great, close to everything, and the neighborhood is beautiful and safe. The breakfast included fruit and yogurt which is a nice change from other hostel breakfasts. I liked the old house a lot, the common areas, the dog!, and the rooms. Everything was fantastic at this place!!

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good and peaceful and safe neighborhood and kind owner

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Steinhorst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 February 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Wow, what a great brand new hostel! When I arrived at the cosy and stylish hostel I instantly felt extremely comfortable. Jonathan and Valentina are the perfect hosts who welcome everyone with open arms and help you with everything that you need. I even got a private show of the skateboarding dog! The beds are very comfy, the showers warm, the bathrooms huge, the breakfast tasty. The old house which seemed to be a castle once is situated closed to Bellavista and Santa Lucia. A supermarket is just 3 minutes away. It's not a party hostel, but a good place to relax beteten or after your activities in Chiles capital and to meet really nice people. The perfect place to start or finish your travels in Chile. This was allready my 2nd stay at Castillo Surfista and I would love to come back. Definitely one of the nicest places I stayed during my last 2 months in Chile.

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we first read the property's description on HostelBookers.com we were somewhat aprehensive because of the "free beer fridays". We thought this could be a party hostel full of noisy guests, but after reading the good reviews we decided to book 3 nights there. The hostel exceeded our expectations, it's very quiet and clean. Jon and Val are nice hosts, we never felt like customers, but always like guests in their home. Even their dog, Duke, is friendly to everyone (and a cool skater too!!). We would definitely stay there again and recomend the hostel to other people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...