We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

89.5% Overall Rating

131 out of 133 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2015)

"A really, really nice hostel and an awesome hostel staff It's a smaller hostel, therefore it's easy to get in touch with everyone. The beds are pretty comfortable and the rooms are big. The hostel staff is very friendly…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.72

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
13.00 USD

Hostel 87.5% 163 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 92.1% 430 reviews
Nomades Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 70.7% 4 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
10.83 USD

Hostel 67.0% 13 reviews
Chillihostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 88.6% 320 reviews
Rado Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 95.2% 66 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

131 out of 133 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 114 of 131 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Bool

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: American owner/manager Jonathan activity seeks to enhance your stay and make his place the best there is and he succeeds. Great beds, bathrooms, common areas even plenty of movies for nights in. Well stocked kitchen and all super clean. Location is perfect. I stayed on 3 different occasions and always great people there. It felt like home with good friends. An added plus is his dog who skateboards! I'd go back again!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, good location and cheap (for Chile).

Disliked: BBQ's can be a little rowdy if your planning on sleeping before 1am. The dorm faces the street and is busier than you would think at night. Needs more TV series to watch on the hard drive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, friendly, everything you could ask for!!!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marilyn Treasure

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, quiet. easy acccess to the centre. easy going staff

Disliked: Wifi not very easy to access but everything else was great. Had to ask for things rather than being told where and what. But thats ok

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in quiet street, not too far from the metro. Helpful and friendly host.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabricio Beltramini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Fabricio would recommend this property

Liked: excelente hostel!

Disliked: --

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to subway and center area. Very calm neighborhood. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Kilby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character of the hostel and the friendly staff. Our room surpassed our expectations. Everything was clean and tidy, we had lovely big duvets, and breakfast was really nice! Jonathan, the owner, was super flexible, knowledgeable, and helpful. He let us in at 5am after our flight was super delayed and made sure we had everything we needed. The location is fabulous. Other backpackers we met had to travel via subway to BellaVista and Plaza de Armas but we were able to walk everywhere. We will definitely recommend this hostel to our friends!

Disliked: Justine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, helpful staff, quiet neighbourhood, warm and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really quiet at night but I walked to everything during the day. Jonathon's directions made it very straightforward to use (super cheap) public transport to and from the airport. This was my first few nights in South America and it was a nice soft landing pad. Friendly, well equiped, clean, secure. I've loved relaxing at night in the lounge watching movies from their hard drive selection.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house and well decorated with a B&B feel.

Disliked: Cold shower and cold building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small hostel in a fancy part of town but within walkable distance of most places, set up in an old house full of character. Castillo Surfista had all the facilities we needed - a comfy dorm and warm bed, hot water showers, kitchen facilities, decent breakfast, and quick wi-fi :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Mortimer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean, and has everything you could need for a safe and comfortable place to stay. We stayed for 5 nights, and never had any problems. We met a tonne of awesome people here, and managed to make some good friends. It isn't a party hostel, but due to its small size, it has a goo social atmosphere, which we much prefer :) We're staying here again on our way back through Santiago as we know it's safe, clean and secure. Another bonus is Duke the dog, he is awesome!!!

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really great with a very good location. Moreover I felt like at home: cosy house, living room with TV, good kitchen and good bedrooms.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold during the night...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very chill

Disliked: not the best place to meet people...was pretty empty while i was there.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private atmosphere, friendly and helpful owner

Disliked: nothing, we had a good time here!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like a home-from-home. Great beds with feather duvets, good location, nice ambience, good bathrooms, ace hosts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cozy. good location. jonathan is really helpful and dedicated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sharpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood, felt safe the whole time. Jonathan the owner is more than happy to answer any questions and help where he can. The place is very well kept and clean, showers were consistently hot! Awesome intro to South America

Disliked: Its all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, near Baquedano Metro and Santa Lucia. It's new, clean and has everything you can wish for (as a budget traveller). My husband and I stayed in a private twin which was a good size, nicely decorated, had comfy beds, and other extras such as a mirror, table lamp etc. The room had a shared bathroom which was a good size, clean and has a place to put your toiletries. Wifi is free and fab. Breakfast is included! Overall it's great value for money.

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a safe and lovely location in Providencia - easy to get to the metro and other restaurants/bars! The staff is fabulous and the rooms are so clean and spacious. The bathroom always had hot water!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, helpful owner, excellent location - highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, comfortable and homely hostel. Really relaxed atmosphere has a real "make yourself at home" feel to the place. The beds and bed clothes are all new. There is room for more than 14 people in this hostel, but they don't cram in more beds as they want it to be a pleasant and comfortable experience for the customer and it really is. STAY HERE!

Disliked: The locks on the bathroom doors could be upgraded. The breakfast is a little too basic and a fresh tea towel in the kitchen everyday would be a good idea.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mick thornton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 mick would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan on the desk was really friendly & helpful. Rooms were really clean . Breakfasts excellent & healthy. Lovely & safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...