We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

90.1% Overall Rating

120 out of 121 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2014)

"Perfect location! Quiet! Good breakfast! Nice staff! Our room (the one with the balcony) was huge! I mean really huge. The biggest room we had so far during our travel. AND with a balcony and a couch. Perfectly…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.84

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
13.46 USD

Hostel 91.4% 126 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 419 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.32 USD

Hostel 92.6% 56 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
44.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residencial Plaza Italia
13.46 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Chillihostel
12.90 USD

Hostel 85.5% 308 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

120 out of 121 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 120 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house and well decorated with a B&B feel.

Disliked: Cold shower and cold building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small hostel in a fancy part of town but within walkable distance of most places, set up in an old house full of character. Castillo Surfista had all the facilities we needed - a comfy dorm and warm bed, hot water showers, kitchen facilities, decent breakfast, and quick wi-fi :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Mortimer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean, and has everything you could need for a safe and comfortable place to stay. We stayed for 5 nights, and never had any problems. We met a tonne of awesome people here, and managed to make some good friends. It isn't a party hostel, but due to its small size, it has a goo social atmosphere, which we much prefer :) We're staying here again on our way back through Santiago as we know it's safe, clean and secure. Another bonus is Duke the dog, he is awesome!!!

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really great with a very good location. Moreover I felt like at home: cosy house, living room with TV, good kitchen and good bedrooms.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold during the night...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very chill

Disliked: not the best place to meet people...was pretty empty while i was there.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private atmosphere, friendly and helpful owner

Disliked: nothing, we had a good time here!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like a home-from-home. Great beds with feather duvets, good location, nice ambience, good bathrooms, ace hosts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cozy. good location. jonathan is really helpful and dedicated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sharpe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood, felt safe the whole time. Jonathan the owner is more than happy to answer any questions and help where he can. The place is very well kept and clean, showers were consistently hot! Awesome intro to South America

Disliked: Its all good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a great location, near Baquedano Metro and Santa Lucia. It's new, clean and has everything you can wish for (as a budget traveller). My husband and I stayed in a private twin which was a good size, nicely decorated, had comfy beds, and other extras such as a mirror, table lamp etc. The room had a shared bathroom which was a good size, clean and has a place to put your toiletries. Wifi is free and fab. Breakfast is included! Overall it's great value for money.

Disliked: Lorna left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a safe and lovely location in Providencia - easy to get to the metro and other restaurants/bars! The staff is fabulous and the rooms are so clean and spacious. The bathroom always had hot water!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, helpful owner, excellent location - highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, comfortable and homely hostel. Really relaxed atmosphere has a real "make yourself at home" feel to the place. The beds and bed clothes are all new. There is room for more than 14 people in this hostel, but they don't cram in more beds as they want it to be a pleasant and comfortable experience for the customer and it really is. STAY HERE!

Disliked: The locks on the bathroom doors could be upgraded. The breakfast is a little too basic and a fresh tea towel in the kitchen everyday would be a good idea.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Farias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mick thornton

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 mick would recommend this property

Liked: Jonathan on the desk was really friendly & helpful. Rooms were really clean . Breakfasts excellent & healthy. Lovely & safe neighbourhood.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great area, nice neighborhood, quick walk/metro to most things. It's a small, quiet hostel which we liked. The others staying here were friendly and we had a good time chatting - but if you are looking for a loud, late, drinking party it's not for you. The owner is super nice, helpful, and friendly - not detail oriented when talking about Santiago, so just have your own plans decided. The building is always clean (common areas, beds, baths).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and well decorated, with friendly staff

Disliked: No comment

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What did we not LOVE?? It was just the best place ever! It was like staying at a friends house. And it was clean, very nicely decorated, and very relaxed and chilled atmosphere, the beds was good, the best kitchen so far etc. We ended up staying in Santiago 5 more days just beacuse of the hostel. Was so sad to leave

Disliked: NOTHING!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in a European influenced neighborhood with big beautiful houses. Good breakfast, would have been perfect if they had real coffee.

Disliked: The floors are a really squeaky in the bedrooms, and the road is a bit loud in the mornings. But if you are sound sleeper, you'll have no problems at this hostel!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Guy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly and welcoming with a great vibe. Will definitely stay here again next time visiting Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing - it's great.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and it's nice, relaxed place to chill out and make new friends. Very clean and close enough to all the main sights.

Disliked: nothing :)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Valles

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The house was big, clean and the rooms were roomy, I was traveling with my coworkers and it was a last minute thing, but I am so glad we did go to Santiago . We felt at home the whole time , Johnathan and Valanetina ( the hosts) treated us like family. the guests there were great as well... Location was perfect for morning walks, and touring the locat sites, near the metro, parks and shopping. Easy to get to from Airport, Breakfast in the AM, coffee with fresh breads and Jam, yougurt and fruit was a good way to start the day, Johanthan strikes up the grill you bring your food and its a family day.... I would recommend this place if your looking for a quite place to chill, and be safe and near everythng. I look forward to going back... It was more value for the money.. Best Hostel I have ever stayed in.... Comfort , wifi, lots of hot water and super clean....

Disliked: NOTTHNG..... Your get more than your moneys worth, if you used to staying in hostels... Castillos gives you a chance to compare the rest... peace , tranquility in a nice neighborhood, no curfew, good locations and the best hosts ever.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Heinrich Töbelmann

Alone

City break

19 March 2012 Martin Heinrich would recommend this property

Liked: good location, very friendly staff, comfortable beds

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most laid back owner ever. Either the owner (a surfer from California) or his girlfriend is always around and they are as friendly and helpful as can be. The hostel is located in a quiet neighborhood. It is within walking distance of many of the ¨musts¨ of Santiago, including San Cristobal hill and the virgin Mary statue, Bellavista neighborhood and Pablo Neruda´s house. Some people might want more color on the inside of this hostel but I say that the owner and his girlfriend´s dispositions add more brightness than any coat of paint could. The breakfast is decent, ample. This is not a party hostel. Bonus---you might get to see a dog skateboard if you are lucky.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, great staff..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...