We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

91.3% Overall Rating

129 out of 130 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2015)

"The Dog Duke is awesome and is in no way fat or suffering from Diabetes. I am pretty much a veterinarian and have given him a full exam to confirm this. The beds are some of the most comfortable in South America with a…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
12.17 USD

Hostel 87.4% 151 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 426 reviews
Nomades Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 70.7% 4 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
12.17 USD

Hostel 68.6% 12 reviews
Chillihostel
11.90 USD

Hostel 88.8% 316 reviews
Rado Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.3%

Overall Rating

129 out of 130 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 129 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ines Guerreiro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 November 2013 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice, including Jonhathan, the owner, the hostel is cosy and the location is good. The value for money is good.

Disliked: Nothing really :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location in a safe neighbourhood, very close to city centre and lots of bars and restaurants. Good value for money in Santiago.

Disliked: While staff were very friendly, they were not very knowledgeable on basic tourist information. Breakfast was also disappointing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, comfy beds, friendly vibe but not a party hostel. Good breakfast. Easy walking location.

Disliked: Staff weren't that present to ask questions to. Just in the morning really. But you can email them questions

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay here. Felt more like staying in a shared house than a hostel! Good kitchen and common areas, spacious rooms with very comfy beds. Brilliant location, close enough to walk to the nightlife of Bellavista but far enough away for it to be quiet at night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Morn

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Sets the standard for hostels. An amazingly friendly and welcoming vibe from all the staff. Will be returning here any time I am in Chile.

Disliked: Joshua left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antony Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: skateboarding dog enough said

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Its a brilliant hostel.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Masri

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere and friendly staff. :) clean place and well located

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 alan would recommend this property

Liked: After a month of hard travelling, this was the right place for me to chill out and relax. Very clean and well appointed old world type of house. The atmosphere and facilities are just right.. Jonathon and his sidekick Valerie (not his partner) was a wealth of information about the Santiago area..restaurants, tours and sites. I hadn't had a comfortable bed in a while , this was where I found it! Thanks guys!

Disliked: nichts, nada, nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Berger

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the rooms are very clean and nice. The atmosphere is amazing and it is 10 min away from both the supermarket and the subway station. Breakfast was good and the kitchen is functional and well organized. I had a great time there. It is, without a doubt, one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff was very helpful. You can tell the owner really cares about his hostel, he is always making sure everything is working fine in the common areas. They also have an extremely sweet skating dog in the backyard -don't worry, he doesn't bark- and that was definitely a plus for me.

Disliked: Make sure you pay the rest of your stay in chilean pesos. When I got there I wanted to pay in dollars and they charged me 20 USD more than what I was supposed to pay because of the exchange-rate of that day. No harm done but the rules about payment should be clearer. For two nights in a row, they apparently forgot to turn off the stereo and closed the office so the noise went to the rooms all night because the floors are quite thin. Fortunately, that only happened twice.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Daniel Fuchs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean / sehr sauber Great staff / tolles personal

Disliked: Im a hungry man- breakfast could have been more!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the big supermarket and the metro station. Also close to nice parks and a short walk to amazing bars and restaurants in the bellavista area. The house is also very clean and almost like a boutique hotel, we were impressed. The staff were also helpful and gave us a detailed map and info about the area on arrival.

Disliked: Probably only the price as it was quite expensive for the double room but that's all that was availibile. It was the most expensive I've been to but also the best and it is in a large city.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought everything was great. The staff was friendly and willing to help out, the place was clean, and the plumbing and wifi both worked great.

Disliked: It was about a 10 minute walk from the main street, but it more than made up for it with the feeling of security and the reduced noise.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean, good location, outdoor setting, movies

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Barnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Located on a pleasant street, not too noisy at night. Wifi is fast, relaxed environment with great selection of movies on offer. Very secure and felt safe, lockers in room, beds and pillows very comfortable. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Bunney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The location is great. Very close to the main town and the metro station but far enough to relax in peace and quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very nice

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in quiet, safe neighbourhood. Near a tube station and within walking distance of Bellavista. Excellent facilities: large, clean dorms & bathrooms. Good breakfasts with yoghurt and fruit.

Disliked: It might have been the unusual circumstances of staff days off and stress caused by the failure of Santiago's water supply, but I didn't feel the welcome was as good as described in other reviews. The staff member who checked me in gave a few cursory explanations (when compared to others I heard later) and couldn't wait to get away quick enough as she had the afternoon off. I had to guess who the owner was, when he arrived, and it wasn't until our third encounter that he made any attempt to welcome me or even say hello. Hopefully a one off as he did 'warm up' a bit and genuinely seemed to spend time with guests, e.g. sharing BBQ with guests.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Castillo Surfista over New Years and extended our booking. Its a fantastic house, very clean, loads of character and a much higher standard than the majority of other hostels we have stayed in throughout the continent. A great location, nice walk to all the nightlife/ parks/ shops/ markets. I would definitely stay here again. Great breakfast (including fruit) -unusual around here!

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like we had been welcomed into someone's home. A really nice home too! They put on a BBQ which was good to meet other travellers and a couple locals. Unfortunately we missed the surf trip but it sounded like a great idea.

Disliked: The shower curtains tended to creep towards me while I was showering. Tying some bolts or something else heavy to them would sort it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely house, nice, big and clean. Good kitchen and bathrooms. Owner was nice and helpful. We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer just for the hostel! Our bus did not leave until 11 pm so we were able to stay there and watch a movie until we need to leave.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUGIHARTI LOTT

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 SUGIHARTI would recommend this property

Liked: It is very friendly hostel, the staffs is amazing, very helpfull!i It feel like at home then hostel, i love it. I had good nite sleep. Very good breakfast. Thank you so much for everything guys.

Disliked: SUGIHARTI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is excellent good facilities great location! John goes out of his way to help and knows the city really well! Hostel is close to the metro, supermarket and walking distance from all the sights, bars and restaurants! Would Definately recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Molyneaux

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The property had everything you needed. Quiet at night and safe area to walk at night.

Disliked: Internet wi fi could be better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Bool

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: American owner/manager Jonathan activity seeks to enhance your stay and make his place the best there is and he succeeds. Great beds, bathrooms, common areas even plenty of movies for nights in. Well stocked kitchen and all super clean. Location is perfect. I stayed on 3 different occasions and always great people there. It felt like home with good friends. An added plus is his dog who skateboards! I'd go back again!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, good location and cheap (for Chile).

Disliked: BBQ's can be a little rowdy if your planning on sleeping before 1am. The dorm faces the street and is busier than you would think at night. Needs more TV series to watch on the hard drive.

The property's response is...