HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel Santiago Hostel

Calle Maria Luisa Santander 0329, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 0.80USD

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 87%

Location 92%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 92%

Showing 11-20 of 41 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The Dog Duke is awesome and is in no way fat or suffering from Diabetes. I am pretty much a veterinarian and have given him a full exam to confirm this. The beds are some of the most comfortable in South America with a great outdoor area to hang out in, tasty breakfast included and a great location in a safe and central neighbourhood very close to two metro lines. Great Social atmosphere and a place I keep coming back to. The owner even gave me new shoes he had lying around something that is hard for me to find in South America. And just to reiterate Duke the dog is downright awesome and in no way diabetic.

Disliked: Not much to say, in high season book ahead because it fills up.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Haha thanks for the comments!!! Safe travels!!!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice atmosphere, big rooms and individual large bathrooms

Disliked: not very well advertised, no big sign out the front or anything, bit hard to find at night when arriving but apart from that an excellent hostel!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments!! Regarding the advertising, my lovely neighbors politely asked for the hostel not to have big flashy sign and we never really needed one. With the address it should be easy enough to find. Almost every taxi driver now has GPS in Chile :)

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location in Santiago is ideal and safe.The rooms and facilities are great.Duke the dog is an absolute sweetheart.Polite, helpful and diligent staff service from Genevieve, Jana, Marina, Lauren and Amy.However, the big plus was the soft, flavourful, freshly baked scones served one special morning, along with delightfully fruity homemade strawberry jam. A real bonus, and certainly an added attraction of the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks!!!! The staff are definitely the best!! Today Jana made crepes ;)

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Friendly staffGood atmosphereDUKE THE DOGComfortable beds Beautiful neighbourhood

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks!!! Duke the hostel dog appreciates the shout out. He is the real boss of the hostel.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The staff was really friendly, and the breakfast was surprisingly nice. The house was nice and everything worked as it should.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments!! Safe travels!!!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, twin room

Disliked: Waffles every day for breakfast would get tired very soon

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review!!! Safe Travels!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice room, and German girl at the reception is really friendly.

Disliked: Breakfast was not really nice, 2 really dry pancakes.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments!!! The breakfast is actually not pancakes - they´re blueberry waffles. Sounds like you forgot to put them in the toaster :(

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff

Disliked: I found the hostel to be very cold and wouldn't recommend staying there in winter.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the compliments. Sorry to hear about the cold. We have an endless supply of blankets and run our massive parafin heater morning and night within the main house. I actually remember giving you your own personal parafin heater as you were in the room with the private bathroom. Even so, please remember that Santiago does get very cold no matter where you are staying. Like most hostels, central heating is non-existent due to the age of the buildings.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Perfect location! Quiet! Good breakfast! Nice staff! Our room (the one with the balcony) was huge! I mean really huge. The biggest room we had so far during our travel. AND with a balcony and a couch. Perfectly clean and tidy! Nothing to complain about.

Disliked: I don't know if it was just bad luck, but we had exceptional bad internet connection (Wifi signal was good though) for our whole stay (5 days). It was hard to do anything, even sending an email. The Internet should not be your most important criterium for choosing a hostel, but when you have some "remote work" to do or some research for you further travel, than this sucks.But I guess it was just bad luck with their internet provider. We would still highly recommend this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your compliments! Please know that internet is one of our top priorities as I know how important it is for travelers. Whenever there is a problem, we work to fix it right away - making sure our 2 routers are functioning properly. I think it must have been the device you were using as our internet has not been down or slow for more than one day since we opened. Wish you had told us :(. Safe travels!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Small but safe and in a good location. Friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for the comments!

Check Availability