We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

90.9% Overall Rating

124 out of 125 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/01/2015)

"The staff was really friendly, and the breakfast was surprisingly nice. The house was nice and everything worked as it should."

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
12.10 USD

Hostel 86.9% 146 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 425 reviews
Nomades Hostel
14.52 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Residencial Plaza Italia
12.91 USD

Hostel 68.6% 12 reviews
Chillihostel
11.90 USD

Hostel 86.6% 312 reviews
Rado Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

124 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 124 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Antony Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: skateboarding dog enough said

Disliked: Antony left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Gallagher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Its a brilliant hostel.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Masri

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Best atmosphere and friendly staff. :) clean place and well located

Disliked: Federico left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alan miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 alan would recommend this property

Liked: After a month of hard travelling, this was the right place for me to chill out and relax. Very clean and well appointed old world type of house. The atmosphere and facilities are just right.. Jonathon and his sidekick Valerie (not his partner) was a wealth of information about the Santiago area..restaurants, tours and sites. I hadn't had a comfortable bed in a while , this was where I found it! Thanks guys!

Disliked: nichts, nada, nothing at all.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Berger

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the rooms are very clean and nice. The atmosphere is amazing and it is 10 min away from both the supermarket and the subway station. Breakfast was good and the kitchen is functional and well organized. I had a great time there. It is, without a doubt, one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff was very helpful. You can tell the owner really cares about his hostel, he is always making sure everything is working fine in the common areas. They also have an extremely sweet skating dog in the backyard -don't worry, he doesn't bark- and that was definitely a plus for me.

Disliked: Make sure you pay the rest of your stay in chilean pesos. When I got there I wanted to pay in dollars and they charged me 20 USD more than what I was supposed to pay because of the exchange-rate of that day. No harm done but the rules about payment should be clearer. For two nights in a row, they apparently forgot to turn off the stereo and closed the office so the noise went to the rooms all night because the floors are quite thin. Fortunately, that only happened twice.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Daniel Fuchs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean / sehr sauber Great staff / tolles personal

Disliked: Im a hungry man- breakfast could have been more!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, close to the big supermarket and the metro station. Also close to nice parks and a short walk to amazing bars and restaurants in the bellavista area. The house is also very clean and almost like a boutique hotel, we were impressed. The staff were also helpful and gave us a detailed map and info about the area on arrival.

Disliked: Probably only the price as it was quite expensive for the double room but that's all that was availibile. It was the most expensive I've been to but also the best and it is in a large city.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought everything was great. The staff was friendly and willing to help out, the place was clean, and the plumbing and wifi both worked great.

Disliked: It was about a 10 minute walk from the main street, but it more than made up for it with the feeling of security and the reduced noise.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean, good location, outdoor setting, movies

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Barnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Located on a pleasant street, not too noisy at night. Wifi is fast, relaxed environment with great selection of movies on offer. Very secure and felt safe, lockers in room, beds and pillows very comfortable. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Bunney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The location is great. Very close to the main town and the metro station but far enough to relax in peace and quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very nice

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in quiet, safe neighbourhood. Near a tube station and within walking distance of Bellavista. Excellent facilities: large, clean dorms & bathrooms. Good breakfasts with yoghurt and fruit.

Disliked: It might have been the unusual circumstances of staff days off and stress caused by the failure of Santiago's water supply, but I didn't feel the welcome was as good as described in other reviews. The staff member who checked me in gave a few cursory explanations (when compared to others I heard later) and couldn't wait to get away quick enough as she had the afternoon off. I had to guess who the owner was, when he arrived, and it wasn't until our third encounter that he made any attempt to welcome me or even say hello. Hopefully a one off as he did 'warm up' a bit and genuinely seemed to spend time with guests, e.g. sharing BBQ with guests.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Castillo Surfista over New Years and extended our booking. Its a fantastic house, very clean, loads of character and a much higher standard than the majority of other hostels we have stayed in throughout the continent. A great location, nice walk to all the nightlife/ parks/ shops/ markets. I would definitely stay here again. Great breakfast (including fruit) -unusual around here!

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like we had been welcomed into someone's home. A really nice home too! They put on a BBQ which was good to meet other travellers and a couple locals. Unfortunately we missed the surf trip but it sounded like a great idea.

Disliked: The shower curtains tended to creep towards me while I was showering. Tying some bolts or something else heavy to them would sort it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely house, nice, big and clean. Good kitchen and bathrooms. Owner was nice and helpful. We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer just for the hostel! Our bus did not leave until 11 pm so we were able to stay there and watch a movie until we need to leave.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUGIHARTI LOTT

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 SUGIHARTI would recommend this property

Liked: It is very friendly hostel, the staffs is amazing, very helpfull!i It feel like at home then hostel, i love it. I had good nite sleep. Very good breakfast. Thank you so much for everything guys.

Disliked: SUGIHARTI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is excellent good facilities great location! John goes out of his way to help and knows the city really well! Hostel is close to the metro, supermarket and walking distance from all the sights, bars and restaurants! Would Definately recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Molyneaux

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The property had everything you needed. Quiet at night and safe area to walk at night.

Disliked: Internet wi fi could be better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Bool

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: American owner/manager Jonathan activity seeks to enhance your stay and make his place the best there is and he succeeds. Great beds, bathrooms, common areas even plenty of movies for nights in. Well stocked kitchen and all super clean. Location is perfect. I stayed on 3 different occasions and always great people there. It felt like home with good friends. An added plus is his dog who skateboards! I'd go back again!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, good location and cheap (for Chile).

Disliked: BBQ's can be a little rowdy if your planning on sleeping before 1am. The dorm faces the street and is busier than you would think at night. Needs more TV series to watch on the hard drive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, friendly, everything you could ask for!!!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marilyn Treasure

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, quiet. easy acccess to the centre. easy going staff

Disliked: Wifi not very easy to access but everything else was great. Had to ask for things rather than being told where and what. But thats ok

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in quiet street, not too far from the metro. Helpful and friendly host.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabricio Beltramini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Fabricio would recommend this property

Liked: excelente hostel!

Disliked: --

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to subway and center area. Very calm neighborhood. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...