HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castillo Surfista Hostel

Hostel | CALLE Maria Luisa Santander, 0329, Santiago, Chile 7500870

92.1% Overall Rating

113 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/03/2014)

Tarant Hill thinks…

"Castillo Surfista was the perfect start to our South American adventure. The place is more like a big share house than a hostel; with everyone hanging out in the common areas a lot of the time.…"

Read all Castillo Surfista Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please contact the hostel once you have made your booking and let them know of your arrival time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Hostal Providencia
14.41 USD

Hostel 90.7% 112 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 85 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 92.6% 411 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.31 USD

Hostel 90.5% 53 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Residencial Plaza Italia
14.41 USD

Hostel 67.1% 10 reviews
Chillihostel
12.90 USD

Hostel 84.5% 302 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

113 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castillo Surfista Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 113 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean, good location, outdoor setting, movies

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Barnett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Located on a pleasant street, not too noisy at night. Wifi is fast, relaxed environment with great selection of movies on offer. Very secure and felt safe, lockers in room, beds and pillows very comfortable. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Bunney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here. The location is great. Very close to the main town and the metro station but far enough to relax in peace and quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is very nice

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in quiet, safe neighbourhood. Near a tube station and within walking distance of Bellavista. Excellent facilities: large, clean dorms & bathrooms. Good breakfasts with yoghurt and fruit.

Disliked: It might have been the unusual circumstances of staff days off and stress caused by the failure of Santiago's water supply, but I didn't feel the welcome was as good as described in other reviews. The staff member who checked me in gave a few cursory explanations (when compared to others I heard later) and couldn't wait to get away quick enough as she had the afternoon off. I had to guess who the owner was, when he arrived, and it wasn't until our third encounter that he made any attempt to welcome me or even say hello. Hopefully a one off as he did 'warm up' a bit and genuinely seemed to spend time with guests, e.g. sharing BBQ with guests.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Gale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Castillo Surfista over New Years and extended our booking. Its a fantastic house, very clean, loads of character and a much higher standard than the majority of other hostels we have stayed in throughout the continent. A great location, nice walk to all the nightlife/ parks/ shops/ markets. I would definitely stay here again. Great breakfast (including fruit) -unusual around here!

Disliked: Victoria left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like we had been welcomed into someone's home. A really nice home too! They put on a BBQ which was good to meet other travellers and a couple locals. Unfortunately we missed the surf trip but it sounded like a great idea.

Disliked: The shower curtains tended to creep towards me while I was showering. Tying some bolts or something else heavy to them would sort it.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberley Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely house, nice, big and clean. Good kitchen and bathrooms. Owner was nice and helpful. We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer just for the hostel! Our bus did not leave until 11 pm so we were able to stay there and watch a movie until we need to leave.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUGIHARTI LOTT

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 SUGIHARTI would recommend this property

Liked: It is very friendly hostel, the staffs is amazing, very helpfull!i It feel like at home then hostel, i love it. I had good nite sleep. Very good breakfast. Thank you so much for everything guys.

Disliked: SUGIHARTI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is excellent good facilities great location! John goes out of his way to help and knows the city really well! Hostel is close to the metro, supermarket and walking distance from all the sights, bars and restaurants! Would Definately recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Molyneaux

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The property had everything you needed. Quiet at night and safe area to walk at night.

Disliked: Internet wi fi could be better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Bool

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: American owner/manager Jonathan activity seeks to enhance your stay and make his place the best there is and he succeeds. Great beds, bathrooms, common areas even plenty of movies for nights in. Well stocked kitchen and all super clean. Location is perfect. I stayed on 3 different occasions and always great people there. It felt like home with good friends. An added plus is his dog who skateboards! I'd go back again!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff, good location and cheap (for Chile).

Disliked: BBQ's can be a little rowdy if your planning on sleeping before 1am. The dorm faces the street and is busier than you would think at night. Needs more TV series to watch on the hard drive.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Webber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean, friendly, everything you could ask for!!!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marilyn Treasure

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Marilyn would recommend this property

Liked: nice room, quiet. easy acccess to the centre. easy going staff

Disliked: Wifi not very easy to access but everything else was great. Had to ask for things rather than being told where and what. But thats ok

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Webster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in quiet street, not too far from the metro. Helpful and friendly host.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabricio Beltramini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Fabricio would recommend this property

Liked: excelente hostel!

Disliked: --

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to subway and center area. Very calm neighborhood. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Kilby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character of the hostel and the friendly staff. Our room surpassed our expectations. Everything was clean and tidy, we had lovely big duvets, and breakfast was really nice! Jonathan, the owner, was super flexible, knowledgeable, and helpful. He let us in at 5am after our flight was super delayed and made sure we had everything we needed. The location is fabulous. Other backpackers we met had to travel via subway to BellaVista and Plaza de Armas but we were able to walk everywhere. We will definitely recommend this hostel to our friends!

Disliked: Justine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, helpful staff, quiet neighbourhood, warm and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really quiet at night but I walked to everything during the day. Jonathon's directions made it very straightforward to use (super cheap) public transport to and from the airport. This was my first few nights in South America and it was a nice soft landing pad. Friendly, well equiped, clean, secure. I've loved relaxing at night in the lounge watching movies from their hard drive selection.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute house and well decorated with a B&B feel.

Disliked: Cold shower and cold building.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A small hostel in a fancy part of town but within walkable distance of most places, set up in an old house full of character. Castillo Surfista had all the facilities we needed - a comfy dorm and warm bed, hot water showers, kitchen facilities, decent breakfast, and quick wi-fi :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasmine Mortimer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very clean, and has everything you could need for a safe and comfortable place to stay. We stayed for 5 nights, and never had any problems. We met a tonne of awesome people here, and managed to make some good friends. It isn't a party hostel, but due to its small size, it has a goo social atmosphere, which we much prefer :) We're staying here again on our way back through Santiago as we know it's safe, clean and secure. Another bonus is Duke the dog, he is awesome!!!

Disliked: Jasmine left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was really great with a very good location. Moreover I felt like at home: cosy house, living room with TV, good kitchen and good bedrooms.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold during the night...

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, very chill

Disliked: not the best place to meet people...was pretty empty while i was there.

The property's response is...