We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Traveller's Place Hostel

Hostel | Almirante Barroso, 457, Santiago, Chile -

86.8% Overall Rating

21 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2013)

tom hughes thinks…

"Anna Marie went far out of her way to help many people who stayed there. She was helpful in suggesting sites for backpackers and even called one of the tour groups on my behalf in order to get…"

Read all Traveller's Place Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.32
  • Luggage Room USD 1.67
  • Towel USD 1.67

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

CHILENIAN PEOPLE NEED TO PAY THE NATIONAL TAX I.V.A. and this is 19% over the published rate. The Check- in Time is 14:00 hrs. The Check-out Time is until 12:00 hrs. After 12:00 hrs until 16:00 hrs you have to pay 50% over one night rate. After 16:00 hrs you have to pay 100% over one night rate.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

HI - Santiago de Chile
15.82 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Nuevo Horizonte Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 78.3% 34 reviews
Happy House Hostel
19.98 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
La Casa Roja
13.32 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
29.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 87.5% 128 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 399 reviews
The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 82.4% 129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.8%

Overall Rating

21 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Traveller's Place Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
83.3%
Facilities
84.2%
Cleanliness
90.0%
Staff
90.0%
Value
85.8%
Safety
93.3%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sauber und recht gut gelegen.

Disliked: Überwachungskameras hängen in Rezeption, Küche, Speiseraum und Treppenhaus herum. Diese trüben ein wenig die Atmosphäre, obwohl sie sicherlich nur der Sicherheit der Hausgäste dienen sollen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tyler Lucas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Near restaurants, bars, and grocery stores.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013

Liked: The beds are comfortable and spacious. It was clean.

Disliked: Breakfast was basic, fruit would be good to have. Showers were poor and hard to mediate the temperature. The curfew was very confusing! You had to be back at 11pm as reception wasn't manned after this time. If you wanted to stay out after 11pm, you had to say what time you had to be back.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jaume Lapeña

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2013 Jaume would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms, clean bathrooms.

Disliked: weak wifi signal in second floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

tom hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2013 tom would recommend this property

Liked: Anna Marie went far out of her way to help many people who stayed there. She was helpful in suggesting sites for backpackers and even called one of the tour groups on my behalf in order to get details in Spanish to explain to me in English. She was a real sweet heart. As far as the hostel, it was clean and secure. The showers were hot and kitchen was always available. Nothing more you could ask for in a hostel.

Disliked: Location could have been better, but it is still near shopping and restaurants while only being a few blocks from the metro.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Madison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Chile is not known for having good hostels, but this is an exception. Good breakfast, clean facilities, well stocked kitchen, toilet paper, soap, and all the little things plus an excellent staff made for a great stay.

Disliked: There was a hot water issue that they were working on, but if you let the water run for a bit your shower got warm.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

B.Celestino Carreon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 B.Celestino would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, they had a free pisco sour night and a free pisco sour when you check in on foursquare.

Disliked: Fridge broke down so staff and guests had to share one fridge. Wife didn't like that there was a guy who cleaned the girls bathroom, since there is only one dorm style bathroom for each gender, this prevented her from using it while he was cleaning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful Everything very clean Great location

Disliked: Room was a little bit noisy due to traffic in the street (hard to avoid in Santiago)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013

Liked: Near from subway, clean place.

Disliked: Few options for tours or touristic information. In other time I will prefer to stay in Bella Vista.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access to subway and supermarket.

Disliked: Our room was on the groundfloor and quite noisy, because of traffic and and the reception. It's location in the supposedly harsh neighborhood of Barrio Brasil.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, close to train/public transport and walking distance to Santiago Central. Staff very nice and helpful! Breakfast nice and simple, good atmosphere. A sweet safe place to get your feet on the ground before hitting the roads around Chile-good value and a SAFE bet for the budget conscious traveller!

Disliked: Pretty Noisey...but our bet is with 10million people in Santiago its next to impossible to find a quiet place to crash so nothing to dislike really!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clearly an old university dorm building converted into a hostel, so the set up is just that - dorm rooms with a big shared bathroom (guys and girls together). But it was super clean the whole time, beds made daily etc. However the common room was downstairs in the basement where they played movies each night at 8. we didn´t go so I can´t comment on that. Breakfast was alright.. just like all the other places in South America, although they did have fruit out, and tea and coffee all day. I didn´t get a very party vibe so if that´s what your looking for, maybe try something else. They did have posters for the FREE WALKING TOUR.. (start at 10am or 3pm) and we HIGHLY recommend it. It was really fun, informative, got to try different food you normally wouldnt and check out places you probably wouldn´t go to.. so we absolutely loved it and it made us love Santiago.

Disliked: - a little quiet - It seemed only one staff member spoke English but she was helpful in booking an airport shuttle for us

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostal, the staff ist very friendly and english spoken. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fab hostel, really helpful staff - really enjoyed our stay here and would def recommend it! Great movie nights also :)

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean and nice place, good location close to metro stations and plaza de armas (downtown santiago), staff is really helpfull and went beyond their responsibilities to help me with my yellow fever vaccination, movie night with free pisco sour and crackers were awesome, nice breakfast with juice, cofee, tea, bread, jam, cereals, fruits, cookies and sometimes cake and cheese!

Disliked: it's not much to dislike, only that they have no kitchen facilities. they were really nice and let us use the staff kitchen though, but this would not work if the hostel is full and everybody wants to cook, so better be prepared to eat outside the hostel. the wifi didn't worked when we were there, but i am sure they will fix it soon. One suggestion for the dorm room on the first floor: There is too less light in the front of the room, so it's not possible to read if you are in the first bunk bed. and at night it's not easy to sleep, because the door is from glass and the light from outside is disturbing (maybe paint the glass parts of the door or use a curtain?). but despite these little things it was a great stay and we would recommend this hostel to everyone!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marie Torchepot

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful and friendly and the building is totally renovated thus clean and comfortable. Barrio Brasil is a nice area and quite centered. Free breakfast and internet.

Disliked: They are new, so maybe they can still improve the organization.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice location, clean and comfortable, much nicer than those huge impersonal backpackers where you feel anonymous

Disliked: Nothing