HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Santiago Backpackers Santiago

Hostel

Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 82%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

21/07/13 Double private (shared bathroom): stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30%

22/07/13 - 28/07/13 6 bed mixed ensuite dorm: stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30%

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 82%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was good, quite close to a lot of museums, landmarks etc.

Disliked: Zero atmosphere. The staff were not the friendlies bunch either.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Gorgeous building. Communal lounge was very nice as well as the outdoor courtyards. Location was prime for visiting the mercado and vego, the park, museums and nightlife.

Disliked: There should be eggs and fruit with breakfast. Storage lockers in room do not fit most locks. Luggage storage is a corridor that is in view and accessible from the street.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the hostel offers huge rooms and kitchen

Disliked: but the staff is one of the worst we had in travelling 4,5 month southamerica. we told them that our rooms needs to be cleaned and the answer of the staff was that it is not their business and the cleaning lady was not there. in addition did one of our group not come in at night because the staff did not hear him ringing the bell because all of them were partying and drinking in the kitchen. without the creapy staff a really good hostel

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were fantastic!! Super friendly and helpful

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is good and people helpful. I like that they saidI could leave my backpack there when I am back to Santiago for a day. It is like having friends I can count on when I am there.Breakfest was very good.

Disliked: The place is dark, bathrooms unclean and bedroom smell was really bad.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, lovely atmosphere, very helpful staff, brilliant facilities, and met wonderful people there, one of the best hostels I stayed in in the whole of South America

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free dinner.

Disliked: We signed up for our free dinner but when it was time to eat there had been an earlier dinner session that we were not advised on and all the food had been eaten so there was none left. Appalling and will be notifying others about this. Planning for the number of people eating is surely key? Starving hungry at 8.45 we went to find some food in a local restaurant. Shouldn't haven been advertised as free dinner if it was dependent on how many people eating and how much they were eating.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks a lot for your comment. We offer every tuesday a free dinner, in which we want everyone to join us. This isn't a ridiculously small meal or anything alike, usually our guests repeat when possible. Last night the hostel filled from one moment to another and we planned for 2 meals to accommodate everyone. Unfortunately, there was a misunderstanding with our staff and the second meal was served only to a few and not everyone could enjoy it. We are very sorry for it and shouldn't happen again

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: THe location is perfect and the atff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing. THis place has it all! It felt like home!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fruit at breakfast, good location. Super friendly staff. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: The vibe wasn´t great--not too many of the other backpackers were very friendly. It wasn´t very conducive to meeting people. Also, more than 1 computer would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, comfy beds although the bunks are high. Lockers in rooms and rooms descent size. Had a yummy NYE dinner and a fun party. Bathrooms clean and water pressure and heat were good. Breaky is basic but the bread is fresh. Good areas to relax in and the kitchen is well set up.

Disliked: The dorm room is right on the street and can be a bit noisy with the traffic.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for you review, we have great news since we upgraded all of the windows from the rooms that face the street. We have now sound proof thermopanel windows, that also help keeping the rooms warmer in winter

Check Availability