We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Santiago Backpackers

Hostel | Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Santiago, Chile 0000000

86.5% Overall Rating

82 out of 86 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"Gorgeous building. Communal lounge was very nice as well as the outdoor courtyards. Location was prime for visiting the mercado and vego, the park, museums and nightlife."

Read all Santiago Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

21/07/13 Double private (shared bathroom): stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30% 22/07/13 - 28/07/13 6 bed mixed ensuite dorm: stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

casAltura Hostel
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 91 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.5% 111 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
10.99 USD

Hostel 82.9% 313 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 10 reviews
Lucia Suites
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
14.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal del Barrio
16.65 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

82 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Santiago Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wi-fi access worked well throughout the hostel

Disliked: luggage storage was an unsecure room by the kitchen

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Ari, and staff, were all extremely helpful and friendly. The location and general layout of the hostel were also quite good.

Disliked: My shower was not merely cold, but freezing. There also were not enough ladders for the bunk beds. (Some were positioned in a way that prevented using the ends to go up/down. I also don't understand why you'd assign difficult to access top bunks when there are plenty of bottom bunks in the same room available.) Lastly, this didn't affect me because the property is still rather new, but I would note that a lot of the hostel features are sub-Ikea quality and probably won't age well. The sheets are thin/scratchy, bunk beds a bit rickety, and the showers already have rust spots. None of this is an issue now, but will likely become one in the future.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, friendly place

Disliked: Only one computer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mariano Carranza

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 April 2011 Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is a really cool guy. he took us bar hoping and threw a great party. the staff was friendly, place was cool. good value for money

Disliked: even tough it's close to 2 different subway stations, and close to other cool neighborhoods, the area itself could be better...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large area and big part dedicated to meeting new people

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in 6 bed room, which was very large and high. Basin and Kitchen were new and well-designed. Two slices of bread were served at breakfast. Although toaster was missing, I could BBQ them. Check-out time was 11:00am. Payment with credit card was charged 4%.

Disliked: The upper bunk bed was very high but did not have any guard on the right and left. I was scared a little. If I fell...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diederik Geboers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2011 Diederik would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice. Atmosphere and the facilities excellent. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostels was very good, with a descent location close to supermarkets, tours and the city centre. It is within walking distance to the Bellavista (party-district).

Disliked: The internet is a bit slow and the breakfast is not really worth mentioning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! From the moment we got there we were made to feel welcome, the staff at Santiago Backpackers really go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your time in the city and everyone is extremely helpful and is always ready to offer advice on where to go and what to do. The hostel organises things like parties and even puts on free dinners so it is easy to meet with other travellers. The bedrooms are huge and clean, the beds are brand new and comfy and the bathrooms are new and spotless. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough, it is the best hostel we have stayed in anywhere in the world.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is really new. Well thought out.

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff very helpfull with travel advice.perfect location highly recommend a stay there

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly vand helpful staff. Would definately reccomend

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalie Andrea Valdes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2011 Natalie Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, good beds and a very nice kitchen! The staff is awesome and very helpful with everything you might need.

Disliked: Did not dislike anything!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Rothwell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Definately one of the best hostels that I`ve stayed in!! The place is spotless, brand new and very well set out. The Kitchen is amazing and has everything you could want and the bathrooms are very modern and clean!!! Great Location within Santiago and the staff are always keen to chat and help you in any way they can. Thanks Santiago backpackers for such a great stay!!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Hennessy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the dorm room, very spacious. I was in an 8 bed dorm. Each locker was huge and a very well thought out little shelf for phone, purse etc. Great showers with fun shower curtain for the girls one! Kitchen very impressive with all mod cons. Chill out area great with books and a huge tv screen. Plenty of bathrooms upstairs and downstairs so no queues there! Brilliant location just a hop, skip and a jump from everywhere that sunny Santiago has to offer!

Disliked: Cant think of anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really awesome place, will definitely come back next time

Disliked: we found it a bit silly that the bread for breakfast is limited to two slices per person

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great brand new hostel! The staff are super cool and friendly. Comfy beds, clean kitchen, nice outdoor space. Highly recommend!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Santiago Backpackers were extremely helpful. Ari and Cameron went out of their way to assist me with any questions or tasks I asked of them. The facilities are brand new with secure lockers and rooms, clean bathrooms and showers, and a large kitchen and outdoor area to meet and socialise with other travellers.

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Cooke

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 February 2011 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of room and excellent, new facilities. Staff are extremely helpful and polite.

Disliked: Our room was right on the street, and traffic noise was a problem throughout the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily The Best Hostel I´ve been at! Lovely young owner! great extremely friendly staff, Amazing kitchen with everything! very nice and clean bathroom(All new) and a great Dorm to stay conveniently!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located in Santiago Downtown, a couple of blocks away from Plaza de Armas, Metro station, and at a walking distance to Bellavista. Staff was very friendly as well. The hostel is brand new and somewhat close to a 5 star hostel. Would definitly recommend this hostel and will be back there for sure if I make it to Santiago again!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony Ninasivinche

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Tony would recommend this property

Liked: Santiago Backpackers is the new kid on the block. I was their very first guest, and they´ve done a fantastic job at making me feel welcome. The hostel is conviniently located in Santiago centro (basically the middle of city). Within a 30 minute walking radius of the hostel, I found a number supermarkets, shopping malls, 2-3 metro train stations, plently of bus stops, lovely parks, shopping strips, Santa Lucia lookout (a must), tour operators, money exchange centres, government buildings, museums (Museum of Modern Art is a 10 minute walk), and much more. The staff were enthusiatic, knowledgeable and friendly. The moment I walked in I received a hug from the receptionist. Staff are also available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to address any problems you may be experiencing, and is also great when going out late at night. Staff are also bilingual, in Spanish and English. Moreover, the staff offered a wealth of information about Sanitago and Chile in general, as they are all very travelled themselves and speak from experience. In fact, after talking to staff members, I´ve since changed my travel itinerary. Ari, the manager, is very hands on and easy to talk to and contact. The hostel itself is brand new; new beds, bathrooms, TV, computers etc. The hostel has a nice feel to it, there are spaces to socialise including a TV room and large kitchen/dinning area etc. The interior designer is an absolute artist, as he renovated this hostel from top-to-bottom. The hostel has a brand new kitchen, high ceilings, wooden floors, pretty doors and large windows (I had a view to a huge church across the street). Not to mention, the very pretty chandelier hanging from the foyer. Overall, my experience at the hostel has been excellent and has ticked of the boxes in affordable travel in Santiago. I would recommed this hostel to any traveller coming to Santiago, and when they leave I am sure they´ll be as happy as I´ve been here.

Disliked: Nothing - I promise.