HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Santiago Backpackers Santiago

Hostel

Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 82%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

21/07/13 Double private (shared bathroom): stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30%

22/07/13 - 28/07/13 6 bed mixed ensuite dorm: stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30%

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 82%

Location 98%

Safety 90%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 11-6 of 6 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Boring breakfast, just toast really. No bins in rooms. no toilet paper ever in one of the two stalls. It is a bit run down inside.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. We will correct our procedures since our breakfast normally consists of toasts, butter, jam, dulce de leche, fresh fruits, fruit juice, tea, coffe and milk. During winter, we replace fruits for yogurt and cereals. Every room has its bin and we will also recheck why the toilet paper wasn't replaced in time. We constantly renovate our areas so they can keep being nice and warm to our guests

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great Character! Staff are so friendly and basically free Spanish teachers! absolutely FANTASTIC

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice people and good location, where you definitely make friends!

Disliked: The breakfast was very limited...

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good kitchen, excellent location, staff very friendly.

Disliked: Very loud. This tends to attract young guys who like to party. That wouldn´t be a bad thing except all the partying happens in two patios that nearly every room seems to face, and very thin windows mean no ¨quiet time¨ at all at night. Apparently the partying got so out of hand a couple nights before I arrived the staff had to threaten to call the police.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We apologize for your bad quality of sleep. We don't allow noise to happen in the patios after 12 pm, and clearly this happened while you stayed with us. We checked the procedures with the staff in charge and made sure it won't happen again. Guests who don't respect this rules have been and will be kicked out of the premises.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: We really enjoyed the pub crawl organised in the hostel and also the Free Walking Tour advertised there is excellent. The kitchen is really nice and the big tv.

Disliked: It is very noisy at the front of the building due to traffic. Double or triple glazing would make a big difference - some kind of sound proofing is needed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review, we do have insulated glass panels now in our rooms that face the street. The difference is great!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is in a great central location, close to the Plaza de Armas, cafes and barrio Bella Vista. The rooms are clean, warm and dorm beds were super comfortable. Bathrooms are kept spotlessly clean, showers are hot and kitchen is great.

Disliked: At the risk of sounding petty, the breakfast is pretty woeful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My best Santiago hostel experience yet. Great location, super friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable accommodations. Met awesome people and had a great time. Definitely recommend this place.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Su ambientes amplios y luminosos.

Disliked: Lo único negativo que puedo decir de la propiedad es que no tiene calefacción y en invierno es algo a tener en cuenta.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff are great here, really friendly and ready to help. The location of the hostel is great too, really central. There's a range of events and trips available in the hostel or that can be booked through them. The cheese and wine evening was a real treat!!

Disliked: The showers were pretty bad - the water was ALWAYS cold! The breakfast was not too good either - not much available... The dorm I stayed in was a mess, it seems like as guests have come and gone things have been left behind and clutter the place. Also, the blanket on my bed smelled vile! I was pleased to have my own bedding...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thks for your review. Our water system is working with no problems; we would certainly have fixed it if you'd have told us about it. Sometimes in low season a switch is down and we realize by the end of the day. Our breakfast consists of fruits, yogurt, oat, bread with butter, jam and dulce de leche, plus coffee and tea. Grain coffee is also available. We think this is a nice breakfast for being included in the price of a $15 dorm. Taking the cheapest dorm can also mean sharing with messy guests

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was in the center of town. Alot of people who are backpacking use it alot which helps to catch up with other travellers and also to get other ideas for the area.

Disliked: The bathrooms arent great and they need another fridge and more computers as there are not enough for the people who are staying there

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability