We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Santiago Backpackers

Hostel | Mac Iver 661, Santiago, Santiago, Chile 0000000

86.5% Overall Rating

82 out of 86 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/11/2013)

"Gorgeous building. Communal lounge was very nice as well as the outdoor courtyards. Location was prime for visiting the mercado and vego, the park, museums and nightlife."

Read all Santiago Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

21/07/13 Double private (shared bathroom): stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30% 22/07/13 - 28/07/13 6 bed mixed ensuite dorm: stay 2 nights receive on the second night a discount of 30%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

casAltura Hostel
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 91 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 110 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 82.6% 312 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 10 reviews
Lucia Suites
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
14.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal del Barrio
16.65 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

82 out of 86 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Santiago Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great!!! The staff are so friendly and willing to help you any way they can. The owner is such a good guy and cares so much about his City. The location is excellent and close to transport links. The hostel has a great balance between party hostel and being quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. You must stay here if going to Santiago!!

Disliked: Nothing!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first hostel in South America and I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel is in a quirky building in the cntre of Santiago with a good well equipped kitchen and communial spaces. Every night there is an activity organised by the hostel, such as going to a local bar, wine tasting night etc. They don't push you into doing the activities which is good but they are well worth it. Make sure you go to the Terromotto bar on the wednesday. The owner and staff are really helpful and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my time at StgoBackpackers. Throughout my time in SthAmerica, i returned there 3 times, and each time it felt like a home rather than just somewhere to sleep. It is clean, it has good facilities, and the staff are always aware of events and activities to do in the city. They also always had evening activities for people staying in the hostel where it was possibel to get to know the other people staying there. I loved this. My favourite was terremotto nights!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great kitchen, nice rooms

Disliked: bad breakfast, a little noisy

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ronan Connolly

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

11 December 2011 Ronan would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully restored building with a nice homely feel

Disliked: Nada

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff, nice social area. The room had lockers.

Disliked: Breakfast was really pathetic. Showers were ok, but not the cleanest or best pressure. Our room was right on the street so it was loud, but most rooms back in to the alley and I suspect are not as bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location, super kitchen - everything very new and stylish.

Disliked: We had the room next to the receiption on a saturday night, so it was a little noisy, but nothing you could help with some earplugs ;-)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a nice ambiente. With wooden grounds and new bathrooms. It is definetly a good choice.

Disliked: Everything was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice courtyard area, well stocked kitchen, comfy beds, HOT showers, good bathroom facilities, building has character

Disliked: some of the staff was slightly creepy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness, the location and safeness.

Disliked: i hadn´t problems . i was pretty confortable and happy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Melinda D'arcy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and good value for money. Staff are friendly and the location is excellent. Close to Bellavista and the centre. Breakfast was simple but good compared to other hostels in Chile.

Disliked: Rooms are cold. There is a heater that is moved amongst the rooms however that means a guy coming into your room in the middle of the night to take the heater out! The showers take about 10mins to get hot so not ideal when standing waiting in the cold. Of course, this wouldn't be a problem as the weather warms up. Nescafe... again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Gogolin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: THE hostel in Santiago!

Disliked: nuthin

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Michael Geraty

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

11 August 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: noise from the street Flooding bathroom Hair on the soap

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, nice building

Disliked: breakfast could be bigger

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that I felt safe, the staff we very friendly and approachable, the free wifi is fantastic, boiling hot showers, huge tv, great atmosphere, great location. One of the best hostels I have stayed in, I really enjoyed it.

Disliked: I approached a staff member to ask if 'they' could reserve a taxi for me early the next morning to go to the airport. The phone line was engaged for a little while but the staff member left thieselves a note and kept trying and told me not to worry. I noticed 'they' were also busy focussing on when they could begin drinking with friends and I am assuming 'they' just gave up on reserving my taxi because I sat there and no taxi came the next day and the company didnt know anything about my reservation. This was quite irritating because 1. I had to make a flight 2. the staff member was drinking wine and listening to music when i returned and 3. I was informed that this was not the first time he had done this.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has really helpful staffs, nice rooms,a very comfortable kitchen and a nice living room. A good place for discovering Santiago de Chile!

Disliked: In the night it becomes very cold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people,nice restored building,good beds.

Disliked: NO HEATING-Freezing there in wintertime.The Buses waits in the front of the house so the front rooms (8bed dorm) are veeery noisy.Breakfast?Don´t talk about it..

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely people, beautigul old building

Disliked: it was cold! (travelled at winter!)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay! Beautiful building and central location

Disliked: Very cold this time of year but we were supplied with extra blankets anyway!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing, brand new hostel. Everything is very clean - beautiful, large rooms, with great mattrasses, big lockers and each bed has its own light and little shelf. There are daily activities organised by the hostel, which are great for meeting people. The owner is very helpful in organising your trip, as is the staff. Also there's a nice big kitchen for making dinner, and a good breakfast included in the price. The location's also really good, close to parks and museums, and a couple of blocks from the subway. Overall, the best hostel I've stayed in in South America!

Disliked: If you're the first to take a shower in the morning, it will take a really long time for hot water to come through. But it will come!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne Jacobs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good bunk beds, very solid. Very good breakfast! Free internet. Very nice manager. New building so very clean. Rooms are big and each bed has it´s own shelf and light.

Disliked: Cold in the rooms. Staff don´t really know how to book a bus ticket for you. Took ages to get warm water in the shower! Laundry service is a bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Veerle Witte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Veerle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is just sooo nice! The first night when I arrived they organised a free dinner and they are so helpfull and friendly! You kind of feel at home here. The rooms and facilities are also perfect. The beds are so big and comfy and the bathrooms are really modern. I loved it here. I was going to stay for one night and I am still here.. probably for 4 nights. Go here!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the large dorm rooms, large kitchen, bathrooms. New hostel and furnishings so that was great. Location is really good - walked to everything I wanted to see in Santiago. Friendly staff. A chill place.

Disliked: Toilet paper a bit rough..haha.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elise Chisholm

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 April 2011 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were fantastic. Really friendly, and really helpful. We were there for their opening night BBQ which was a great opportunity to get to know the staff a little better, and also meet other travellers (which we didn't necessarily want to do at the time, but it was still good fun).

Disliked: The showers could use some work. Although they were working on them while i was there, so they may have improved. It is a brand new hostel, so there are still some glitches.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is brand new - so everything is new right now, e.g. Kitchen (really spacey, nice patio, bathrooms). They still need to figure out some things, e.g. a better breakfast and cleaning frequency, but it has lots of potential - despite that I meet a bunch of nice people there and staff was nice too. So I would go there again for sure.

Disliked: next to it was a construction site - but i got a room away from there, so i had no problems with noise.