HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Plaza de Armas Hostel Santiago

Hostel

Compaia 960 Dp. 607, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 89%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 24.08USD
  • Breakfast 2.26USD
  • Towel 3.01USD

Important Information

Please note that this property only accept guests over 18 years old.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 74%

Location 96%

Safety 89%

Staff 83%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is on the 6th floor of an old building and has a big balcony that looks over the plaza. The private rooms are spacious and this location is good for cafes or shopping

Disliked: There is often loud music playing in the plaza all afternoon but it does stop at night

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location!

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location; friendly staff; our private room was big

Disliked: Hard to find; had difficulty opening the door (we had a private room); funny smell in the building; breakfast not great

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome location, wonderful views. Large common areas.

Disliked: The hostel has, what seems to be, two double rooms, besides the dorms. The double rooms are in a corner of the property with one room (the one I booked) overlooking an adjacent patio. The patio is not private, and can be visited by anyone staying in the hostel. This means that, when staying in this room, you have no choice but to always keep the curtains drawn.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: wifi needs frequent reset. Noisy at night from the plaza below.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and views excellent.

Disliked: Breakfast not the best value. Aside from this overall good value.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: VERY GOOD

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Plaza das Armas Hostel has the BEST location if you want to know the main tourist spots of Santiago on foot. It's right next to a subway station and I think it's a safe place, but it's good to pay attention to pickpockets around the building. Besides that, there are plenty of stores nearby and also a supermarket. It's possible to make a great barbecue in the hostel overlooking The Plaza das Armas. But if you only want to enjoy Santiago night life, stay in another square, in Bellavista.I stayed with a group of 9...7 were in a shared room with good beds, space for the luggage, warm (important during winter), and the other 2 were in a double room, also an excellent room.The atmosphere was great... I met excited people at the hostel and a helpful staff. I really liked the hostel, but I had a huge problem with the showers.

Disliked: SHOWERS. Only the showers. But it's impossible to stay at Plaza das Armas if you like to take a bath everyday. The hostel is located at the seventh floor of a building, that's why the water doesn't have the strength to get in the showers, and even in sinks. The showers had one finger of water. IMPOSSIBLE TO USE.The staff let me and the other girls showering at a apartment in another floor, but if it was already occupied busy, it would be impossible to bathe.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fairly good location, although half hour walk from Bellavista where the nicer clubs and restaurants were. Good view from balcony.

Disliked: Literally the worst hostel i have stayed in, in 5 months of Latin American hostels. Very hard to find- no signs on outside of building. It's in a covered tunnel of food stalls, we wouldnt have found it if we hadn't run into a staff member ouside by chance. Light in dorm was broken. Reported this on arrival Wednesday, hadn't been fixed when we left on Saturday. Dorm pitch black. Showers have see-through panels separating them, so you can see other guests showering. Only space to dress/undress for shower is completely communal, so no privacy. Water from shower head stank of sulphur. No water at all between 1am and 6am so couldn't wash hands in bathroom. Toilet paper kept running out and wasnt replaced unless we explicitly asked. Staff utterly disinterested and rude when asking questions/reporting necessary repairs.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location. Amazing view.

Disliked: The toilets are filthy!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability