We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Plaza de Armas Hostel

Hostel | Compañía de Jesús 960, Apto. 607, Santiago, Chile 8320000

82.6% Overall Rating

285 out of 312 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Thais Silveira thinks…

"Plaza das Armas Hostel has the BEST location if you want to know the main tourist spots of Santiago on foot. It's right next to a subway station and I think it's a safe place, but it's good to pay…"

Read all Plaza de Armas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 26.64
  • Breakfast USD 2.50
  • Towel USD 3.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that this property only accept guests over 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
14.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews
casAltura Hostel
16.65 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 91 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.5% 111 reviews
Lucia Suites
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Santa Lucia Green House
18.32 USD

Guesthouse 85.9% 267 reviews
Departamentos Centro Urbano Tarapaca
21.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

285 out of 312 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Plaza de Armas Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 215 of 230 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Thais Silveira

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2014

Liked: Plaza das Armas Hostel has the BEST location if you want to know the main tourist spots of Santiago on foot. It's right next to a subway station and I think it's a safe place, but it's good to pay attention to pickpockets around the building. Besides that, there are plenty of stores nearby and also a supermarket. It's possible to make a great barbecue in the hostel overlooking The Plaza das Armas. But if you only want to enjoy Santiago night life, stay in another square, in Bellavista. I stayed with a group of 9...7 were in a shared room with good beds, space for the luggage, warm (important during winter), and the other 2 were in a double room, also an excellent room. The atmosphere was great... I met excited people at the hostel and a helpful staff. I really liked the hostel, but I had a huge problem with the showers.

Disliked: SHOWERS. Only the showers. But it's impossible to stay at Plaza das Armas if you like to take a bath everyday. The hostel is located at the seventh floor of a building, that's why the water doesn't have the strength to get in the showers, and even in sinks. The showers had one finger of water. IMPOSSIBLE TO USE. The staff let me and the other girls showering at a apartment in another floor, but if it was already occupied busy, it would be impossible to bathe.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Joanna Rook

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014

Liked: Fairly good location, although half hour walk from Bellavista where the nicer clubs and restaurants were. Good view from balcony.

Disliked: Literally the worst hostel i have stayed in, in 5 months of Latin American hostels. Very hard to find- no signs on outside of building. It's in a covered tunnel of food stalls, we wouldnt have found it if we hadn't run into a staff member ouside by chance. Light in dorm was broken. Reported this on arrival Wednesday, hadn't been fixed when we left on Saturday. Dorm pitch black. Showers have see-through panels separating them, so you can see other guests showering. Only space to dress/undress for shower is completely communal, so no privacy. Water from shower head stank of sulphur. No water at all between 1am and 6am so couldn't wash hands in bathroom. Toilet paper kept running out and wasnt replaced unless we explicitly asked. Staff utterly disinterested and rude when asking questions/reporting necessary repairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luan Fernandes

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2014 Luan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Amazing view.

Disliked: The toilets are filthy!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Geok Choo Woon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Geok Choo would recommend this property

Liked: Central and very safe. The staffs are really friendly

Disliked: Geok Choo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHAEL BARNSLEY

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2014 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: After an initial problem with my booking the staff were very friendly in helping with my time in Santiago. The location can not be bettered, the view from the balcony is great and the hostel is very safe and secure.

Disliked: MICHAEL left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very nice and the loft is pretty awesome.

Disliked: They should invest in new showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Goh Leng Oy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Goh would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect location!! Great to be able to watch and listen to the street performances in the plaza from our 6th floor balcony. Really cool! And at night, the plaza is all beautifully lit up. Just great!

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thalma Sliepen-Achterop

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2013 Thalma would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent , in the heart ow

Disliked: Excellent location. Very friendly. Easy to reach from the airport. 10 out of 10.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabian Perini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Ubicacion pleno centro

Disliked: Fabian left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fabian Perini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

13 April 2013 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Locacion

Disliked: Fabian left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Theresa Strachila

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 April 2013 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and amazing view of the Plaza de Armas--especially good because of their two large patios. There were lots of common spaces; we never felt cramped or like we had to stay in our rooms/leave. The lockers were very large and could hold a lot. We really appreciated being able to leave our bags and use the common spaces on the day of check-out. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would go back.

Disliked: While we were there, only one of the toilet's in the men's bathroom had a toilet and there was only ever one roll of toilet paper in the women's bathroom (for 2 stalls) and a similar problem with the men's. The hostel is on the 6th floor of a building with 2 very old elevators--we often had to wait a long time for the elevator or walk the stairs (fine except when we had our backpacks).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: view, nice kitchen, very helpful staff

Disliked: very noisy from the placa de armas

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah grange

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really cool building, with a great view! I loved the large communal spaces, the outdoor roof top being my favourite! The kitchen was well equipped. The toilets and showers were clean. The staff were really nice and really helpful!

Disliked: It's really hard to fault this place, the only thing that wasn't great was the atmosphere. It's not a party hostel, so if you want a sleep after a long flight, stay here!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Hon Kam Lam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Hon Kam would recommend this property

Liked: 100 year old building , p

Disliked: Facing plazaquite noise in summy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 November 2012

Liked: The location is great, the view from our room was very nice, price seems to be reasonable.

Disliked: Our (private) shower didn't work, when we asked for help, they couldn't do much about it and we had to use the dorm showers (which were two floors away from our room!). Only when we asked for it, we were offered a partial refund, but when we checked out, we had to discuss with the guy at the reception again... no great service!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maik Hesse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Maik would recommend this property

Liked: Location is unbeatable. Terrace and balcony overlooking Plaza de Armas is amazing. Close to everything too!

Disliked: Lack of spacious safety lockers for big bags. Valuables can be secured in a smaller locker though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff Always eager to help

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great patio!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. There was plenty of room in the dorms. Kitchen was satisfactorily equipped.

Disliked: Very little

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is awesome!!! what a mean location!!! Its the best hostel we stayed in Chile...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sung Min Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

29 March 2012 Sung Min would recommend this property

Liked: Large Living Room...

Disliked: Bathroom is so small...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012

Liked: The location is great and if you are a solo traveller this place is somewhat acceptable, otherwise that is it. If you don't mind people walking in and out of your rooms, bags lying everywhere (insert question about security here) and a dirty common kitchen then this place is for you.

Disliked: Our room was absolutely appalling for the price we paid. It was hot and stuffy, the bathroom was from the 70's which it probably hadn't been cleaned since then, the floors were sticky, dust everywhere, no light bulb in the lamp, no tv, the breakfast was a joke (small dry roll with a thin slice of cheese and one slice of pizza pepperoni). Someone was mopping the common area in the morning with water that smelt like last nights sick. Our room was adjoining another only to have a wooden bi-fold door separating the space with a crack big enough to see the other room. You can't even have a conversation (build a false wall for gods sake). The staff member was too busy socializing with her friends in the common area than making us feel welcome plus they had no record of our booking. My partner and I were out of there quick smart, and for an extra 20USD we are staying at a 4 star self contained apartment only a 8 minute walk away. Do your research.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eva ocenaskova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 eva would recommend this property

Liked: ALL. Its the best hostel I ever stayed. Lovely rooftop, fully equipped kitchen. Very clean. Friendly staff. Excellent location. FAbulous views over the Plaza ARmas.Its very modern, fresh-styled, excellentely furnished.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of character and in a great building with a lovely view over the square.

Disliked: Our room had no window and the Wifi didn´t work very well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location! Right above the Plaza, on top of the metro, great views at sunset. Lots of places to sit and relax. Staff were very helpful, and anything they didnt know they googled for us.

Disliked: No aircon so rooms are hot and stuffy. The bin the 2nd kitchen was not emptied in the 4 days we were there, same with the bin in our private bathroom - got a bit smelly. Empty beer cans and general rubbish left sitting in common areas for days at a time. Lots of staff on but little done to care for the hostel itself.