HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Plaza de Armas Hostel Santiago Hostel

Compaia 960 Dp. 607, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 66%

Location 94%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 78%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

Customers under 18 years old are not allowed

Property has the right to pre authorize the card. If card does not work, they will get in touch with you asking for a new one. If you fail to provide that information, the booking will be cancelled

Payments in Chilean Pesos charging IVA. We only accept American Dollars with CREDIT CARD.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 66%

Location 94%

Safety 80%

Staff 77%

Value 78%

Showing 31-40 of 42 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location was excellent. There was plenty of room in the dorms. Kitchen was satisfactorily equipped.

Disliked: Very little

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is great and if you are a solo traveller this place is somewhat acceptable, otherwise that is it. If you don't mind people walking in and out of your rooms, bags lying everywhere (insert question about security here) and a dirty common kitchen then this place is for you.

Disliked: Our room was absolutely appalling for the price we paid. It was hot and stuffy, the bathroom was from the 70's which it probably hadn't been cleaned since then, the floors were sticky, dust everywhere, no light bulb in the lamp, no tv, the breakfast was a joke (small dry roll with a thin slice of cheese and one slice of pizza pepperoni). Someone was mopping the common area in the morning with water that smelt like last nights sick. Our room was adjoining another only to have a wooden bi-fold door separating the space with a crack big enough to see the other room. You can't even have a conversation (build a false wall for gods sake). The staff member was too busy socializing with her friends in the common area than making us feel welcome plus they had no record of our booking. My partner and I were out of there quick smart, and for an extra 20USD we are staying at a 4 star self contained apartment only a 8 minute walk away. Do your research.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Plenty of character and in a great building with a lovely view over the square.

Disliked: Our room had no window and the Wifi didn´t work very well.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: ALL. Its the best hostel I ever stayed. Lovely rooftop, fully equipped kitchen. Very clean. Friendly staff. Excellent location. FAbulous views over the Plaza ARmas.Its very modern, fresh-styled, excellentely furnished.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location location location! Right above the Plaza, on top of the metro, great views at sunset. Lots of places to sit and relax. Staff were very helpful, and anything they didnt know they googled for us.

Disliked: No aircon so rooms are hot and stuffy. The bin the 2nd kitchen was not emptied in the 4 days we were there, same with the bin in our private bathroom - got a bit smelly. Empty beer cans and general rubbish left sitting in common areas for days at a time. Lots of staff on but little done to care for the hostel itself.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything was perfect

Disliked: nothing disliked

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: all!! Nice city! Nice hostel!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very friendly staff, best location ever for a hostel, good value for money, spontaneous asados and drinks on the roof terrace, great breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurt and bread,coffee-tea. gorgeous place

Disliked: only thing that could be improved is more computers, there is only one

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It´s the best hostel where I was. The staff is very helpfull

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff especially Benjamine are very kind and helpful...the manager too is always around answering questions about what to see and what to avoid.....i really enjoyed the stay , great value fopr the money.....the best in Chile so far!!it is also so centrally located....right on top of the Metro!!

Disliked: nothing!! NOTE: THERE IS NO 6-Bed Dorm...Only 8 bed-dorm...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello Priscilla,

Thanks for stay with us for your charm ans support and we hope to have you back soon.
We already fixed in our descriptions the 6 bed dorm to 8 bed dorms.

Kind regads,

Carlos.

Check Availability