We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Plaza de Armas Hostel

Hostel | Compañía de Jesús 960, Apto. 607, Santiago, Chile 8320000

82.7% Overall Rating

293 out of 322 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Thais Silveira thinks…

"Plaza das Armas Hostel has the BEST location if you want to know the main tourist spots of Santiago on foot. It's right next to a subway station and I think it's a safe place, but it's good to pay…"

Read all Plaza de Armas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.10
  • Breakfast USD 2.17
  • Towel USD 2.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that this property only accept guests over 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
15.84 USD

Hostel 100.0% 3 reviews
Santiago Backpackers
15.00 USD

Hostel 85.1% 87 reviews
casAltura Hostel
18.77 USD

Guesthouse 84.6% 93 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 116 reviews
Lucia Suites
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 27 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Santa Lucia Green House
15.88 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 269 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
13.86 USD

Hostel 90.3% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

293 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Plaza de Armas Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 220 of 240 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sung Min Kim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

29 March 2012 Sung Min would recommend this property

Liked: Large Living Room...

Disliked: Bathroom is so small...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012

Liked: The location is great and if you are a solo traveller this place is somewhat acceptable, otherwise that is it. If you don't mind people walking in and out of your rooms, bags lying everywhere (insert question about security here) and a dirty common kitchen then this place is for you.

Disliked: Our room was absolutely appalling for the price we paid. It was hot and stuffy, the bathroom was from the 70's which it probably hadn't been cleaned since then, the floors were sticky, dust everywhere, no light bulb in the lamp, no tv, the breakfast was a joke (small dry roll with a thin slice of cheese and one slice of pizza pepperoni). Someone was mopping the common area in the morning with water that smelt like last nights sick. Our room was adjoining another only to have a wooden bi-fold door separating the space with a crack big enough to see the other room. You can't even have a conversation (build a false wall for gods sake). The staff member was too busy socializing with her friends in the common area than making us feel welcome plus they had no record of our booking. My partner and I were out of there quick smart, and for an extra 20USD we are staying at a 4 star self contained apartment only a 8 minute walk away. Do your research.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

eva ocenaskova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2012 eva would recommend this property

Liked: ALL. Its the best hostel I ever stayed. Lovely rooftop, fully equipped kitchen. Very clean. Friendly staff. Excellent location. FAbulous views over the Plaza ARmas.Its very modern, fresh-styled, excellentely furnished.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of character and in a great building with a lovely view over the square.

Disliked: Our room had no window and the Wifi didn´t work very well.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location! Right above the Plaza, on top of the metro, great views at sunset. Lots of places to sit and relax. Staff were very helpful, and anything they didnt know they googled for us.

Disliked: No aircon so rooms are hot and stuffy. The bin the 2nd kitchen was not emptied in the 4 days we were there, same with the bin in our private bathroom - got a bit smelly. Empty beer cans and general rubbish left sitting in common areas for days at a time. Lots of staff on but little done to care for the hostel itself.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

youngnam kim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 youngnam would recommend this property

Liked: all!! Nice city! Nice hostel!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect

Disliked: nothing disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s the best hostel where I was. The staff is very helpfull

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, best location ever for a hostel, good value for money, spontaneous asados and drinks on the roof terrace, great breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurt and bread,coffee-tea. gorgeous place

Disliked: only thing that could be improved is more computers, there is only one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

priscilla chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: the staff especially Benjamine are very kind and helpful...the manager too is always around answering questions about what to see and what to avoid..... i really enjoyed the stay , great value fopr the money.....the best in Chile so far!! it is also so centrally located....right on top of the Metro!!

Disliked: nothing!! NOTE: THERE IS NO 6-Bed Dorm...Only 8 bed-dorm...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Karla Alves de Medeiros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Ana Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aline Fernandes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: I simply LOVED this hostel. Very clean, modern, with the best location ever (simply in front of Plaza de Armas). Great to get to meet new people and clean, clean, clean. Staff was veeeery helpful.

Disliked: We stayed in a private ensuite with bathroom water leaking, but no biggie. The building is antique and well preserved though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had I great time, its a very nice hostel, with a nice view over the plaza de armas, located in a former hotel building.

Disliked: every thing was fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mike O´Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in the Plaza De Armas on the top floor of an old building. The main draw is the superb view of the PDA from the balcony. The hostel is pricey, but the same can be said for many of the decent hostels in northern Chile. The dorms are modern and clean. Bathrooms and common areas are cleaned often. Kitchen is modern and well stocked. There are a couple of supermarkets near the hostel, and as it's situated near the main shopping areas there are loads of places to eat nearby.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raphael Passos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the place and location. Facilities and services where good too.

Disliked: The room was in another floor, kind of isolated from other people and my bed had some bugs during the night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great view, free wifi, free breakfast, nice staff

Disliked: quite hard to find from the street - its inside an apartment block on the 6th floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a privat room with direct view onto Plaza de Armas. Great!!! Friendly staff.

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2011

Liked: Location, view

Disliked: BED BUGS! I would definatly NOT suggest staying here. We had bed bugs, and after the first night, when the told the staff, the manager insisted that we did not have them. (even though you can see them in the wood with the naked eye, and I was covered in bites) We got moved from a private room to a dorm late on the 2nd night, and the only refund they would give us in the morning was the difference in price for the second night. I think we should have gotten the 2nd night free, as we have had to get all our backpacks and clothes cleaned.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: an astonishing and brilliant location (like a glamorous Gotham city overlooking the Plaza de Armas), spacious common areas: halls, patios & living spaces, quiet, breezy and very relaxing (including the type of travellers who seek such a refuge in the midst of the city) a splendid hostel, well worth the money (and searching: see below)

Disliked: SIGNPOSTING is minimal and DIRECTIONS by locals are useless/ contradictory: ridiculously hard to find (look for the building with fast food stalls on the first floor, across the plaza from the post office) STAFF are great: friendly and very helpful, so it´s a pity that they can´t chat or even have a drink with us travellers on site (e.g. after their shift) BREAKFAST is that bland white Chilean bread and instant coffee...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adrian richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 adrian would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful location over looking the plaza. Really nice staff as well..

Disliked: Not much..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location. Never seen such a great location anywhere in this world

Disliked: The showers were very small with no place to hang anything. The rooms were not actually rooms but more like office cabins with 2 walls, 1 side with a door and another with curtains. People could easily go in and out of the curtains so I would not call it the safest possible arrangement

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nimpa Gueco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Nimpa would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly...great location, right in the center...and i would highly recommend it.

Disliked: wished our room had a little more ventilation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Plaza de Armas Hostel for four days. It was cool! Probably the best hostel we stayed in in South America. The place is made to make you mix with other people from all over the world, so the staying becomes fun fun fun! The staff is wonderful, especially Eddie. Thank you very much guys!

Disliked: Some beds are in a middle rooms, so there are people walking through your room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

La Rocca Gaetano

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 La Rocca would recommend this property

Liked: LOcation

Disliked: They apply a exchange rate very bad for USD.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, atmosphere, location and cleanliness was perfect, the staff friendly and helfful, absolut amazing view from the balkons. 100 % recommended!!!

Disliked: I liked everything... :)