HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Plaza de Armas Hostel

Hostel | Compañía de Jesús 960, Apto. 607, Santiago, Chile 8320000

85.9% Overall Rating

282 out of 307 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2014)

MICHAEL BARNSLEY thinks…

"After an initial problem with my booking the staff were very friendly in helping with my time in Santiago. The location can not be bettered, the view from the balcony is great and the hostel is very…"

Read all Plaza de Armas Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.70
  • Breakfast USD 2.69
  • Towel USD 3.59

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that this property only accept guests over 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews
casAltura Hostel
13.45 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 86 reviews
VO SUITES
26.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.7% 103 reviews
Lucia Suites
16.14 USD

Guesthouse 83.6% 24 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 12 reviews
Santa Lucia Green House
17.94 USD

Guesthouse 86.1% 266 reviews
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
16.00 USD

Hostel 89.8% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

282 out of 307 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Plaza de Armas Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 212 of 225 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, best location ever for a hostel, good value for money, spontaneous asados and drinks on the roof terrace, great breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghurt and bread,coffee-tea. gorgeous place

Disliked: only thing that could be improved is more computers, there is only one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

priscilla chong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: the staff especially Benjamine are very kind and helpful...the manager too is always around answering questions about what to see and what to avoid..... i really enjoyed the stay , great value fopr the money.....the best in Chile so far!! it is also so centrally located....right on top of the Metro!!

Disliked: nothing!! NOTE: THERE IS NO 6-Bed Dorm...Only 8 bed-dorm...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Karla Alves de Medeiros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Ana Karla would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aline Fernandes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: I simply LOVED this hostel. Very clean, modern, with the best location ever (simply in front of Plaza de Armas). Great to get to meet new people and clean, clean, clean. Staff was veeeery helpful.

Disliked: We stayed in a private ensuite with bathroom water leaking, but no biggie. The building is antique and well preserved though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had I great time, its a very nice hostel, with a nice view over the plaza de armas, located in a former hotel building.

Disliked: every thing was fine.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mike O´Neill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Situated in the Plaza De Armas on the top floor of an old building. The main draw is the superb view of the PDA from the balcony. The hostel is pricey, but the same can be said for many of the decent hostels in northern Chile. The dorms are modern and clean. Bathrooms and common areas are cleaned often. Kitchen is modern and well stocked. There are a couple of supermarkets near the hostel, and as it's situated near the main shopping areas there are loads of places to eat nearby.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Raphael Passos

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2011 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the place and location. Facilities and services where good too.

Disliked: The room was in another floor, kind of isolated from other people and my bed had some bugs during the night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great view, free wifi, free breakfast, nice staff

Disliked: quite hard to find from the street - its inside an apartment block on the 6th floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a privat room with direct view onto Plaza de Armas. Great!!! Friendly staff.

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2011

Liked: Location, view

Disliked: BED BUGS! I would definatly NOT suggest staying here. We had bed bugs, and after the first night, when the told the staff, the manager insisted that we did not have them. (even though you can see them in the wood with the naked eye, and I was covered in bites) We got moved from a private room to a dorm late on the 2nd night, and the only refund they would give us in the morning was the difference in price for the second night. I think we should have gotten the 2nd night free, as we have had to get all our backpacks and clothes cleaned.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: an astonishing and brilliant location (like a glamorous Gotham city overlooking the Plaza de Armas), spacious common areas: halls, patios & living spaces, quiet, breezy and very relaxing (including the type of travellers who seek such a refuge in the midst of the city) a splendid hostel, well worth the money (and searching: see below)

Disliked: SIGNPOSTING is minimal and DIRECTIONS by locals are useless/ contradictory: ridiculously hard to find (look for the building with fast food stalls on the first floor, across the plaza from the post office) STAFF are great: friendly and very helpful, so it´s a pity that they can´t chat or even have a drink with us travellers on site (e.g. after their shift) BREAKFAST is that bland white Chilean bread and instant coffee...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adrian richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 adrian would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful location over looking the plaza. Really nice staff as well..

Disliked: Not much..

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location location location. Never seen such a great location anywhere in this world

Disliked: The showers were very small with no place to hang anything. The rooms were not actually rooms but more like office cabins with 2 walls, 1 side with a door and another with curtains. People could easily go in and out of the curtains so I would not call it the safest possible arrangement

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nimpa Gueco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Nimpa would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very friendly...great location, right in the center...and i would highly recommend it.

Disliked: wished our room had a little more ventilation.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Plaza de Armas Hostel for four days. It was cool! Probably the best hostel we stayed in in South America. The place is made to make you mix with other people from all over the world, so the staying becomes fun fun fun! The staff is wonderful, especially Eddie. Thank you very much guys!

Disliked: Some beds are in a middle rooms, so there are people walking through your room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

La Rocca Gaetano

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 La Rocca would recommend this property

Liked: LOcation

Disliked: They apply a exchange rate very bad for USD.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, atmosphere, location and cleanliness was perfect, the staff friendly and helfful, absolut amazing view from the balkons. 100 % recommended!!!

Disliked: I liked everything... :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helped us with all our requests.

Disliked: Room was small, old and smelled bad. The bed was really uncomfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hugo Neto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Good value for money!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering
Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place, the staff

Disliked: an error of price on the website

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything I have mentioned

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the position right on the Plaza de

Disliked: Breakfast was not very healthy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Weidert

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 September 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: service was great, problems were resolved asap

Disliked: its in an old apartment building, and if you have a private room you are on a different floor from the office. some of the other people who live in the building are kinda sketchy but there are like 4 locks on every door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010

Liked: staff were so very happy and helpful the location is wonderful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very clean, brilliant beds, lovely breakfast, very informative in terms of activites, beautiful location and views over Plaza de Armas, clean Kitchen, we had 2 free BBQ in one week, great atmosphere and last but not least: The STAFF (incl. cleaners Lupe and Breakfast lady Alicia) were amazing, friendly, helpful and more than anything happy. Also a very very special thanks to the 2 gorgeous Receptionists Tamara and Marisel who made our stay very special! THANK YOU!

Disliked: Nada