We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Moai Viajero Hostel

Hostel | Calle Toesca 2335, Barrio Republica., Santiago, Chile 00

82.5% Overall Rating

49 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/02/2014)

"The best of 3 hostels I stayed at in Santiago.The staff are helpful and friendly.Rooms are available and spacious."

Read all Moai Viajero Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Landay Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 89.3% 127 reviews
The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 82.3% 128 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 94.2% 398 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
19.98 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
15.82 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hotel Sahara Inn
19.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
La Casa Roja
10.82 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

49 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Moai Viajero Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best of 3 hostels I stayed at in Santiago.The staff are helpful and friendly.Rooms are available and spacious.

Disliked: No negative comments.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charles Escudero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Charles would recommend this property

Liked: best breakfast ever!!! best wifi!!! best staff!!

Disliked: worst pisco sour made by sebastian lol!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012

Liked: We only stayed at the hostel for one night and left early so cannot comment on breakfast or facilities. The hostel was spacious and has a cool lounge area for relaxing, the staff helped with ordering an early taxi for us to the airport.

Disliked: The bathroom although clean is extremely dated and the garden was a complete mess (airport style chairs). My mattress was too firm and bed sheets uncomfortable to sleep in.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2012

Liked: Place is a bit of run-down, so it might look unhygienic but seems to get cleaned more or less every day, People are nice.

Disliked: Around Afternoon it gets noisy and stays like this till the night. Doubleroom is a really basic construction through which you can hear everything. Breakfast cant get more basic.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Location is not that chearfull.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 November 2012

Liked: Leaving.

Disliked: - Hygiene was non existant. - No fire safety. - Permanent residents show no respect to travellers - There are no rules ? - Poor hot water - Poor breakfast - No credit cards (funny that ?) - No cash receipts issued - Poor 'management'

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Walking distance center

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rene Krueger

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012

Liked: Die beiden Mitarbeiter, die wir antrafen, waren sehr hilfsbereit, verstaendnisvoll und tiefenentspannt - dafuer gibt es auch die verdiente Bestnote. Ebenfalls sehr gut ist die Lage, keine zwanzig Fussminuten vom Hauptbahnhof/ Busterminal entfernt. Das Moai ist ein ausgesprochenes Partyhostel. Sicherlich gibt es viele Reisende, die diesen Umstand zu schaetzen wissen :o)

Disliked: KALT - Die Zimmer sind unbeheizt und da wir im Santiagoer Winter krank von einem verschneiten Andenpass kletterten, verliessen wir das kuehle Hostel nach nur einer Nacht wieder (fairer Weise moechte ich anmerken, dass anscheinend kaum ein Hostel in der Stadt beheizte Zimmer hat?!). CHAOTISCH 1 - Als wir bei unserer Ankunft klingelten, oeffnete ein Gast die Eingangstuer. Der Rezeptionist verfolgte mit Gaesten aufgeregt ein Fussballspiel und es stoerte auch niemanden, dass wir auf einmal im Haus herumspazierten und jemanden fuer den Checkin suchten. Grosser Sicherheitsmangel, denn die Tuer wurde noch ein paar Mal oefters von Gaesten geoffnet... CHAOTISCH 2 - Unser 7er Dorm hatte eigentlich nur einen Schlafgast, aber der hatte sich und seine Schmutzwaesche auf fuenf Betten ausgebreitet. Auch drei Spinde waren mit schmutziger Waesche belegt, auf der Couch lag ein Plastikbeutel mit gammligen Hackfleisch. In erster Linie ist es eine Sauerei des Gastes, aber es waere auch Sache des Personals, solche Umstaende zu unterbinden und neuen Gaesten das Gefuehl des Unwillkommenseins zu ersparen. FLOEHE - wir beide wachten mit roten juckenden Pickeln auf, ich am Bein, meine Freundin an Schultern und Nacken . Flohbisse! Die Wolldecken ueber der Sommerdecke sollte man unbedingt meiden (oder sie waschen lassen). Fazit: Fuer mich die falsche Unterkunft, aber wer sich gern warmfeiert und Schlaf durch Bier ersetzen kann, ist hier gut aufgehoben.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Maciej Swiatczak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012

Liked: good location, halfway between bus terminals and the centre, big bright rooms.

Disliked: Messy, run down and they lost my luggage deposit. Nobody had and idea what happened to it and nobady took responsibility. They do not have a storage room and they stick the luggage that people leave here and there among some rubbish in the messy basement. Please, do not deposit anything there even if they offer this and say it's secure.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Fabiana Bazzano Marrero

Alone

Events / festivals

04 April 2012 Maria Fabiana would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ubicación, en especial si van al Lollapalooza. Muy buena atención.

Disliked: Nada

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and helpful staff.! Breakfast is good, and location not so bad allthough it takes like 25 minuts to walk to the center!

Disliked: Breakfast starts at 08.30 which is too late! They garden is a cozy and Nice place but it is really dirty! The tables does not get cleaned and there is ashes from cigarettes floating ón the tables every Day. The place needs a cleaning lady !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best stuff ever!! buena onda!! besides that really big rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast (eggs, bread, fruits) always served with a smile <3 good common areas! hostel is very close to everthing, you can walk, take the bus or metro! i booked 2, stayed 8 nights!

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

psyche law

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2012 psyche would recommend this property

Liked: it is pretty , chalet feel. the backdrop of the garden is the snowcapped volcano smoking into the azure sky.

Disliked: not much information about how to visit around pucon.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gareth Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff and the hostel had great atmosphere. Yum breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Nothing really!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Gary Pilkinton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, plenty of things to do and a nice atmosphere

Disliked: The bathrooms need a really good clean and are the only thing that brings the rating of this property down a bit for me. Rooms were a bit dark but were very spacious so not really a deal breaker.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common space, staff are awesome, dorms spacious with lots of light

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011

Liked: All the rooms are big: the dorms, the kitchen, the livingrooms. The staff is laidback.

Disliked: There´s no heater in any of the rooms, so it´s really cold! Even with 4 blankets... The bathrooms don´t have warm water 24/7, so you have to be lucky. They are cleaned only with a broom. The kitchen was out of gas and the staff-member knew about this, but helped us find pans and after we prepared all our food we found out about this ourselfs, then he mentioned it. The hostel is far from the center and (to) far (to walk) from the busstation(s). The dorms have wooden floors, which is very noisy and the top part of the walls between dorms is glass, which lets through light from the next room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and so friendly. The atmosphere in this hostel is open and we felt very welcome.

Disliked: It was very cold and the only heater was in the living room. So i think when you come during the sommertime it will be better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucia Vink

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2011 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Well... When I turned up, one of the first things I was asked was ¨Do you like Salmon? Wanna have lunch with us?¨ Best first impression ever! (Good lunch too :p ) And almost, but didn´t end with stealing Sebastian´s car and racing down to the bus station in the rain with Danny and Guillermo, an hour and a half before my bus left, to change the ticket :) It took a little white lye and a lot of running, but it meant I could stay longer! (I still owe Danny for doing that). Yeah, so amazing hostel! Or, no, more like a friends house where you dont have to clean and get made an awesome breakfast every day (including eggs, a full fruit salad with yoghurt and of course the regulars too... coffee, tea, bread, butter etc. ) Mint! Wicked atmosphere, awesome staff, amazing barbeques. Also huge well equiped kitchen, cool courtyard, and huge comfy couches in the lounge for hangover movie days (Oh, and of course Coneja and Pepe rock). Thanks heaps guys! I´ll see you when I make it back to Santiago :)

Disliked: Well.... tehe, nope. Nothing was disliked. Amazing hostel/home.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joao Souza

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 July 2011 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very friendly

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Phillips

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, who helped me with my Spanish and took me to parties with them!

Disliked: Nothing at all. Perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, nice living room, fast internet and free

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big living room, very good and big breakfast. We stayed only one night, but they let us use the kitchen, bathroom, pc´s and all other facilities till late the evening after check-out.

Disliked: ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maeva Chouzy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Maeva would recommend this property

Liked: this backpaker hostel is one of the best ever .the staff is awsome, wlecome you and care of you so good people . The equipement is just amaising just enjoying my few stays

Disliked: nothing evrything is great

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful & friendly staff with good Internet connection. Close to universities and student social scene

Disliked: shared bathrooms got very grubby