We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Moai Viajero Hostel

Hostel | Calle Toesca 2335, Barrio Republica., Santiago, Chile 00

82.5% Overall Rating

49 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/02/2014)

"The best of 3 hostels I stayed at in Santiago.The staff are helpful and friendly.Rooms are available and spacious."

Read all Moai Viajero Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Landay Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 89.3% 127 reviews
The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 82.4% 129 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 399 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
19.98 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
15.82 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hotel Sahara Inn
19.15 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
La Casa Roja
14.99 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

49 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Moai Viajero Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 57 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and the breakfast was amazing!!!

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't very clean

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good for hostel standards, fruit salad, yogurt and ceral mix plus egg and bread. Tea and coffee too.

Disliked: Bathroom on top floor is neglected & dirty (the whole hostel could use a good scrubbing everywhere). The hot water system does not work properly and the shower head need to be thrown out. The kitchen is poky and you need to wash the cookware before using (which is usually the guests fault, not the hostels)...The bed was quite comfortable but the bed linen was really really old and the blanket provided was thin and not very warm.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we liked the free breakfast, the big comfortable sitting room, the courtyard, free wifi and funky decor downstairs. big windows made the rooms nice and bright. also there was a cool dog and rabbit! we were also allowed to store our luggage for free til the evening time when we were leaving.

Disliked: one of the showerheads needed to be fixed, it wouldnt attatch to the wall. there wasnt lockers in our dorm (although there were in others) but we did have smaller lockers out in the hall which we could keep our valuables.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of the staff

Disliked: a minimum would be someone that comes to make your bed and someone who come to clean the bathroom more often...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Wise

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 April 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: everything! great energy and people

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011

Liked: The owners are really friendly and helpful people.

Disliked: No washing machine. Very loud and the bathroom was not very clean.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great places to hang out, video game room, TV room, nice patio...one of the best places I stayed in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is the best you will get in south america! A nice layout and homely feel.

Disliked: The location is not ideal. Would be nicer if it was nearer to bellivista.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pimi Merhar

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing

26 February 2011 Pimi would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast, best staff ever. 100%recomended

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rabbit is so cute, and the area is really interesting full of old buildings.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rickard Eriksson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2011 Rickard would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property with good backyard!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Casstevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME BREAKFAST!!! NICE PEOPLE, BEST STAFF. THANKS GUYS...

Disliked: NOTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Luque

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, friendly stuff, beside a police station,quiet street,very clean

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hans-Juergen Zemke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2011 Hans-Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Friedlyness of staff. The owner Sebastian cannot be topped, he is great! The atmosphere is relaxed, you feel well there. Best breakfast I ever had on tour! When I came back some days after my stay I needed an emergency flight home. The staff helped selflessly and made it possible for me to fly home at the same day, it was great, thank you all!

Disliked: The beds in dorms: distance between lower and upper bed too short. Bed linen slip on mattress. Breakfast late: after 8:30 am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Naggi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2010 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The place is great. Huge living rooms, kitchen and patio, really nice set-up. I booked 3 nights but ended up staying a week, watching movies, playing video games and also had a couple of bbq's which were awesome. Highly recommend Moai.

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

19 December 2010

Liked: One member of staff was incredibly helpful and went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Mendoza. Fresh figs from the tree in the yard was lovely too.

Disliked: Our booking was done incorrectly so instead of a double room we ended up with a twin. The owner was quite abrupt and the hostel is a long way from the central part of Mendoza.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gareth Pearson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2010 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, amazing lounge rooms and DVD collection. Really nice building and the staff are very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nada

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were VERY nice and helpful!

Disliked: a bit far from town

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome -they were friendly, happy to help in anyway and made my stay comfortable.The place was clean and well looked after.I met some great people there.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julieta Bernard

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 Julieta would recommend this property

Liked: A LOT OF COMMON AREAS!!!

Disliked: THERE WAS NO LAUNDRY SERVICE

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place to stay, the guys who run the hostel are really friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tim Bazza

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 November 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, I really liked the massive living room and all the common areas. Good dvd collection also.

Disliked: One of the bathrooms had a fresh paint smell.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne kester

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in this hostel two nights, and really enjoyed it. The hostel has just opened so everything is new (ie new mattresses, very comfy) and clean. They had a party one of the nights with cheap drinks in the bar and there were locals there as well which was cool. The streets are lined with massive old mansions which is really interesting.

Disliked: The only thing I could say here is the hostel is a little far from downtown but its a nice walk (about 20 mins) anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Szost

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: great place!!!

Disliked: Sofia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Hoyt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. and there is a bar. the architecture in republica neighborhood is amazing.

Disliked: was a bit cold.