We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Landay Hostel

Hostel | Erasmo Escala #2012, Santiago, Chile 00000

87.5% Overall Rating

123 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

"Location is great, the staff is very helpful, they even made a breakfast for me at 5 am as I had to catch an early flight!"

Read all Landay Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

HI - Santiago de Chile
15.82 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Happy House Hostel
19.98 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 94.4% 399 reviews
La Casa Roja
13.32 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.66 USD

Hostel 82.4% 129 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
10.82 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
29.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

123 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Landay Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 127 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katren Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014 Katren would recommend this property

Liked: HOT SHOWERS, good breakfast, good beds, central location near Los Heroes metro

Disliked: Atmosphere is a little cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, the staff is very helpful, they even made a breakfast for me at 5 am as I had to catch an early flight!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel McFaul

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in quiet neighbourhood near good bars and ten minutes walk from centre.

Disliked: Can't use the kitchen between 5pm and midnight as the hostel runs a cafe in the evenings. You can use a small electric stove at that time though.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: little bit outside centre of city

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Muito bom o lugar, embora meio longe para ir caminhando do centro, e dificil de noite. Aquela parte parece vazia, mas bastante segura ainda assim.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice rooms.

Disliked: You cannot use kitchen after 5pm. Next to my room they were watching TV very late at night and early in the morning, so was very nosiy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine bannister

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro stations and a nice restaurant area. Also perfect for getting centropuerto to the airport. Our triple room was huge-all within 5 minute walk. All the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It didn't feel overly social. A fan in our room would have been nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gawein Faes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 December 2013 Gawein would recommend this property

Liked: This was an excellent hostel with a great atmosphere. There were so many interesting people staying there.

Disliked: If there were a lot of people having breakfast you had to cue for the toaster, but that is really a minor detail.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bentley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Great staff, comfy beds, beautiful house. Showers were ACE... some of the best we've had in South America. Loved it so much we came back.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: when i arrived late in the evening, i said to the girl at the reception that i probebly would stay more than one night, and she said it was okey and that i could tell here the next day. the next day it was another girl there, and when i said i will stay one more night,she said it was all full. Why do they say so different? I was very supriced and had to hurry to find another hostel for the night. :( She did not want to help me call another hostel to check if they had room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great cosy hostel with plenty of character. Plenty of social areas including a tv room and a bar. Dorms have en suite bathrooms with great shower. Lockers are provided and the front door is always locked. I felt very safe here. Everything is cleaned daily. Wifi is good in all areas. Breakfast is basic but good enough consisting of toast, butter, jams, cornflakes/chocos, milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juice. This hostel has plenty of character and is easy to make friends. The owner is English and is friendly and helpful with much experience. Good location near to all the sites, supermarket and places to eat/drink.

Disliked: The hostel is a little cold but I was provided with an extra blanket and electric heater so it wasn't even that bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly welcome from the owner, the hostel is set in a gorgeous building which is in great condition and very clean. Dorm beds were large and very comfortable. Great space downstairs for relaxing and socializing. Good location near Los Heroes.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location has a very special atmosphere. A bit too dark for my opinion.

Disliked: Very poor breakfast; very little kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel in a very beautiful building. Really well looked after and warm, clean, interior that was a delight to hang out in. Probably the nicest place I've stayed. The staff, Mark, was very helpful - great at giving local tips and plenty of advice.

Disliked: Nothing it was great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: Bathrooms that aren't connected to the rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Remigiusz Siwiec

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Remigiusz would recommend this property

Liked: I can honestly recommend this hostel to stay. Everything is brilliant, than you should stay here during your traveling in Santiago!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice house

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, clean hostel. Good breakfast, great communal areas. Very helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely spacious and clean! Staff was more than friendly and helpful and breakfast is really nice as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013

Liked: The house itself is cool, our dorm was fine with lockers and the breakfast good. Located a bit far from the centre, but within a (longish) walking distance from bus stations.

Disliked: Probably a good place for partying, but wouldn't recommend for travellers. People hang out drinking and smoking on the patio under the dorm windows until 1AM (according to other visitors, this is an every-day habit). At this hour, the receptionist came insistently knocking to our room, asking if we would like to join the crowd or if he should tell them to leave for a bar - after which they moved from the patio to inside the hostel, reducing the noise only marginally. Bring your earplugs, and don't expect a full night's sleep. Also, rooms are hot if and when you want to close the window against the noise. Visitors are also literally locked inside the house - you have to ask the receptionist to open a gate with electric lock every time you want to go out. Fire-unsafety in the extreme.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

André Strom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2013

Liked: Location was good, easy to find and close to public transportation! the neighborhood might be a little bit intimating though...

Disliked: BEDBUGS!! the first room they put me in was full of bedbugs, not just in one bed but in all of them!! When we tooled the staff about it they moved us to another room witch all-sow was infested... The explanation they gave us was "the guy who put you in the room has only been working here for one or two weeks so he didn't know"

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great bathrooms. Stayed in a single that was rather good. Nice building. Staff was very helpful and spoke English well.

Disliked: Aside from the normal breakfast complaints, I didn't really meet anyone in the common areas the one night I stayed. Everyone tended to keep to themselves. Not sure if that is normal or not.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast and helpful staff

Disliked: the 6 person dorm is right by the reception and common area which is disturbing if you're trying to sleep. You also hear the loud bell which is pretty annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Tolmachev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Overall atmosphere, its like at home.

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lorna Flod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a lovely old building (a bit like a castle). The location is good for Barrio Brasil, the rooms are nicely decorated and the twin I booked was a good size. There's also a TV room with a big plasma where you can relax.

Disliked: The staff just don't seem to be too in tune with travellers needs, they're not particularly enthusiastic or forthcoming with information and advice. They don't offer a laundry service and didn't service the room when they were scheduled to which was really disappointing. The shower goes hot and cold and on the top floor has really low water pressure ... and there's no hooks, or surfaces in the bathroom to put anything. Breakfast is average. I've stayed in three Hostels in Santiago and this was the most expensive, furtherst out, offering the least services with the least helpful staff.

The property's response is...