HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Landay Hostel Santiago

Hostel

Erasmo Escala #2012, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 22.66USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 78%

Location 90%

Safety 86%

Staff 87%

Value 80%

Showing 31-23 of 23 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff Cleaness. Safe and secure

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We are very happy to hear about the positive experience you had at our place. We certainly look forward to see you again in Santiago!

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is located in a lovely old building (a bit like a castle). The location is good for Barrio Brasil, the rooms are nicely decorated and the twin I booked was a good size. There's also a TV room with a big plasma where you can relax.

Disliked: The staff just don't seem to be too in tune with travellers needs, they're not particularly enthusiastic or forthcoming with information and advice. They don't offer a laundry service and didn't service the room when they were scheduled to which was really disappointing. The shower goes hot and cold and on the top floor has really low water pressure ... and there's no hooks, or surfaces in the bathroom to put anything. Breakfast is average. I've stayed in three Hostels in Santiago and this was the most expensive, furtherst out, offering the least services with the least helpful staff.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comment and will work on it to improve for our goal is to provide the best service possible.

Kind regards,
Landay Barceló Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's spotlessly clean, and the staff are lovely. The building is an incredible old place through a tiny door into this stain glass windowed, dark wood staircases property. Istayed after a long flight and bizarre time difference from new Zealand. It's perfect, quiet and clean. very comfortable beds and lovely showers. Security is high which is great for a new person in south America. Lockers for luggage in the room, and locked gate entrance. if your looking for partying this is not the place, but for a chilled out relaxing place it's perfect. Good free breakfast and super fast, constant free wifi.

Disliked: A little hard for the shuttle to find, but we did in the end!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We are delighted with your satisfaction!

We do remind you that bohemian neighborhoods like Barrio Brasil and Barrio Bellavista are nearby, only a few footsteps away from our us!

Shuttles to the airport (Centropuerto) are located at the subway station Los Heroes, the closest station from our hostel (at Avenida Libertador B. O'Higgins or, as locals call it, Alameda, Santiago's main avenue).

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean and quiet, and the beds were quite large.The staff was also very helpful. Also, it is within three blocks to the metro, so that's nice as well.

Disliked: The hostel was practically empty. I wish it had more people because I didn't really meet anyone there, and it got a little lonely. Also, the breakfasts were lacking, just some plain white sandwich bread, butter, and jam. Next time, I would stay in Bellavista instead of near the center because the Barrio Bellavista had a better feel.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments and will keep working to offer the best service!

Our breakfast is under constant improvement. We currently offer, besides what you mentioned, cereals, local products like dulce de leche and other dairy products.

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it´s probably one of the best hostels i´ve ever stayed at. bedroom was so big and so clean, breakfast was great, people were nice and the price was very good.

Disliked: my bedroom was really noisy at night, since it was close to the common areas. loud music, laughing and talking really late at night. it wasn´t a big problem for me, cause i usually don´t mind sleeping in noisy places, but it coud be a problem for people who can´t sleep without silence.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Your comments are very precious for us. We are happy to hear that you had a great time at Landay Barceló!

We are the luckiest hostel in Santiago because we only get the best guests! Sometimes people get a biy excited (specially when throwing parties or BBQ's) and eventually more quiet (read the comment above!). You can be sure of one thing: we will always work to create the best environment for our guests!

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely place with very nice staff. Clean, great location. Highly recommended in general.

Disliked: Nothing,

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Happy to know that you had a good time at our hostel!

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: A warm welcome when I arrived at 11 pm and a comfy bed waiting.. nice!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your comments! We are very happy to know that you got what every traveller deserves: good service and a cosy room!

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and tidy, staff were very helpful and friendly, very good large lockers and breakfast was good

Disliked: music stays on most of the night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest,

We are delighted to know that you had a good time!

Concerning the music on all night, you meant at the courtyard or inside the hostel?

Best regards,
Landay Barceló Team

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The house was absolutely beautiful and the staff, very helpful.

Disliked: Would have prefered if the twin room had a real window instead of a window onto the hallway, or at least if the room was advertised as not having a window.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location has a very special atmosphere. A bit too dark for my opinion.

Disliked: Very poor breakfast; very little kitchen.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability