HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Nuevo Horizonte Hostel Guesthouse

Avenida Brasil 723, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 71%

Location 83%

Safety 75%

Staff 81%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 71%

Location 83%

Safety 75%

Staff 81%

Value 84%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Nice colours.

Disliked: Bad mattresses.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and flexible staff, location is good, there was warm water in the showers, easy to contact hostel, good wifi, functional kitchen and room was decent-sized.

Disliked: Not enough power plugs and no lockers in the room, the house needs a little restoration.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great for a single night stay before a flight.

Disliked: No hot water

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice hostel, very friendly employmends. clean and safe! i can recommend

Disliked: nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was one of the cheapest places on here and good value! Free internet too! Even though the lady doesn't speak English she is extremely helpful and very welcoming :) Oh and the beds are amazing, love a good quilt!

Disliked: There is no sign for the hostel so we were wandering around for a while, might be nice if they popped one up! (It's next to a ropey corner shop)!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff is very firendly and herlpful (but only in spanish).The hostel has a really nice athmosphere.

Disliked: The showers had often only cold water, if there was water at all.The staff speaks only spanish. The keys for the frontdoor don't work that good anymore. I changed the keys, but still had problems to unlock the door which is not fun in the middle of the night. Other guests had the same problem.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice neighbourhood and location of the hostel is very close to the metro station. Kitchen is very efficient. Cozy common area and awesome little cute dog. Staff is very helpful. They give keys so that you never get locked out late at night. Beds are comfortable, computer is fast and accessible, good wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing really..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This place is everything a South American hostel should be.Myself and brother loved the facilities especially the free fast internet and free tea and coffee. An Englishman called Mark is currently helping run the place and makes eveyone feel at home and welcome and the kitchen facilities are good.We met nice people and the location is perfect for metro and walk into town.This place may not suit eveyone but we loved the rustic feel and atmosphere here and for the price its great value

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I really wanted to like this hostel, but unfortunately my experience was not a happy one. Firstly, the good points because there were some... The location is good - Barrio Brasil is cool with some nice bars and with a small sushi cafe located on the plaza. The kitchen is well equipped and clean.

Disliked: The bad points... I really wished I had read the reviews recently posted on hostelworld... The showers were ok, but could do with a proper spring clean. The ceilings in the showers were dirty with damp fungi type molluscs growing. Had to use the men's showers as the gas heaters were being temperamental in the women's. The 8 bed dorm was a decent size... There were no proper lockers but a chest of drawers with locks on which was fine. However, after the second night I found that my arms and shoulders had been bitten by bed bugs. Speaking to others staying in the room they had also been bitten. Having looked on hostelworld other people had been bitten recently. And on proper inspection of the sheets it was clear they had not been changed between guests. Furthermore during our stay the WiFi nor internet connection was not working. The hostel is amongst the cheapest, so maybe you cannot expect much better... But bed bugs I was not banking on!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Evelyn is very friendly, flexible and goes out of her way to make sure everyone is happy. Her laid back demeanor really helps; she is not overly intrusive, and most everyone respects the "house rules" of keeping things clean and uncluttered in the community areas. A community atmosphere is well maintained here.

Disliked: It's about a 10 minute walk from the closest metro station, so if you have loads of pounds to carry, it wouldn't be your first choice. Also, there are storage lockers, but they are relatively small and you need to buy your own lock, so if you are overly protective of your large suitcase, for example, I also wouldn't recommend it. However, I felt secure about my belongings, and got to know my "roommates" right away, and no negative incidents occurred. Also, no credit cards or Redcompra, so make sure you have "luca"!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability