HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Nuevo Horizonte Hostel

Hostel | Avenida Brasil 723, Santiago, Chile 8340229

77.5% Overall Rating

28 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2013)

Michelle Riley thinks…

"It was one of the cheapest places on here and good value! Free internet too! Even though the lady doesn't speak English she is extremely helpful and very welcoming :) Oh and the beds are amazing,…"

Read all Nuevo Horizonte Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

hostel monte leon
9.37 USD

Hostel 67.3% 9 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
11.92 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
30.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Casa Roja
11.07 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
16.18 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Happy House Hostel
20.43 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
Don Santiago Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 96.1% 397 reviews
The Princesa Insolente Hostel
11.07 USD

Hostel 85.1% 126 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.5%

Overall Rating

28 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nuevo Horizonte Hostel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel, very friendly employmends. clean and safe! i can recommend

Disliked: nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the cheapest places on here and good value! Free internet too! Even though the lady doesn't speak English she is extremely helpful and very welcoming :) Oh and the beds are amazing, love a good quilt!

Disliked: There is no sign for the hostel so we were wandering around for a while, might be nice if they popped one up! (It's next to a ropey corner shop)!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very firendly and herlpful (but only in spanish). The hostel has a really nice athmosphere.

Disliked: The showers had often only cold water, if there was water at all. The staff speaks only spanish. The keys for the frontdoor don't work that good anymore. I changed the keys, but still had problems to unlock the door which is not fun in the middle of the night. Other guests had the same problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heja Can Deniz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2013 Heja Can would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice neighbourhood and location of the hostel is very close to the metro station. Kitchen is very efficient. Cozy common area and awesome little cute dog. Staff is very helpful. They give keys so that you never get locked out late at night. Beds are comfortable, computer is fast and accessible, good wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing really..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steve Haley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: This place is everything a South American hostel should be. Myself and brother loved the facilities especially the free fast internet and free tea and coffee. An Englishman called Mark is currently helping run the place and makes eveyone feel at home and welcome and the kitchen facilities are good. We met nice people and the location is perfect for metro and walk into town. This place may not suit eveyone but we loved the rustic feel and atmosphere here and for the price its great value

Disliked: Steve left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Cynthia Brathwaite

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2012

Liked: I really wanted to like this hostel, but unfortunately my experience was not a happy one. Firstly, the good points because there were some... The location is good - Barrio Brasil is cool with some nice bars and with a small sushi cafe located on the plaza. The kitchen is well equipped and clean.

Disliked: The bad points... I really wished I had read the reviews recently posted on hostelworld... The showers were ok, but could do with a proper spring clean. The ceilings in the showers were dirty with damp fungi type molluscs growing. Had to use the men's showers as the gas heaters were being temperamental in the women's. The 8 bed dorm was a decent size... There were no proper lockers but a chest of drawers with locks on which was fine. However, after the second night I found that my arms and shoulders had been bitten by bed bugs. Speaking to others staying in the room they had also been bitten. Having looked on hostelworld other people had been bitten recently. And on proper inspection of the sheets it was clear they had not been changed between guests. Furthermore during our stay the WiFi nor internet connection was not working. The hostel is amongst the cheapest, so maybe you cannot expect much better... But bed bugs I was not banking on!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Evelyn is very friendly, flexible and goes out of her way to make sure everyone is happy. Her laid back demeanor really helps; she is not overly intrusive, and most everyone respects the "house rules" of keeping things clean and uncluttered in the community areas. A community atmosphere is well maintained here.

Disliked: It's about a 10 minute walk from the closest metro station, so if you have loads of pounds to carry, it wouldn't be your first choice. Also, there are storage lockers, but they are relatively small and you need to buy your own lock, so if you are overly protective of your large suitcase, for example, I also wouldn't recommend it. However, I felt secure about my belongings, and got to know my "roommates" right away, and no negative incidents occurred. Also, no credit cards or Redcompra, so make sure you have "luca"!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

scot gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2012 scot would recommend this property

Liked: small hostel friendly people, really nice atmosphere would certainly stay here again

Disliked: the property could do with some maintenance and a big clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es un excelente lugar y un buen ambiente / excellent place and good atmosphere

Disliked: Everything was perfect

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roomy common area, great kitchen, clean bathrooms, friendly staff, fast common computer.. very good value for the price.

Disliked: Carpets in the bedroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was easy to get to and it was good value.

Disliked: the poor shower.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012

Liked: except what i disliked

Disliked: no hay nadie en la recepcion todo el tiempo. no me ofreció la toalla que ha de ser gratuita

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Seth Casebolt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012 Seth would recommend this property

Liked: It had an open feel and the staff are nice enough, there really isn't anything to rave about this hostel, its just the one of the cheapest in Sa am ntiago.

Disliked: It's a little rundown, but for the money thats no big deal. There is WiFi but it is incredibly slow. Also sometimes it can take a long time for them to buzz you in, like a really long time. One night me and a friend got back from the clubs at around 3 or 4 and we actually had to bang on the window of one of the dorms to get in, the staff never woke up. And lastly when I asked if I could borrow an alarm to catch a 5 am shuttle to the airport they told me they would just wake me up...they never woke me up and I had to pay 20 US for a taxi.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2011

Liked: staff

Disliked: the property

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As soon as I arrived I was quickly welcomed into the "Nuevo Horizonte Family". Such a great vibe. Location is great, 15 minute walk from the Plaza de Armas. Party Hostel between thursday and monday so don't be expecting to sleep. The crew will get you up on your feel with a genuine chilean experience, asados, drinking and BUENA ONDA! Loved my stay here. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011

Liked: the people i met in the one hour i stayed there

Disliked: everything except the people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Graeme Gladman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Graeme would recommend this property

Liked: the girls who work there are very friendly and helpful. very relaxed and comfotable atmosphere. :)

Disliked: a little cold during the winter months, but there is a butane gas heater in the living room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

netin patel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 netin would recommend this property

Liked: easy to find hostel , close to all the shops and supermarkert

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. We didn't really speak Spanish and the girls at the hostel don't speak English; however, it was a good situation to be in as we had to practice our Spanish and they have all the patience in the world to try to help you learn. Its more of a house than a hostel and you are made to feel at home straight away. They can put you in contact with people if there's something you want to do. We went out for drinks on Saturday night with one of the girls which was good to be with someone who knew the area. We felt that are belongings were safe at all times.

Disliked: It's a little bit cold - bring a sweater!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ruth Mariñosa Lopez

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2011 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: the living room

Disliked: sounds behind the building

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hauwa Shehu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Hauwa would recommend this property

Liked: Evelyn the owner is super friendly and cares more about her guests than money! The hostel has many friends and Evelyn will introduce you to the right people if you want t have a night out etc. It is like a home. No arbitrary rules etc. Bring your own food, your own drink etc. The roof terrace, and all the common areas are amazing. Every evening there was a gathering of some sort. Everyone is so nice and welcoming it{s a shame that more hostels arent like this!´Evelyn is also a clean freak so everything is always spotless and to top it all off, she has laundry facilities! The perfect hostel! I was travelling alone and met people from all over the world who took me out and gaveme tips on places tp go and things to do. I went to two parties and got in for free or with a discount courtesy of friends of the hostel and when I was leaving I was told the best and cheapest options for continuing my trip. I was so sad to leave! The hostel is also right by the centre and a supermarket as well as bars and clubs. I cannot recommend this place more!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mari Suyama

29 March 2010 Mari would recommend this property

Liked: It was more of a student housing complex - which I liked a lot. Not much turn around, quiet and full of students who knew the city. Booking online was cheaper than in person.Free laundry and right across the street from a great bakery.Loved it.

Disliked: Mari left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More of a family home and a place for students domestic and abroad, but I felt comfortable and everyone was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.