HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal del Barrio

Hostel | General Ekdhal 159, Barrio Bellavista, Santiago, Chile 0184

78.6% Overall Rating

36 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/02/2014)

"Excellent location. Walk to main square. Lots of cheap bars nearby. Garden double room view great. Bedroom clean."

Read all Hostal del Barrio reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
16.00 USD

Hostel 89.8% 7 reviews
La Chimba Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 90.6% 365 reviews
Dominica Hostel
14.35 USD

Hostel 85.3% 50 reviews
Rado Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 93.8% 55 reviews
Bellavista Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 536 reviews
TRENDELSUR H-BOUTIQUE SANTIAGO
44.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Forestal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 109 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

36 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal del Barrio'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 40 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014

Liked: The dog eating out of the trashcan, can now understand German

Disliked: Windows to the hallway, old sheets

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Walk to main square. Lots of cheap bars nearby. Garden double room view great. Bedroom clean.

Disliked: Bathroom upstairs (only one)...shower over bath...did not drain. Told staff 1st day, worse by 2nd morning so told her again, even worse on 3 day (water to ankles when showering) ...this time told same staff member via Spanish to English translator,. 4th morning worse again ie above ankles!! Also large bin beside toilet for paper..new liner when we arrived...not changed in our 4 night stay!! & bin did not bave a lid!!! No milk availabe even though we asked each morning.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty and broken bathroom, no internet in rooms, unhelpful staff, incredibly noisy staff till 2 in the morning, horrible dark living room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old house on a residential street but just a few blocks from lots of nightlife and restaurants. Nice private room with bathroom and good hot water and pressure. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast with cold cuts, bread, and yogurt. Good security with a locked gate; a staffer had to buzz people in.

Disliked: Staff were nice but a little harried; very little information was offered at check-in (didn't even realize there was a kitchen for guests' use until later). Bathroom floor was a little dirty, but nothing major.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for exploring the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eleanor Sawyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: My room was upgraded to a single room with ensuite. All night curfew. Good wi-Fi in bedrooms. Easy walking distance to bars/ restaurants and the sights of barrio bellavista (5-10 mins) but not noisy at night. Very clean bathroom.

Disliked: There weren't many people in the hostel when I stayed during the weekdays, but good if you're looking for something quieter. My only fault was there wasn't enough toilet paper in the bathroom!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge common areas! Hostel was nearly empty when we stayed though. The up-side of that was they upgraded us to a room with a private bathroom for no charge. Breakfast was quite good for Chilean standards. Nice to have yogurt for a change. Close to Patio Bellavista

Disliked: Bit of a funky smell in the hallway between our room and the kitchen and the first towels we were given smelled bad but they replaced them no problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely friendly and always offering to assist

Disliked: No light bulb in our bathroom but it was ok because there was a portable lamp

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient to bellavista neighborhood. owner was very friendly, gave me a larger room than i reserved without increasing price.

Disliked: a little worn. was basically empty when i was there (low season), which was weird...lights were all off and stuff; it felt deserted.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

marie gibson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 marie would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and very quiet street wthin walking distance of the main area in Bellavista

Disliked: not a place to hang round in the evening if you were there over a period of days as no real social area.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Bridget Macey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2012 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the charming front garden complete with hammock and a very chilled vibe for so close to the metro area. Staff were amazingly helpful, friendly and just open to chat. Ester/Christian make this hostel!

Disliked: My room was a little hot but this didn't not matter really dude to me being out and about most days (except when hungover).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast with fresh Avocados and Ham, very relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: No security lockers in dorm (not a big problem as the hostel is very save an the owner controls who gets entry)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Claudio Sgarzani

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012

Liked: The helpfulness of the staff Free pc with internet

Disliked: Not very clean The pillows were poor and the sheets were old They don't accept credit cards

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

mark brady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 mark would recommend this property

Liked: Christian (the owner) was really friendly and helpful especially as my wife was ill when we arrived. Location was excellent - on a very quiet street but very close to bars & restaurants, and a 10 minute walk into the centre. A good relaxing outside space.

Disliked: We had a double en-suite room, and the pillows were poor and the sheets were old.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Host Christian is super super friendly and went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. The hostel is in a great location and has good atmosphere including the cute front courtyard which comes alive in the evenings.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wong Sow Moy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012 Wong would recommend this property

Liked: Good locations only 10 minutes walk to the happening places and situated at a quiet neighbourhood. Christian the host is really friendly and helpful and always ready to provide informations on tours and directions. Breakfast provided is great too, one of the best I have in South America.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Christian is an amazing host.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very friendly and helpful and the location was great.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the property

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011

Liked: the owner is great in helping tourists find their bearings...

Disliked: for some reason i was in a a 5-dorm room myself. the bathroom facilities are not good...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here. Although it´s a hostal, it feels more like a home as the owner Christian is real friendly, and makes everyone feel at home. So, it´s like staying in a friend´s house, and one where it´s easy to make more friends in its relaxed atmosphere. It´s also close to everything but in a quiet area. Highly recommended, and I´m going back...

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My single was great, it was low-key, not a lot of partying, on a quiet side street, just right for me during my week in Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing, it was fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louise debnam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2011 louise would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom was clean and shower was warm. they do a salsa night too which is good laugh!

Disliked: it was quieter than i expected from the reviews not the party place i imagined.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott templeton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 October 2011 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Christian, the owner was very friendly and helpful with any inquiries. Helped make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Vegetarian breakfast option, great breakfast.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely house. The neighbourhood is nice and full of character. The owner is very friendly and accommodating

Disliked: Shared bathroom did not seem to be cleaned very often. It was not very dirty but could have done with cleaning more than we saw it being cleaned in the time we were staying

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shweta advani

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 shweta would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Christian, is very friendly. His bilingual skills proved quite helpful for us, and i simply must thank him for all the flexibility he offered us with regards to our dates. The property itself is located in a chic, happening neighborhood (bellavista) and is walking distance from everything.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...