HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chile Hostales

Guesthouse | 140 Roman Diaz, Santiago, Chile 750 06 07

90.7% Overall Rating

25 out of 27 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2012)

Donna Jessop thinks…

"The most outstanding thing about the hostel was the friendly, helpful, reliable staff who seemed to know and care about their guests. A variety of types of rooms are available, but mine, the single…"

Read all Chile Hostales reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 78.4% 51 reviews
Marilú s Bed and Breakfast
29.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 12 reviews
Chillihostel
13.90 USD

Hostel 85.5% 306 reviews
Hostal Oveja Verde
17.66 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 5 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
16.07 USD

Hostel 91.8% 55 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.84 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
13.25 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Romandia
35.33 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

25 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chile Hostales'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff and cleanliness.

Disliked: Some noise from neighbouring properties on Friday night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jaime Serna

Alone

Relaxation/spa

22 May 2013 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: The spaces and decoration

Disliked: the bath was a little far of the bedrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, clean kitchen, lovely outdoor area, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Jessop

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: The most outstanding thing about the hostel was the friendly, helpful, reliable staff who seemed to know and care about their guests. A variety of types of rooms are available, but mine, the single with ensuite bath, was very clean with good ventilation and comfortable bed. Twenty-four hour reception answering the front door offers good security, though not all window locks functioned and there was no safe box for valuables in the room. Kitchen facilities, free continental breakfast and indoor lounge/outdoor courtyard with benches are available to guests. The courtyard offers a good opportunity to meet other guests and everyone seems to respect the quiet policy--some conversation into the evening, but lights off and quiet by midnight. The area is safe and convenient: located on a well-lit street, easy to walk to restaurants and only about 4 blocks to the Metro station. Payment by credit card or cash is accepted..

Disliked: Donna left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011

Liked: The kitchen was good and the location.

Disliked: very noisy, lots of old people who tell you what to do. One bathroom for everyone.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011

Liked: The breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable

Disliked: The layout was bad. Adjoining rooms used a bathroom inside our dorm which meant we were constantly woken up by other people coming in. They also had 3 lockers for 6 beds which didn't make sense.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Maclean

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I stayed at in South America, and I have been to some good ones. The helpfullness of the staff is second to none, the decor is warm and tastefull, and the beds are so comfy you won´t want to get up in hurry. Nuno was extremely helpfull with regards suggestions for things to do/tours, with consideration taken as regards what I was into and wanted to do. The location is superb too, a quiet safe street, with a cheap internet cafe, laundry, ATM, bars, shops etc are all very close. You´´re also a short walk from the more lively bar area and the hike up to the best viewpoint in Santiago. If you´re here to party it´s still a great base and they will send you to the best nightspots. A fantastic place to stay!

Disliked: That other hostels after this one will feel inferior

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Very good atmosphere. Next time I would stay there again.

Disliked: No computers available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wei Gao

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2010 Wei would recommend this property

Liked: clean room, friendly&helpful people, safe place

Disliked: Wei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trinidad Salas

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2010 Trinidad would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and the staff is extremely helpful. There was a problem with the bookings via internet, yet they managed to get me a room on the spot and also helped me with the rest of my itinerary. I would definitely recommend it and come back again.

Disliked: Trinidad left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Yacoub

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel right in heart of Providencia near several of the language schools. This hostel was clean with hot showers and no bunk dorms available. Lovely lounge area with full satellite in both English and Spanish. Very simple breakfast included. What made this stand out was helpfulness of Nico on front desk who made effort to ensure I had fun. Also cleaning staff Suli and Cecilia with whom I practiced my English with each morning over breakfast.

Disliked: Sometimes hot water was a bit slow to appear but only on occasion.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constance Woolvett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Constance would recommend this property

Liked: the hostal is so preatty and the staff is incredible, I recomend this hostal, is very clean and nice people!!!

Disliked: Constance left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and safe place. Every bed has its own HUGE locker. First decent breakfast i ever had in my South American trip. Cheers guys!

Disliked: No complains

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Greatest location. Safe neighborhood. Very helpful Staff..! MUST try the delicious breakfast! Cheers to Nico!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has been absolutely great! when you get there you will be able to notice how much they care about all details... the beds are so comfortable, the breakfast is delicious and the whole mansion is amazing! thanks to the kindest and helpful staff i've never seen in all my year trip, they're all like a big family! i'll definetly come back guys! TRAVELERS: Do not miss the BBQ's night, Pisco Sour's Night and Movie's Night...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Logan

31 May 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: CHILE HOSTALES was a perfect hostel for our time in the city. Breakfast is amazing! Staff really helpful and spoke excellent English. Great location, the house is beautiful and elegant in walking distance to best area in Santiago, shops, restaurants, parks etc. Social areas are spacious. We were in the double en suite room which is was so cosy and has a very nice flat tv screen. Would recommend for your stay in Santiago. Thanks to all my new friends Karl, Connie, Nico, Zuli, Ceci, Leti and Benjamín

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.