HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Santa Lucia Green House

Guesthouse | Marcoleta 537, Santiago centro, Metro Sta Lucia, Santiago, Chile 833-0042

86.1% Overall Rating

251 out of 266 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/12/2013)

"It' s in the middle of things - about 10 minutes' walk to Plaza de Armas, a minute and a half from Santra Lucia subway station, plenty of small shops nearby where you can get some supplies (the nearest supermarkets is…"

Read all Santa Lucia Green House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Lucia Suites
16.07 USD

Guesthouse 83.6% 24 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 12 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.9% 104 reviews
Ecohostel
9.13 USD

Hostel 86.9% 201 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
11.60 USD

Hostel 85.9% 307 reviews
VO SUITES
26.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews
Hostal Forestal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 109 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

251 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Santa Lucia Green House'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 197 of 228 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It' s in the middle of things - about 10 minutes' walk to Plaza de Armas, a minute and a half from Santra Lucia subway station, plenty of small shops nearby where you can get some supplies (the nearest supermarkets is about five blocks away though), the breakfast is good by South American standards. It is quiet, so no party type hostel, which suited us fine, we stayed here four years ago and liked it , so the Green House was our given choice this time too. The kitchen, albeit small, has a good range of utensils and you don' t bump into other guests there, which is the case of many S. A. hostels - too little a kitchen for too many guests.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Less than 5 minutes from the metro stop. Close to La Alameda and famous sites.

Disliked: The room didn't look as great as it did in the pictures offered online.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

RODRIGO YOSHIAKI KURIYAMA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 May 2013 RODRIGO YOSHIAKI would recommend this property

Liked: The reception was excellent by the entire staff of the hostel. Comfortable and very well located. Just a note regarding the bathroom shower, which sometimes does not properly warm the water.

Disliked: RODRIGO YOSHIAKI left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaela Gibbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Michaela would recommend this property

Liked: The gentleman who welcomed us spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and the shower was fine. The breakfast was lovely and they even arranged an earlier time for us to collect it on the day we were leaving (because we had to leave very early) which was a nice touch! Location is superb too!!

Disliked: Michaela left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Cook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb! And the staff is always available and kind to support on any issue you ask for. Great place.

Disliked: I would have liked a pool and free beer!...Honestly, for price paid this is more than good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chris Balmforth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Good and reasonably priced laundry service. Free computer/internet access (and free wifi). Great location (close to main centre) and metro. Had our own TV in our bedroom!

Disliked: Showers were not always hot (they run on solar power)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GARY HEATH

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2013 GARY would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect Location. Right in the middle of everything. Everything is close by including subway, buses, grocery store, restaurants, internet cafe, deli, tourist attractions, museums, parks. Very safe and nice area surrounding the guest house at all times. Great wi-fi and computer with internet. Great cable tv in rooms. Comfortable beds. Hot showers. Nice kitchen. Very clean. Front rooms have sliding doors to the street which I enjoyed. Very friendly and helpful family are the hosts. Very good value. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family was super nice and tried to help as much as possible... Its a simple, not comercial hostel run by a family...ideal for backpackers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very simple, clean and central place. Staff was very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely guesthouse two minutes walk from Santa Lucia tube station. Very friendly family. Rodrigo very helpful and knowledgable. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing - hope to stay there again in early January 2013.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente ubicacion, agradable el servicio, se puede descansar, rico desayuno... hostel has amazing location *30 seconds from subway!! if you are looking to meet people, this probably isn't for you since it has all private rooms. bathroom on the 2nd floor is definitely clean, no problems with that. i[ve stayed in santiago several times, and i will return here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glen Short

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Glen would recommend this property

Liked: Quaint and welcoming, great little budget hostel.

Disliked: Glen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Lemos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Desde antes da chegada me comunicava com o hotel e eles sempre me respondiam. Os donos (Sr. Orlando e Sra. Silva) nos ajudaram muito. Meu namorado ficou doente e eles nos ajudaram no que precisamos até nos acompanhando ao hospital. Carregando as malas etc. Só tenho a agradecer. Hostel simples, mas muito bem localizado na cidade perto do cerro santa luzia e da estação de mesmo nome. Um preço legal com desayuno. Pena que tivemos q antecipar a passagem por motivo de doença. Mas voltaria para ficar lá com certeza! Banheiro sempre limpo!

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The central location an local feel.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really helpful staff, free internet

Disliked: bedbugs

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Girolamo Dininno

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Girolamo would recommend this property

Liked: Small place, run by a nice family, very very quiet. Good location, very near to metro station and downtown. One bathroom for only two guestrooms (max 6 people) at 2nd floor. Excellent wi-fi internet. Towels provided. Good price.

Disliked: Only minor problems with the bathroom: hot water from shower isn't constant unless you keep opening the tap more and more (shower head crusted with lime maybe), and cold water sink tap needed to be fixed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very frienfly and extremely helpful, its one of these nice family-run hostels

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: great location, so easy for the centre and the metro. good value, clean rooms and hot clean showers, quiet place so nmore like a guesthouse, perfect for a nights stay or 2.

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: most of the time the water in the shower was cold, lack of kitchen equipment

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Zentrale Lage und günstiges Hostal.

Disliked: --

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, very close to metro and bar areas, breakfast was ok. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The cleanliness. The bathrooms were really unclean and needed to be cleaned more thoroughly. But the worst thing was that our room was infested with bed bugs. My partner and I both got thoroughly bitten (which got worse each night).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, convenient location, good value for money.

Disliked: Bathrooms were a bit border line.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

James Haggart

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts. Nice hostel only 1 block and a half from the metro. A little worn. We like Eco hostal better for overall atmosphere.

Disliked: Only one small bath on the thrid floor with 5 guest rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, lending information on how to get around Santiago and what to see around the hostel. Our room was basic, but clean, light and even had a TV with cable. The price is reasonable considering the very central location of the hostel and being in Santiago. The breakfast was basic, but okay.

Disliked: The bathroom was very dirty and during our two day stay did not look to be attended to, apart from emptying the bin. There is little to no atmosphere, suggesting it is more of a guesthouse than a hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Rios-Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and value, everything was great. Breakfast included, wifi, hot water aplenty, no problems whatsoever.

Disliked: Bathroom smelled a little, but no big deal.