HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Santa Lucia Green House

Guesthouse | Marcoleta 537, Santiago centro, Metro Sta Lucia, Santiago, Chile 833-0042

85.9% Overall Rating

252 out of 267 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/06/2014)

Paul Collings thinks…

"The Green House is quiet and comfortable but very near the city centre in a good area. The staff are friendly and helpful. It has a homely atmosphere"

Read all Santa Lucia Green House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Lucia Suites
15.96 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal de la Barra
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 108 reviews
Ecohostel
9.07 USD

Hostel 87.5% 204 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
14.19 USD

Hostel 82.9% 311 reviews
VO SUITES
26.37 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

252 out of 267 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Santa Lucia Green House'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 198 of 229 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Rios-Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and value, everything was great. Breakfast included, wifi, hot water aplenty, no problems whatsoever.

Disliked: Bathroom smelled a little, but no big deal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly owners, comfortable rooms and the best bread rolls for breakfast I've had in South America!

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Michael Collett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, perfect Wifi, a strong, hot shower, a room with a big window overlooking a tree, and...quiet.

Disliked: The bathroom could be cleaner, but with the best shower in 2 months of travelling through South America - I can live with that.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ralph Warren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 Ralph would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, helpfull staff

Disliked: litle worndown

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: The smell from the toilet was quite bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jozefa fruytier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 jozefa would recommend this property

Liked: Very Nice GH and friendly family and they are very helpful. Its very central. Near everything and very safe. I Will return there again.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Although not the nicest bit of Santiago, the hostel is very well located for travel into the centre, either by foot or tube. The hostel was very basic but provided all we needed for a short stay and was really well priced for Santiago. The family were very nice and helpful, letting us check into our room early and also hang around for several hours after check out on our last day, whilst we waited for our evening flight.

Disliked: The bathroom needed a really good clean. I don't think it had been done in a while and apart from emptying the bin I don't think it was done whilst we were there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Dearna Brinnand

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Dearna would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, close to transport and places of interest. The family are friendly and the sons are great giving information in English for the not so compentent Spanish speakers. There are shops close by to self cater, the kitchen is small but there are cooking utentils available. There is hot water, which is always a blessing. The house is value for money, cheaper than other single accommodation available in Santiago.

Disliked: The house is shabby, rooms are small but cleanish, kitchen is a little unclean as too the bathroom, however I have come across much worse in my time in SA. I will probably be back after I tour further south.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Good basic honest hostel in good location, good value for money. Quiet and comfortable bed. Staff very helpful. Great to have yogurt for breakfast.

Disliked: Bathroom in need of updating.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: (1) The family are very welcoming and approachable, they try to make you feel at home. (2) The owner speaks very good English and extremely helpful (Highly recommended for English speaking backpackers). (3) Very easy to locate from the airport and in a prime location in the city. (4) The price is great

Disliked: Facilities such as heating (in winter ) and air-conditioning (in summer) are not available in rooms / and cleaning was at average. Kitchen facilities are meager.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place and friendly staff!!

Disliked: Bathroom not really clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast! Clean rooms, simple and afforable.

Disliked: There weren't heaters in the rooms but plenty of blankets to keep you warm at night.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kevin O Donovan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011

Liked: The owners were really friendly and helpful. Ok breakfast and fast wifi.

Disliked: The bathroom was disgustingly dirty and not cleaned once in 4 days.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean, quiet. Great location, right next to the metro. Friendly owners. Breakfast included yogurt, which is a nice step up from the places that only serve you bread and jam! Overall, I'd say it's certainly adequate, but not really anything special. I'd recommend it.

Disliked: No complaints.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wouter Mans

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Wouter would recommend this property

Liked: location rules! We don´t speak spanish, but the son of the owner speaks very good english!

Disliked: no heating.. so around this time (juni) fairly cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice homely atmosphere, close to main tourist sights in centre, friendly owners, bedrooms clean

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jiri Fink

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, willing to help, able to give advise Very good location in the center and available by metro

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10min walk to plaza de armas, friendly staff, nice brekkie

Disliked: as i read before, if you want the hilton go to the hilton

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malene Thorborg

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Malene would recommend this property

Liked: If you want Hilton, then go Hilton... If not, I can recommend Green House as a small but very nice place. Not least if you need a safe and quiet base for other activities in town or elsewhere. You can be on your own but the hosts are very kind and helpful if you need any assistance. I lived there for a month (march) and should return with pleasure.

Disliked: Actually there was nothing I really disliked, but if you're sensible to street-noise - which I'm not - you could ask for a room away from the street.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lawrence Cenotto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: Rodrigo, the son of the couple who run the place, was fluent in English and always very accomodating and helpful. He often made extra calls on my behalf. Seems he was always going beyond the call of duty. But he was the thing that was most appreciated about The Santa Lucia Green House. Internet access was also very good. --Larry Cenotto

Disliked: Street noise in the morning. The absolute minimal breakfast arrangments -- was barely continental. No real common area for meeting others.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivier Parent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice house, nice rooms, nice people. Cheap and very well located !

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Krings

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The location mainly and the breakfast!

Disliked: The matrace in the room 22 needs to be replaced as soon as possible as you can feel the wires sticking out of it and the bathroom should be cleaned more frequently.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely nice and helpful and the rooms were private and great. The breakfast on offer was nice and had good variety and it is in a good central location of Santiago.

Disliked: nada

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly owners, good location

Disliked: The shower had a strange smell.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Magee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Our private room was right next to the bathroom, very convenient. The location was good.

Disliked: The kitchen was small, but adequate.