We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

92.2% Overall Rating

416 out of 428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2014)

"Very friendly staff, Ivan and the other guys there are awesome; very nice atmosphere."

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
25.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
19.55 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 93 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.24 USD

Hostel 91.5% 131 reviews
Hostal Providencia
11.73 USD

Hostel 87.3% 152 reviews
Hostal Romandia
23.46 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
34.50 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ecohostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 84.1% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

416 out of 428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 352 of 413 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan and the staff are nice and very helpful and they speak good English.

Disliked: Nothing, it's good for a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn Gardner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2015 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great

Disliked: I got in at 2am in a dorm room and had to make my bed. Hard to do without waking half the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paula franchim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2015 paula would recommend this property

Liked: Amaizing place and the staffes are very friendly! I recomended!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Le petit déjeuner, le jardin agréable, le personnel sympatjique

Disliked: Les petits lockers au rez de chaussée

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, Ivan and the other guys there are awesome; very nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Zavoico

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Liked so much about this hostel! What definitely sticks out in my mind, though, are two things. For one, the staff are incredible; I had such a wonderful time chatting (and partying!) with Ivan, Chris, and Isabella, they're such wonderful people. Secondly, I loved the community aspect of this small, quaint hostel. It's so easy to meet other travelers around the breakfast table or while cooking in the kitchen.

Disliked: It's not that I disliked it, but I felt that the location could've been a TAD better. That doesn't take anything away from the property, though, I would absolutely stay here again.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

09 July 2014

Liked: its a quiet place where you can hide away from the santiago huzzle.

Disliked: i staid in this hostel two times in the cabanha and although they say check-in is at 13:30 we never checked in before 15:30. every time we arrived they said "oh we still have to clean up2...for about 45 minutes. first time its ok but second time it shows they just dont care. the second time the price was much higher also it was also low season, dont understand their price politics. all in all the place is nice but a little untended. The pool didnt really invite for swimming as it was very dirty. breakfast is ok, nothing special. me I would not go again but I went there as couple, probably for chill out backpackers it might be a cool place to stay.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything - best breakfast in South America, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed my stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a cosy family feel to it. Seems like everyone pitches in with the running of it. They were quick to help me out with anything I needed.

Disliked: The staff tend to like to party which meant no breakfast on one occasion and loud music into the night on another. But they are good folk overall just a little blotch on the cv.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Chillery

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay, Ivan is extremely helpful. The breakfast is great, only a 5min train in to the centre of the city or 15 mins walk. Rooms are large and beds are comfy. Very Safe and secure.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marise Gunderson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Marise would recommend this property

Liked: The overall vibe at the hostel was very relaxed and Ivans hospitality and advice was excellent. It felt more like visiting a friend. The kitchen facilities were good and there was free cofee tea, pasta rice and herbs and spices. We stayed in the room out the back, which was quiet and had comfortable bed and good bathroom. There was a pool that would be nice to use in summer . There was good social spaces that encouraged interaction with other travellers which was great.

Disliked: Some of the younger guests tried to get out of cleaning up after cooking- I suggested a sign saying You Mum does not live here so clean up after your self. Ivan thought that was a good idea.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Edvardsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful, friendly staff, nice pool

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Danaher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were so fantastic! They helped us with everything and even assisted us when we got scammed in Santiago and offered us a bed again late at night. Great homely atmosphere with lots of BBQ and group dinners organised at the hostel.

Disliked: Jaclyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite and it felt very much like a hotel. We had a gas heater which warmed the room up very well on cold days. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The staff were very helpful with recommendations for food and activities.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not quite reach into our room, which meant we had to go out to use the internet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mason smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 mason would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff,good location

Disliked: terrible WiFi,seriously,I'm in my next place in Santiago uploading pictures from my room,here,it was terrible,a slow,patchy signal limiting what you can do.your in one of the most picturesque places in the world and can't tell anyone

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan, the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The general vibe and atmosphere of the place and people was laid back and friendly. Best hostel I've stayed in in South America thus far. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cabana was spacious and clean and available at a very fair rate. Staff is friendly and helpful. The place is quite close to a metro station and within 15 minutes walking distance to the "nightlife-neighborhood".

Disliked: During our visit most of the guests just hung around in the dining/living area and surfed the net which was not really a plus in terms of atmosphere. Furthermore, various times the other guests did not wash their dishes leading to a lack of it in the evening. WiFi signal does not reach the cabana.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Meldo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are extremely comfortable, bed linen is clean and changed regularly. The kitchen is clean and well-equipped. Great atmosphere. The staff, especially, the owner, Ivan and receptionist, Jason are very friendly and helpfull. Overall the place is a great value.

Disliked: Perhaps the breakfast could be served earlier than from 9am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Good breakfast but not served til after 9am, which is too late

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull, you feel directly like at home. The small size of the hostel makes it family like and a fun atmosphere is present at all times. It is clean, comfortable and well equipped. Every Friday is a great value for money Chilean BBQ with excellent meat and wine. It is in a safe area, 15 minutes by foot to the city center and close to the metro station.

Disliked: Everything is just perfect!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Clark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff - booked airport shuttle & printed boarding pass for me. Quiet pleasant area.

Disliked: 10minutes from city centre by under ground or 30 minute walk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristina Naumoska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: A friendly and social hostel. Located in a quieter neighbourhood, but close to the subway station, so it was very easy to get around town. Staff were fantastic - all spoke great English and were very helpful. Always clean, comfortable common areas and beds, and a generally well-stocked kitchen. Great atmosphere and they always made you feel like you were with family and friends - we loved our stay here :)

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert howes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, reccomend

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A great, laid back hostel. Very friendly & helpful staff. Good breakfast and fast wifi included and a nice plunge pool to boot. Bit out of the centre but in what seems a very safe area close to the Metro (centre easily walkable) and pretty much all facilites

Disliked: Nothing