HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

92.6% Overall Rating

400 out of 411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Marise Gunderson thinks…

"The overall vibe at the hostel was very relaxed and Ivans hospitality and advice was excellent. It felt more like visiting a friend. The kitchen facilities were good and there was free cofee tea,…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
28.75 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
22.46 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 79 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
15.09 USD

Hostel 92.1% 114 reviews
Hostal Providencia
14.38 USD

Hostel 90.7% 112 reviews
Hostal Romandia
35.94 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

400 out of 411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 342 of 396 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marise Gunderson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Marise would recommend this property

Liked: The overall vibe at the hostel was very relaxed and Ivans hospitality and advice was excellent. It felt more like visiting a friend. The kitchen facilities were good and there was free cofee tea, pasta rice and herbs and spices. We stayed in the room out the back, which was quiet and had comfortable bed and good bathroom. There was a pool that would be nice to use in summer . There was good social spaces that encouraged interaction with other travellers which was great.

Disliked: Some of the younger guests tried to get out of cleaning up after cooking- I suggested a sign saying You Mum does not live here so clean up after your self. Ivan thought that was a good idea.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Edvardsson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful, friendly staff, nice pool

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaclyn Danaher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were so fantastic! They helped us with everything and even assisted us when we got scammed in Santiago and offered us a bed again late at night. Great homely atmosphere with lots of BBQ and group dinners organised at the hostel.

Disliked: Jaclyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Martin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite and it felt very much like a hotel. We had a gas heater which warmed the room up very well on cold days. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The staff were very helpful with recommendations for food and activities.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not quite reach into our room, which meant we had to go out to use the internet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

mason smith

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 mason would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff,good location

Disliked: terrible WiFi,seriously,I'm in my next place in Santiago uploading pictures from my room,here,it was terrible,a slow,patchy signal limiting what you can do.your in one of the most picturesque places in the world and can't tell anyone

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan, the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The general vibe and atmosphere of the place and people was laid back and friendly. Best hostel I've stayed in in South America thus far. Definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cabana was spacious and clean and available at a very fair rate. Staff is friendly and helpful. The place is quite close to a metro station and within 15 minutes walking distance to the "nightlife-neighborhood".

Disliked: During our visit most of the guests just hung around in the dining/living area and surfed the net which was not really a plus in terms of atmosphere. Furthermore, various times the other guests did not wash their dishes leading to a lack of it in the evening. WiFi signal does not reach the cabana.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Meldo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are extremely comfortable, bed linen is clean and changed regularly. The kitchen is clean and well-equipped. Great atmosphere. The staff, especially, the owner, Ivan and receptionist, Jason are very friendly and helpfull. Overall the place is a great value.

Disliked: Perhaps the breakfast could be served earlier than from 9am.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Good breakfast but not served til after 9am, which is too late

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull, you feel directly like at home. The small size of the hostel makes it family like and a fun atmosphere is present at all times. It is clean, comfortable and well equipped. Every Friday is a great value for money Chilean BBQ with excellent meat and wine. It is in a safe area, 15 minutes by foot to the city center and close to the metro station.

Disliked: Everything is just perfect!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Clark

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff - booked airport shuttle & printed boarding pass for me. Quiet pleasant area.

Disliked: 10minutes from city centre by under ground or 30 minute walk.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kristina Naumoska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Kristina would recommend this property

Liked: A friendly and social hostel. Located in a quieter neighbourhood, but close to the subway station, so it was very easy to get around town. Staff were fantastic - all spoke great English and were very helpful. Always clean, comfortable common areas and beds, and a generally well-stocked kitchen. Great atmosphere and they always made you feel like you were with family and friends - we loved our stay here :)

Disliked: Kristina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert howes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, reccomend

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A great, laid back hostel. Very friendly & helpful staff. Good breakfast and fast wifi included and a nice plunge pool to boot. Bit out of the centre but in what seems a very safe area close to the Metro (centre easily walkable) and pretty much all facilites

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tessa Ely

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Pool!! Great atmosphere. Diamond in the ruff. Ivan was super helpful ahead of the time w setting up airport pick up n

Disliked: Location is far from the main drag of Santiago and bus stations but only ten min walk to metro

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, huge tv, beds were comfortable

Disliked: From my girlfriends and my opinion the atmosphere could be better. One of the staff was always sitting in front of his laptop with earphones in his ears...even at the table when there was breakfast.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character, friendly helpful staff, good tv with films, swimming pool, quiet location and proper bathrooms.

Disliked: Rickety metal beds!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff

Disliked: Quality of beds and bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Micaela Muro

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Micaela would recommend this property

Liked: I had a blast at Ventana Sur. Ivan and the staff are fantastic people, very friendly And willing to help you. The mattresses are super comfy and the swimming pool is a definetly plus for Santiago's hot summer. The atmosfere is very fiendly but not in the "party hostel" kind of like, still is easy to do your own stuff if you feel like. I spent Xmas eve there and Ivan made a terrific asado for a lots of guests, we dances, drinked and had a lot of fun. Location is ok, in a quiet hood with stores and food around, 20 min walking away from downtown and just a few blocks from the metro. An awesome Hostel, totally recommended!

Disliked: A little bit hot in the rooms at night (no fan or ac)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers. The staff were very friendly and helpful as was the owner. There was a free chicken bbq the first night I was there and the next day the owner took us out for lunch and paid for wine for us, so generous of him.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2012 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, it feels like home and Ivan, Jason and Fletcher were amazing.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Waclaw Berzynski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Waclaw would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: everything fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Francisco Souza Ribeiro

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Luiz Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: We have chosen Ventana due to the good reviews and they are all true. Bathroom is fine, bed and linens confortable. They lend towels for free and so on... The Hostel is at a very good location in Santiago. Near good restaurants, the subway and all kind of facilities. A good place to chill and meet a couple of travellers. Absolutely not a party hostel. Great for couples!

Disliked: We had a little electricity problem and coudn' t use the iron in our room. All the rest was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend the private double room that overlooks the pool - really great value for money and a very spacious room. Really close to the metro line too which was handy.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...