We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

92.2% Overall Rating

416 out of 428 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/12/2014)

"Very friendly staff, Ivan and the other guys there are awesome; very nice atmosphere."

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
23.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gallo con tacos
18.58 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 93 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.52 USD

Hostel 88.7% 132 reviews
Hostal Providencia
11.15 USD

Hostel 86.9% 153 reviews
Hostal Romandia
22.29 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ecohostel
7.60 USD

Hostel 84.1% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

416 out of 428 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 352 of 413 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shaz Davison

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2011 Shaz would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in over 20 places in the last months and this place was my favorite hands down. WHY: I prefer smaller, quieter places but where I can meet people and still socialize. Ventana Sur offered it all. A house converted into a hostel with lots of bathrooms means never waiting. They have a few dorm rooms and a single room upstairs with 2 bathrooms upstairs but have 3 downstairs and yet another out by the pool next to the bungalow suite. The pool was nice and the social area was the perfect size to accommodate all guest and yet if you want a bit of space you can do that as well. Loved this place! I also love that the staff interact a lot with the guest and have bar-b-q, wine night and other events. Great times. I won't even think about going to another place if I come back to Santiago. The staff was always accommodating and took good care of everyone.

Disliked: The bungalow is the nicest room (though I only needed the single room to be satisfied) but it doesn't yet have wi-fi in the unit. Not a big deal since you only need to go outside to get it but it is the most expensive unit and I hope they get that issue taken care of soon to really make that unit perfect... they mentioned it is something they want to take care of soon. The pool was on the cold side but still nice to cool off and better than not having one at all. I would have stayed in it longer than 5 minutes had it not been so cold...other guests mentioned this too. A pool is a perk so this is not really a dislike, but an area that could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay in Santiago. The hostel in always clean and the staff were amazing. They were really helpful, friendly and great fun. There was a free wine night the day we arrived and a great asado on the Friday night. The hostel has all the facilites you could hope for, and more (a swimming pool!)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is both relaxed and friendly. They have wine nights and bar b ques. It is good for meeting other people. The place is clean, comfortable but not fussy. People can be themselves. The owner is genuinely interested in the people that stay here, and has time to talk to you and answer your questions.

Disliked: No microwave

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the accommodations. I felt at home.

Disliked: For lack of collaboration of other guests, the kitchen was not always clean and sanitized.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Newton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the pool. It was nice. And the staff got up at 4am to make us a coffee and breakfast before our taxi came for a flight, which was really considerate.

Disliked: We booked a private room but it was double booked on arrival. It was a little disappointing, but the guys made sure we only paid the right rate for sharing in the 8 person dorm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Meghan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, it was VERY clean, hot water, free wifi and had a great atmosphere. Great value for the money spent.

Disliked: It was a little far from the centre and touristic area, about 25 minutes walking, which was further than we would have liked. It is close to a metro station though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Perejma

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super helpful and friendly and the pool and outside area were so relaxing

Disliked: everything was great!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rory fitzgerald

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2011 rory would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: bigger swiming pool

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Lemann

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: There are too many great things about Ventana Sur to list them all. The staff (including the owners Ivan and Ivan who work there) are all delightful, friendly and go way out of there way to make you feel at home. The place is QUIET but close to everything. The dining table under the grape arbor by the swimming pool in the back yard is the perfect place to escape the heat and noise of the city. In fact it's hard to leave the hostel because it's so nice, calm and cool. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the activities (like free wine night, or asados, etc) are fun but not intrusive if you'd prefer to keep to yourself. The mix of guests is interesting and EVERYONE loves being there. Quite possibly the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Don't miss it.

Disliked: I honestly can't think of a single thing that I didn't like about Ventana Sur. It's pretty much perfect.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

katie martin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 katie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was as described, a nice pool, cleaned regularly, good kitchen facilities, plentiful social areas. Staff super helpful, even accompanying us to the bus station when our bag had been lost! Great BBQ nights over the holiday period!

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hostel for 5 nights and had a really good experience. The staff was super-friendly, arranging tours and barbeques, offering bikes and providing information on things to do in Santiago and its surroundings. I would recommend this hostel for longer stays, because there is a well-equipped, clean kitchen and a comfortable, home-like atmosphere.

Disliked: There were no lockers inside the dorm. (The safety-box was in the hallway downstairs.) This caused some inconvenience, since we had to stash our bags under the bed and store everything on the floor. The neighbourhood (Providencia) was beautiful and quiet, but a bit far from all tourist attractions and the bus station.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: There weren´t lockers in dorms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

MICHAEL KING

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2010 MICHAEL would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant outdoor dining área near the pool, helpful staff, good facilities

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saskia Schipper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

22 December 2010 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: The nice and helpfull staff and owner, the lovely garden with pool. It is a nice and quiet neighbourhood with still a l lot of restaurants and places to eat. Close to a subway station. Spacious dorm. Enough bathrooms and clean! Nice sitting area with lots of books and a tv. Good computer (fast internet) And last but not least a very good price for what you get.

Disliked: No lockers or cupboards to put you stuff on/in

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff who try to get you involved in activities in the evenings. Nice to be located in a neighbourhood that feels more authentic than a token Gringoville. Good kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Only one computer terminal, which wasn´t a major issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely garden, good location, clean

Disliked: Owner not friendly but was helpful. He didn´t seem bothered about making an effort but did answer any questions well. No bread only cereal for breakfast.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very intimate and quiet place, good to chill out. Pool was great.

Disliked: Very out of the way, not close to any facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IOANNIS LACHANIS

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2010 IOANNIS would recommend this property

Liked: Location was really good, quiet neighborhood, lots of small shops and supermarket close by, walking distance (10-15´) from Bellavista and close to metro station Santa Isabel (5mins). The staff is amazing, very friendly, ready to help with anything and we were allowed to leave 2 big bags for 20 days there because we did a Chile tour and returned to Santiago for one night to fly back to Europe. They were also kind enough to let us use one of their lockers for the whole time we were away. Friday BBQ TOP!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Westgarth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for two nights but had a very pleasant time and was very impressed with the amount of facilities on offer. Good kitchen and communal areas. Location was in a nice enough area and close to all amenities. Two stops on the tube to main touristy areas but also walkable.

Disliked: Nothing much.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good artmosphere, great breakfast, nice big rooms, clean bathrooms, very nice kitchen...just everything is very nice!

Disliked: slow computer

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Kauffmann Pedersen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 Martin Kauffmann would recommend this property

Liked: Good sort-of-central location, nice small pool, free decent breakfast and a frieldly staff. Another plus: very good madresses and plenty of bathrooms!

Disliked: Things can always be inproved, but I don't dislike anything about this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Arnesen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 December 2010 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: This must be the nicest hostel I've ever been to; it's like visiting a friend; the house is beautiful, with lots of space both inside and outdoors, the garden has a swimmingpool and the incredibly nice staff arranges barbeques, wine-evenings and even free spanish lessons upon request. Five bathrooms means no quewing and it's all very clean and tidy. The location is great; 15 min of walk for Baquedano Station and the Bella Vista district and the staff is more than willing to recommend what to do in Santiago. They also rent out bikes and arrange hiking tours. Great place for knowing people!

Disliked: You cannot not like this place

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 December 2010 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel. Have been travelling for 6 months and this would have to be the best hostel we have stayed in. Small hostel (20?) so you get to know everyone. Swimming pool is great on those hot days. Owner & Manager (Ivan & Ivan) really make the hostel and they both go out of their way to help out. Try to be there for the Friday BBQ too!!

Disliked: Nil

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the hostel was very helpful. We needed a hospital with an english speaking doctor. As it was not that easy to find they were available by phone and translated so that we got help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trinke Miedema

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 November 2010 Trinke would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff

Disliked: Trinke left no negative feedback.