HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

91.8% Overall Rating

406 out of 418 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/06/2014)

"Everything - best breakfast in South America, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed my stay!"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
27.15 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
21.21 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 81 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.91 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Providencia
13.57 USD

Hostel 91.8% 124 reviews
Hostal Romandia
33.93 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
44.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

406 out of 418 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 346 of 403 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little place with a good vibe. The staff are very friendly and it has good places to relax outside and by the pool. Friday nights are fun-- good food and wine.

Disliked: Not much.. a pillow case would have been nice and it can get pretty hot in the night in the room but it`s hot at the moment so can`t really be helped. Overall lovely

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly atmosphere, just love that place!!!everything was perfect!!!

Disliked: i liked everything, no compalints

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and great facilities... so many bathrooms you could never be caught short.. free wine night was a welcome treat and the pool was great.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wendy van der Kruijs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2011 Wendy would recommend this property

Liked: The Atmosphere and the really friendly owner. He takes care of great service. Every friday there is a bbq, unfortunatly we had to miss it, but we heard some really good stories about it.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Le Milinaire

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming atmosphere, the rooms and bathrooms are overall clean and well equiped, the lounge and dining area are a real plus. Very nice breakfast. Well situated and easy to access.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, nice breakfast, friendly staff, free bikes and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriele Cordes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

09 February 2011 Gabriele would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody of the stuff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to meet people! Everyone is really friendly. BBQ and wine nights are fun. And Ivan is a great host! He took a few of us to a local salsa club around the corner. Definitely a quiet, laid-back atmosphere.

Disliked: Drains were extremely slow in both sink and shower (we had the private double)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Bleith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: nice and helpfull stuff

Disliked: a little bit to walk to the centre, but the free bikes are a good way to go there

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Beagan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: - The staff are great - The hostel is small (20 beds) with lots of character, nice homely feel - Friday night BBQ is great fun - Nice chilled out vibe but partying opertunities if required - Great place to meet people, very friendly and social

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk from the city centre, but only ~20mins

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: where it was and the inside of the hostel itself...very comfortable!!

Disliked: not a lot!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its nice place,with beautiful garden

Disliked: location

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Bendele

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Friday evening asado! Excellent care of small swimming pool. Excellent care from staff.

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pool, plus shaded area to realx in. Good vibe amongst other travellers, friendly helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For everyone who are looking for a friendly and cosy place. Most travellers extend their stay here.

Disliked: Absolutley nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked - everything. We have stayed at a number of hostels on our round the world trip and this place certainly ranks as the best yet. Staff are great, clean place, just the right size and the bbq on friday nights are great. Pretty much most of guest stayed for the bbq so it was fun and enjoyable. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Colless

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: This property was like a haven in hot Santiago with a leafy area and pool out the back. The staff go out of their way to help you with whatever you need. When you arrive they provide you with a map of the local area with all the points of interest you need. There are free bikes to borrow for the day too. Rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms likewise. Great kitchen and although we missed it we hear the Friday night bbq is a cracker!! The owner brings out some free wine some nights too!! Fluffy towels ... yes please!

Disliked: Little to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice swimmingpool and good breakfast! Friendly staff, safe place, nice common area outside! Close to the metro.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shaz Davison

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 January 2011 Shaz would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in over 20 places in the last months and this place was my favorite hands down. WHY: I prefer smaller, quieter places but where I can meet people and still socialize. Ventana Sur offered it all. A house converted into a hostel with lots of bathrooms means never waiting. They have a few dorm rooms and a single room upstairs with 2 bathrooms upstairs but have 3 downstairs and yet another out by the pool next to the bungalow suite. The pool was nice and the social area was the perfect size to accommodate all guest and yet if you want a bit of space you can do that as well. Loved this place! I also love that the staff interact a lot with the guest and have bar-b-q, wine night and other events. Great times. I won't even think about going to another place if I come back to Santiago. The staff was always accommodating and took good care of everyone.

Disliked: The bungalow is the nicest room (though I only needed the single room to be satisfied) but it doesn't yet have wi-fi in the unit. Not a big deal since you only need to go outside to get it but it is the most expensive unit and I hope they get that issue taken care of soon to really make that unit perfect... they mentioned it is something they want to take care of soon. The pool was on the cold side but still nice to cool off and better than not having one at all. I would have stayed in it longer than 5 minutes had it not been so cold...other guests mentioned this too. A pool is a perk so this is not really a dislike, but an area that could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Higgins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay in Santiago. The hostel in always clean and the staff were amazing. They were really helpful, friendly and great fun. There was a free wine night the day we arrived and a great asado on the Friday night. The hostel has all the facilites you could hope for, and more (a swimming pool!)

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is both relaxed and friendly. They have wine nights and bar b ques. It is good for meeting other people. The place is clean, comfortable but not fussy. People can be themselves. The owner is genuinely interested in the people that stay here, and has time to talk to you and answer your questions.

Disliked: No microwave

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the accommodations. I felt at home.

Disliked: For lack of collaboration of other guests, the kitchen was not always clean and sanitized.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Newton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the pool. It was nice. And the staff got up at 4am to make us a coffee and breakfast before our taxi came for a flight, which was really considerate.

Disliked: We booked a private room but it was double booked on arrival. It was a little disappointing, but the guys made sure we only paid the right rate for sharing in the 8 person dorm.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meghan Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Meghan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, it was VERY clean, hot water, free wifi and had a great atmosphere. Great value for the money spent.

Disliked: It was a little far from the centre and touristic area, about 25 minutes walking, which was further than we would have liked. It is close to a metro station though.