HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostal Santiago Hostel

Claudio Arrau 0340, Providencia, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Steam room
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

Showing 61-18 of 18 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is good location and stuff is friendly and provide good information about places of interest.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I loved staying here! The rooms and beds are comfortable and clean. The hostel is actually a house, so it feels homely and welcoming, and the host, Ivan, is friendly, helpful and kind. There is hot water available all day, free wifi, a locker per person, a good breakfast included in the price. The location - although not central - is good, it's pleasantly quiet but only a 15-20 minute walk from the tourist sights, and with a metro station 5 minutes away. If I return to Santiago I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little run-down and could do with a bit of repair, but nonetheless are clean and functional.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great host, great location (safe and geen), great atmosphere. And the beds..... Amazing! Like sleeping on a Auping mattress with the best duvet since... home.. Slept until 10, whoops. But that did not matter because there is breakfast till everybody had some.

Disliked: The girl that took care of the breakfast did not put any extra on the buffet, when every thing was finished. Or she was not there or she did not notice. A little point to change would be nice.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is the best place we've ever stayed. We ended up staying for 2 weeks instead of 4 days. The hostel has everything you need(nice beds, warm showers, good breakfast, wifi, internet...) and it is in walking distance from anywhere you would want to go. Ivan will help you with anything and we already miss the place very much!

Disliked: Absolutly nothing! We loved this place..

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, really good breakfast

Disliked: It would be in a good location if you would like a relaxed quiet area, if you want to be near the nightlife then you should stay in bellavista.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

One thing for the other: if you want a quiet area where you can rest and sleep until late better not be close to area, we are only two trains station from the main Bellavista. Regarding to Atmosphire we can not do anything about it when is low season and people do not want to share.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in a private double with ensuite, it was huge and had a lovely little balcony! Plus it had a TV with movie channels! The owner was lovely, chatty and really helpful. The place was comfortable and relaxed. I would definitely stay there again. It's a bargain for what you get.

Disliked: I disliked nothing, but it is worth mentioning that whilst it's amazingly clean some of the decor is a little tired so don't expect perfection on that front ...

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything!!! it's an amazing place, does the job of a hostel perfectly and gives you so much more - it feels like a home for travellers rather than a hostel. Ivan is an outstanding host and his asado is to die for! if you have a chance, STAY IN VENTANA SUR! You will have a relaxed and you will recharge yoru batteries after stressful hostel experiences

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your words, all this is possible because of great customers like you. You are always welcome in our Hostel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Staff

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Home atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, runned by its owner, quiet and nice neighbourhood, breakfast buffet included in price, free wi-fi, kitchen to be used by guests, swimming pool, barbecue parties on some nights.

Disliked: Located in a small street difficult to be found. Not really so close to main attractions but still at walking distance from them.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We know it is a little difficult to find the hostel, this is one of the reasons we give people our surrounding map of the area, we send this map with your booking confirmation so you are ready to come to our nice neighbourhood.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Wonderful property, wonderful vibe, really good place to meet ther people without being loud. Great little pool, nice outdoor area and indoor area. good book swap going on. Good advice from Ivan on Santiago and around. Really good hostel

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability