HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

91.7% Overall Rating

407 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Michael Zavoico thinks…

"Liked so much about this hostel! What definitely sticks out in my mind, though, are two things. For one, the staff are incredible; I had such a wonderful time chatting (and partying!) with Ivan,…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
26.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 82 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.99 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Providencia
0.02 USD

Hostel 90.9% 128 reviews
Hostal Romandia
33.30 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
57.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

407 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 347 of 404 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Benbrook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Ventana Sur was a great place with a really nice chilled out vibe. Evan and Carlos were really helpful and friendly answering all of our questions. We needed to chill for a few days and this was the prefect place. Small pool, tables to eat at and meet people. We stayed in the garden bungalow which is a really nice size with a wardrobe, desk, shelves and a TV! Very close to Santa Isabel metro stop so easy to get into the centre, but you can easily walk too. Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel cross

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good place in general.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 April 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: great base in Santiago, really helpful staff and good group of other travelers when we stayed there!

Disliked: hmmmm... guess the pool could be a bit warmer...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Leatherland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time at Ventana Sur. The hostel is so clean, beds are comfortable, the pool and garden area are really nice too. But the thing that makes this hostel so great is the staff. Ivan, Damaris and Carlos are three of the nicest, friendliest people I have ever met, they are all so approachable and welcoming. If I ever go back to Santiago I would not even look at other hostels. Ventana Sur is by far the best.

Disliked: Everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ....a wonderful and quiet oasis in the big city....very friendly and uncomplicated atmosphere, where you do not only meet young partytravellers....

Disliked: ....its hard to get out of the hostel and visit the city, because it is so great to hang around between living room, terasse and swimmingpool....

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice relaxed vibe, really really clean, great swimming pool and sun deck, really easy to find thanks to great directions and really close to downtown

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Goodrich

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2011 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: All good, safe, staff nice, secure place for valuables

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing place, free breakfast, really helpful staff

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing! The owner, Ivan, was incredibly friendly & generous, and extremely helpful. I loved the house. I loved the back porch & pool. The location was great. Breakfast was good. We liked it so much that we came back and stayed again. And if we ever make it back to Santiago, I will stay there again. Thanks for everything!

Disliked: We had some problems with their WiFi, but eventually got connected through a different source.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, low cost, quiet

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nicole Cook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel in Providencia area. Nice pool, outside sitting area.

Disliked: In a mostly residential area so not too much around.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elin Linnea Westergren

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011

Liked: Absolutely great hostel with a warm & welcoming atmosphere! Nice rooms with comfy beds, toilets & kitchen always clean, great common areas with TV, Wi-fi, pretty garden and nice pool. Really good breakfast - served until 12! Great place to meet people & the owner and staff make you feel right at home and are very helpful! Would definitely stay here again - Highly recommended!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful Staff. Perfect Hostel for Santiago!

Disliked: Nichts negatives

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria popson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 maria would recommend this property

Liked: all good great place, relaxed,cool place , good price, nice staff, good location,safe,clean

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Hagel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Great, informative staff. Quiet, beautiful neighborhood that is still close to everything. Clean kitchen, clean rooms, very comfortable. Great place to stay.

Disliked: I wish I could have stayed longer

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvana Homann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2011 Silvana would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the best hostels i've been to, the owner is very friendly and helpful! I had so much fun during the whole stay that i didnt wanne leave. Everytime I meet someone who is plannin on goin to santiago, I tell him/her to stay at the Ventana Sur :) Loved it!

Disliked: /

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast and friendly patio

Disliked: not as central as other hostels, a bit difficult to find cheap restaurants and bars in the area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petra Oosterdijk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Everything was fine

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, nice and quiet but good to meet other travellers

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit erratic, needed to be replenished more often, also same with soap and toilet rolls in bathroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and great value for the money!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guy who runs the place is very helpful. Lockers are provided in the communal area for free. Dorm rooms are big and the beds are excellent. The communal areas are nicely laid out to encourage mixing with the other travellers and the BBQ on Friday is highly recommended! Excellent all-round.

Disliked: Nothing major! It is a bit of a walk to the city centre but its safe enough, and there is a metro station 5 minutes away if you can't be bothered. If the manager happens to read this and is looking to make minor improvements, having the cleaning lady clean the toilets every day is great, but doing it in the hour before check-out isn't the best time!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly place, very clean, very good facilities

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i´ve ever was!

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

James Goulden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Decent clean hostel

Disliked: wifi wouldn't work properly. it's location on a sunday night is terrible as all the local bars and resturants are closed