HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

92.6% Overall Rating

400 out of 411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Marise Gunderson thinks…

"The overall vibe at the hostel was very relaxed and Ivans hospitality and advice was excellent. It felt more like visiting a friend. The kitchen facilities were good and there was free cofee tea,…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
28.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
22.19 USD

Guesthouse 93.1% 79 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.38 USD

Hostel 91.2% 116 reviews
Hostal Providencia
14.20 USD

Hostel 90.7% 112 reviews
Hostal Romandia
35.50 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

400 out of 411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 342 of 396 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Davis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff are great, very helpful. It has a smaller atmosphere than many of the giant hostels in santaigo, which means its more comfertable and i was able to sleep when i wanted. Really nice comfertors too, the big fluffy ones! The breakfast is excellent, with yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, really nice warm bread all available whenever you are ready to eat, even if you sleep in. Overall i had a wonderful experience!

Disliked: its a bit far from down town, but still very close to the metro which goes everywhere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, everything is super clean, hot water all the time, internet is very fast, common area couches are very comfortable...beanbag chairs!!

Disliked: One of the two bathrooms is small...I'm really reaching here though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, fairly small, almost family like. Staff very helpful, free bbq, wine and salsa lessons.

Disliked: Location could have been better, but near to a metro!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lounge, communal area, kitchen and breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Domênico Paulo dos Santos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2011 Domênico would recommend this property

Liked: The place is organizate and clean. The bedrooms are great and the localization is perfect (close to the subway, supermarket, restaurants). The owner has a list of the closest places in map. I recomend and I will come back one day !

Disliked: For me the place was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leonardo Bispo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 July 2011 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: all. incredible

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, people very helpful and friendly..more like a family!

Disliked: After showering the bathroom was quite wet for a longer time..but nothing really to complain about

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacquelyn Cannon

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 May 2011 Jacquelyn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great!...very helpful and nice. It was a very short walk to the metro, as well as a grocery store and pubs/restaurants. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe in the area.

Disliked: No dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Friday night BBQ is a must and the staff are always so friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We were staying in the rooms in the out house and couldnt get into the main house through the night to access the kitchen etc. We also couldnt get out of the hostel without having to wake up a member of staff.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2011

Liked: Close to the metro. But does not compare favorably to many other hostels.

Disliked: The kitchen does not smell good. Just very average all in all. There are no lockers in the dorms.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great, even supplied a couple of glasses of vino each evening! Beds are comfortable. Really nice homely feel.

Disliked: Location's not the best but not awful either.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owner and staff. A relaxed sociable environment, and very clean. Simple, but good breakfast and a very safe location.

Disliked: Wireless internet had very limited range, so don't expect it to work outside the communal living areas. There were no hot showers available in the mornings all three days i was there, which is not a problem if you're a later riser, but if you have places to be at 9am and enjoy hot water, you might look elsewhere for accommodation.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels really like home, the people working there were very nice and helpful. And the garden and living room made it really easy to get in contact with other people!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, good location, access to subway

Disliked: propane heater in bedroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sabryna pitch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 sabryna would recommend this property

Liked: relaxing atmosphere, owner very helpful and fixed my bag for me. Secure at all times and breakfast is nice! The location is perfect and in a nice neighbourhood! The place feels like a house share rather than a hostel so it is much nicer! Staying here again I liked it so much!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrique Peixoto Trevisan

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 April 2011 Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: very good place to stay!

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Kitchen, comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Bit of a party hostel, don't expect to get any sleep before at least 2am on a friday.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lacey welch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 lacey would recommend this property

Liked: Ventana Sur was a FANTASTIC hostel!! The atmosphere was great, the owner was wonderful, I cannot say enough good things about this place!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great communal areas, a good hostel to meet people. Good breakfast ( cereal, fruit, bread, jam, yoghurt)

Disliked: The music during the BBQ got very loud between 2am and 3am on the Friday night ( we were already in bed so couldn't sleep for that hour). Not a huge problem though as it was only one night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vernon Haumant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Vernon would recommend this property

Liked: The team running it are helpful and fun, the dorms are a fair size and the communal area is good sized for chilling. Not a party hostel, though the Friday night asado is a blast!

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Benbrook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2011 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Ventana Sur was a great place with a really nice chilled out vibe. Evan and Carlos were really helpful and friendly answering all of our questions. We needed to chill for a few days and this was the prefect place. Small pool, tables to eat at and meet people. We stayed in the garden bungalow which is a really nice size with a wardrobe, desk, shelves and a TV! Very close to Santa Isabel metro stop so easy to get into the centre, but you can easily walk too. Highly recommended.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel cross

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good place in general.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 April 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: great base in Santiago, really helpful staff and good group of other travelers when we stayed there!

Disliked: hmmmm... guess the pool could be a bit warmer...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Leatherland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time at Ventana Sur. The hostel is so clean, beds are comfortable, the pool and garden area are really nice too. But the thing that makes this hostel so great is the staff. Ivan, Damaris and Carlos are three of the nicest, friendliest people I have ever met, they are all so approachable and welcoming. If I ever go back to Santiago I would not even look at other hostels. Ventana Sur is by far the best.

Disliked: Everything was great.