We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

91.7% Overall Rating

407 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Michael Zavoico thinks…

"Liked so much about this hostel! What definitely sticks out in my mind, though, are two things. For one, the staff are incredible; I had such a wonderful time chatting (and partying!) with Ivan,…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
26.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 82 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Providencia
12.49 USD

Hostel 90.3% 130 reviews
Hostal Romandia
33.30 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

407 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 347 of 404 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, there is a swimming pool and the bathrooms are big. The staff is very friendly and easygoing. Really raccomended to everybody

Disliked: Maybe the location but is very close to the subway station so it does'n matter at all.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great patio, the pool is a great way to cool off. Ivan is really helpful, and there is a really excellent breakfast with dulce de leche!

Disliked: no lockers in dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrique Mendonca

Alone

Business / conference

21 November 2011 Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very kind, it has a house atmosphere. The best attraction is the bike available.

Disliked: The pillow.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roanne Logtenberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 November 2011 Roanne would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, the staff, the swimmingpool offcourse ;) If you are going to Santiago Ventana Sur will give it a better touch.

Disliked: Nothing :)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere with lovely and helpful staff. Would recommend it highly.

Disliked: nothing worth commenting about

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anthony Hitchen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: it was a cool little hostel with a friendly vibe. It was tidy and they offer breakfast until everyone has eaten. The pool is a nice touch.

Disliked: Cold shower when I tried to have one, and it was not powerful at all.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2011

Liked: Info

Disliked: No credit cards allowed, not near the centre, no "free great breakfast" (just minimalist breakfast), and no towel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked staying here, the staff were amazing and helpful. The beds were comfy and there were small lockers available downstairs for valuables. Its a really sociable environment and we met lots of people.

Disliked: Unfortunately they didn`t have a cleaner so the bathrooms were in need of a good clean as well as the dorms (very dusty floors and overflowing bins). The kitchen was fine but i think they were struggling. I believe this is being rectified now so hopefully all the dirt will go in the bathrooms upstairs!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: Cold showers!!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ventana Sur is a great small hostel. Don't expect a massive party scene, but Ivan and company will be very welcoming hosts, and they do a great job of facilitating interactions between the guests. You can almost always find people out on the patio enjoying wine and chatting it up! The internet is absurdly fast (like faster than my internet at home, which is fast!)

Disliked: There isn't actually much to do in the immediate vicinity of the hostel, as it's in a residential neighborhood, but the metro is only a 5-7 minute walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keegan Sinnott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Keegan would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan was by far the best host we have had, really friendly laid back atmosphere where everyone seemed to have a great time, really enjoyed this hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rodrigo costa

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: todo perfecto. el mejor hostal de todos nuestrros viajes. excelente hospitalidad... me senti muy acojida y como en casa... volveria y lo recomendaria.. muy limpio, muy amable, atento, muy dispuesto... muy felices de nuestra experiencia en el hostel

Disliked: nada. es perfecto..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan was very helpful, he called ahead to reserve wine tours, printed directions and helped as much as possible

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brigitte Wagner

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Brigitte would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here, everyone is friendly and helpfull. The place is clean and has the best shower and the best beds we had during our travel :) We really liked it. The kitchen is quite big and has everything you need for cooking! Especially the owner of the hostal is very nice and we were welcomed with a real good BBQ :) Actually it is Home far away from Home! :)

Disliked: nothing, we really enjoyed our stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Home away from home!

Disliked: The only thing which is not perfect in this hostel is the blade sharpeners! :-)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011

Liked: Friendly staff who speak English provided maps, directions, helped with transfers and advice.

Disliked: The noise! Limited sized common area is below bedrooms. Guests partied until 1am, A second group came home at 2 am and stayed up partying until 4:30am,. Definitely no way to get any sleep here on nights like this one! This would be the one reason I wouldn't recommend this place. Advice from Hostelbookers was to use $US to pay for accommodation but a sign at the front door said "US$ not accepted" - which used up .limited local cash.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Brosnan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and clean

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely obliging owner who was very helpful and accommodating. Excellent breakfast and also lounge area with DVDs etc.

Disliked: Slightly far from centre but still walkable at night plus subway near by. It Didnt bother us really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a really nice place to stay with a staff really helpfull. We had a really good barbecue with good chile's wine. Thanks you

Disliked: there's two bathroom but one of them is a bit small

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great at this hostel, best by far I have visited.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the pool, the people

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

nicolas Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2011 nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: everithing was great, nice staff, good atmosphere and very good location

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Avled Oliveira

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2011 Avled would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing private room, very clean, seemed more like a hotel than a hostel. Very helpfull staff. You even get a map with places to eat and supermarkets/laundry/etc nearby.

Disliked: The reservation from hostelbookers came with the amount due in dollars, and I found nothing saying it should be payed in pesos, so I only had dollars when arrived. But the property doesn't accept dollars or credit cards. However I must state that the owner was very helpfull and understanding and accepted my payment in dollars since the currency exchanges were all closed.