We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

91.7% Overall Rating

407 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Michael Zavoico thinks…

"Liked so much about this hostel! What definitely sticks out in my mind, though, are two things. For one, the staff are incredible; I had such a wonderful time chatting (and partying!) with Ivan,…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
26.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 82 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Providencia
12.49 USD

Hostel 90.3% 130 reviews
Hostal Romandia
33.30 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
57.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

407 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 347 of 404 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly,helpful owner. We stayed in one of the bungalows which we booked last minute-very nice and quiet. Great kitchen & dining area. Good breakfast. Good location, only 4 metro stops (or 25min walk) from plaza del Armas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eddie Randall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2012 Eddie would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome people and atmosphere, helpful staff.

Disliked: Eddie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A interação acontece naturalmente. O espaço de uma casa grande encaixou como uma luva para um albergue com poucas vagas. A localização é excelente, perto de metrô, restaurantes em conta, bares, tudo sem deixar de estar em uma rua quase sem trânsito.

Disliked: Para quem procura conforto, antes de tudo, não deveria procurar albergue. Você sempre vai encontrar alguém que balança o seu beliche, que ronca à noite... fatores que não são da alçada do albergue. Contudo, a ducha quente não funciona a contento e o fato de não ter cofres nos quartos dificulta um pouco a tranquilidade.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annemette Tjoernelund

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Annemette would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best place we've ever stayed. We ended up staying for 2 weeks instead of 4 days. The hostel has everything you need(nice beds, warm showers, good breakfast, wifi, internet...) and it is in walking distance from anywhere you would want to go. Ivan will help you with anything and we already miss the place very much!

Disliked: Absolutly nothing! We loved this place..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorna Flood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double with ensuite, it was huge and had a lovely little balcony! Plus it had a TV with movie channels! The owner was lovely, chatty and really helpful. The place was comfortable and relaxed. I would definitely stay there again. It's a bargain for what you get.

Disliked: I disliked nothing, but it is worth mentioning that whilst it's amazingly clean some of the decor is a little tired so don't expect perfection on that front ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adeline westerveld

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Adeline would recommend this property

Liked: Great host, great location (safe and geen), great atmosphere. And the beds..... Amazing! Like sleeping on a Auping mattress with the best duvet since... home.. Slept until 10, whoops. But that did not matter because there is breakfast till everybody had some.

Disliked: The girl that took care of the breakfast did not put any extra on the buffet, when every thing was finished. Or she was not there or she did not notice. A little point to change would be nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Lewieniec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!! it's an amazing place, does the job of a hostel perfectly and gives you so much more - it feels like a home for travellers rather than a hostel. Ivan is an outstanding host and his asado is to die for! if you have a chance, STAY IN VENTANA SUR! You will have a relaxed and you will recharge yoru batteries after stressful hostel experiences

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Home atmosphere, very helpful and friendly staff, runned by its owner, quiet and nice neighbourhood, breakfast buffet included in price, free wi-fi, kitchen to be used by guests, swimming pool, barbecue parties on some nights.

Disliked: Located in a small street difficult to be found. Not really so close to main attractions but still at walking distance from them.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful property, wonderful vibe, really good place to meet ther people without being loud. Great little pool, nice outdoor area and indoor area. good book swap going on. Good advice from Ivan on Santiago and around. Really good hostel

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janine McCue

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan the owner was a very nice personable guy, helpful staff! Clean rooms and bathrooms, the pool was fantastic, the brekfast was great. Definately recommend, we would stay again if need be!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Hawtin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan the manager is great!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, such fantastic and friendly staff, nice communal area, kitchen facilities, swimming pool, free wifi. Would highly recommend and would defintely stay again

Disliked: Nothing - wish we could have stayed longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels of my whole trip! The staff was very friendly and helpful, I had a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Pollard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel. I liked it so much that I stayed here twice - once at the beginning of my trip and once at the end! It's easy to meet other travellers here and the staff are cool. Nice and clean, enough space in the rooms, and with a good atmosphere. There are books which you can read and exchange, and a free computer with internet. Lockers and towel are added bonuses, which I didn't find in other hostels in Chile.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jean-René CHARTON

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 jean-René would recommend this property

Liked: all

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-René CHARTON

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Jean-René would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

SOOJAE LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 SOOJAE would recommend this property

Liked: Good! U should enjoy the pool. ;-)

Disliked: SOOJAE left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eric Wong

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012

Liked: OK location but too quiet; kind of far to get food.

Disliked: The back patio door was left open during duck, which lead to a lot of bug bites on my arm. The beds were a little rickety.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pascal Couture

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: The strong point of this Hostel is its owner and staff. Very helpful but most of all they make your stay enjoyable. I had a great experience and the Parilla was fabulous. Other travelers there were great too.

Disliked: Did not stay long enough

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this place. Staff were really helpful and not trying to push anything saleswise. Fantastic pool - clean and actually a reasonably size, not like some of the 'pools' other hostels sometimes claim to have. Good kitchen facilities with sharp knives! Generally a relaxed place and not too big so easy to meet people.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small and very friendly hostel in a safe (but still central) area of Santiago, 3 blocks from the metro. The owner is INCREDIBLY helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is lovely and the whole hostel is super clean. One of the best hostels i've stayed in.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything, central location, comfy beds, perfect swimming pool, great staff, plenty of hot showers!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Owner. Tidy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcos Linhares

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: Very good place, great atmosphere, good breakfast ! I lost my wallet at centre and have all the support and help from Ivan a very good person ! Now I know a lot of persons who knows Ivan and everyone speaks very highly about him !

Disliked: at first just a bit not so very easy to find , cause a small and very quiet street ! but is very close to Santa Isabel metro station and close to everything, supermarkets and many good restaurants of great value for money !