We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

92.6% Overall Rating

419 out of 431 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2015)

Ivan Mazuruka Fachini thinks…

"Estadia muito agradável. Pessoal preparado e atencioso. Higiene, banheiro, café-da-manhã e cozinha muito bons. As instalações não são novas, mas…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
23.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Gallo con tacos
18.14 USD

Guesthouse 95.0% 93 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.21 USD

Hostel 89.5% 133 reviews
Hostal Providencia
13.06 USD

Hostel 88.7% 165 reviews
Hostal Romandia
21.77 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Ecohostel
7.42 USD

Hostel 84.1% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

419 out of 431 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 354 of 416 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert howes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, reccomend

Disliked: robert left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Dore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 February 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A great, laid back hostel. Very friendly & helpful staff. Good breakfast and fast wifi included and a nice plunge pool to boot. Bit out of the centre but in what seems a very safe area close to the Metro (centre easily walkable) and pretty much all facilites

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tessa Ely

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Pool!! Great atmosphere. Diamond in the ruff. Ivan was super helpful ahead of the time w setting up airport pick up n

Disliked: Location is far from the main drag of Santiago and bus stations but only ten min walk to metro

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, huge tv, beds were comfortable

Disliked: From my girlfriends and my opinion the atmosphere could be better. One of the staff was always sitting in front of his laptop with earphones in his ears...even at the table when there was breakfast.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice character, friendly helpful staff, good tv with films, swimming pool, quiet location and proper bathrooms.

Disliked: Rickety metal beds!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Staff

Disliked: Quality of beds and bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Micaela Muro

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Micaela would recommend this property

Liked: I had a blast at Ventana Sur. Ivan and the staff are fantastic people, very friendly And willing to help you. The mattresses are super comfy and the swimming pool is a definetly plus for Santiago's hot summer. The atmosfere is very fiendly but not in the "party hostel" kind of like, still is easy to do your own stuff if you feel like. I spent Xmas eve there and Ivan made a terrific asado for a lots of guests, we dances, drinked and had a lot of fun. Location is ok, in a quiet hood with stores and food around, 20 min walking away from downtown and just a few blocks from the metro. An awesome Hostel, totally recommended!

Disliked: A little bit hot in the rooms at night (no fan or ac)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers. The staff were very friendly and helpful as was the owner. There was a free chicken bbq the first night I was there and the next day the owner took us out for lunch and paid for wine for us, so generous of him.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2012 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, it feels like home and Ivan, Jason and Fletcher were amazing.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Waclaw Berzynski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Waclaw would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: everything fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Francisco Souza Ribeiro

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Luiz Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: We have chosen Ventana due to the good reviews and they are all true. Bathroom is fine, bed and linens confortable. They lend towels for free and so on... The Hostel is at a very good location in Santiago. Near good restaurants, the subway and all kind of facilities. A good place to chill and meet a couple of travellers. Absolutely not a party hostel. Great for couples!

Disliked: We had a little electricity problem and coudn' t use the iron in our room. All the rest was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend the private double room that overlooks the pool - really great value for money and a very spacious room. Really close to the metro line too which was handy.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly atmosphere. More like a home away from home. Ivan welcomes you to be part of the family.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade carroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: awesome friendly staff, lovely people, friendly and relaxed =)

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan was so welcoming when we first got there. Our bus was over 2 hours late from Mendoza and we got there at 10.30pm. He fed us and provided us with much needed alcohol. The outside communal area is great and the pool is the cleanest I have seen. The breakfast is served until basically everyone has eaten-so that could be 2pm in the afternoon if someone requests it. We really enjoyed our stay here and although the hostel is not in the hustle and bustle of Santiago it is only a 15-20 minute walk to Bella Vistaand the main park where the zoo is. There are lots of restaurants nearby and a massive supermarket and bank. We definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing really, I would say just the distance maybe as at night time if you do want to go to a club you would have to get a cab to Bella Vista or elsewhere. Otherwise, we were very happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hutchinson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy and simplicity

Disliked: Breakfast could be more varied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Young

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: set in a tranquil residential district 5mins walk from shops bars and the efficient metro system this ultra friendly hostel is professionally but sensitively run by genial and hospitable owner Ivan.Delightful pool in rear garden sundeck fast free Wifi superb surround sound TV DVD system sumptious barbecues all combine to create a peaceful haven from frenetic Santiago.Dont be surprised if like many before you linger longer than planned.For more privacy book the detached garden cabana!!In short a good value comfortable unequivocally recommended home from home Jeffrey Young

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyler Parkes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: It was big and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and easy going

Disliked: The room was sweltering, I slept maybe 20 minutes the whole night.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wellington Menezes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Wellington would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan is a good man. Helped me with information about the city and around.

Disliked: Wellington left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and relaxed travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone alms to each other. The owner is very helpful & is very out going. Helped me with directions to a football stadium amongst other locations. Hostel is a five minute walk to local metro station,

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aanne Darr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Aanne would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just perfect. Everything is clean, the breakfast is great and the location is amazing. You are in the city center but not in a busy area, so you can sleep very well. Above all, the owner, Ivan, is super friendly and we had a awesome time with him. Had the best BBQ ever. Definitely the best hostel on our trip.

Disliked: Aanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony & Beth Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Tony & Beth would recommend this property

Liked: The Friday night BBQ, excellent time, great swimming pool, and the helpfulness of all the staff and the other back packers.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Viney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and a top notch breakfast!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpfull, clean, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.