HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostal Santiago Hostel

Claudio Arrau 0340, Providencia, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Microwave
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Not Included"
  • Towels for hire
  • Utensils
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 92%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 91%

Location 86%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 91%

Showing 11-19 of 19 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Liked so much about this hostel! What definitely sticks out in my mind, though, are two things. For one, the staff are incredible; I had such a wonderful time chatting (and partying!) with Ivan, Chris, and Isabella, they're such wonderful people. Secondly, I loved the community aspect of this small, quaint hostel. It's so easy to meet other travelers around the breakfast table or while cooking in the kitchen.

Disliked: It's not that I disliked it, but I felt that the location could've been a TAD better. That doesn't take anything away from the property, though, I would absolutely stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: its a quiet place where you can hide away from the santiago huzzle.

Disliked: i staid in this hostel two times in the cabanha and although they say check-in is at 13:30 we never checked in before 15:30. every time we arrived they said "oh we still have to clean up2...for about 45 minutes. first time its ok but second time it shows they just dont care. the second time the price was much higher also it was also low season, dont understand their price politics. all in all the place is nice but a little untended. The pool didnt really invite for swimming as it was very dirty. breakfast is ok, nothing special. me I would not go again but I went there as couple, probably for chill out backpackers it might be a cool place to stay.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything - best breakfast in South America, very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed my stay!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome place to stay, Ivan is extremely helpful. The breakfast is great, only a 5min train in to the centre of the city or 15 mins walk. Rooms are large and beds are comfy. Very Safe and secure.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has a cosy family feel to it. Seems like everyone pitches in with the running of it. They were quick to help me out with anything I needed.

Disliked: The staff tend to like to party which meant no breakfast on one occasion and loud music into the night on another. But they are good folk overall just a little blotch on the cv.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The overall vibe at the hostel was very relaxed and Ivans hospitality and advice was excellent. It felt more like visiting a friend. The kitchen facilities were good and there was free cofee tea, pasta rice and herbs and spices. We stayed in the room out the back, which was quiet and had comfortable bed and good bathroom. There was a pool that would be nice to use in summer . There was good social spaces that encouraged interaction with other travellers which was great.

Disliked: Some of the younger guests tried to get out of cleaning up after cooking- I suggested a sign saying You Mum does not live here so clean up after your self. Ivan thought that was a good idea.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very helpful, friendly staff, nice pool

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff here were so fantastic! They helped us with everything and even assisted us when we got scammed in Santiago and offered us a bed again late at night. Great homely atmosphere with lots of BBQ and group dinners organised at the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We had a double private room with ensuite and it felt very much like a hotel. We had a gas heater which warmed the room up very well on cold days. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. The staff were very helpful with recommendations for food and activities.

Disliked: The wi-fi did not quite reach into our room, which meant we had to go out to use the internet.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Helpful staff,good location

Disliked: terrible WiFi,seriously,I'm in my next place in Santiago uploading pictures from my room,here,it was terrible,a slow,patchy signal limiting what you can do.your in one of the most picturesque places in the world and can't tell anyone

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Mason,
It is our priority to ensure you are happy whilst staying here.
However, due to the fact that you never alerted us to your ever-so severe problem about uploading photos, there is no way for us to have been able to help you.
We recommend that the next time you are so distressed with a factor at your accommodation, you bring it to the attention of the owner or other members of staff. Even in one the most picturesque places in the world, communication is key.

Check Availability