We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ventana Sur Hostel

Hostel | Claudio Arrau 0340, Santiago, Chile 7501288

91.7% Overall Rating

407 out of 419 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Michael Zavoico thinks…

"Liked so much about this hostel! What definitely sticks out in my mind, though, are two things. For one, the staff are incredible; I had such a wonderful time chatting (and partying!) with Ivan,…"

Read all Ventana Sur Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Atacama Student House
26.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Almirante Riveros B&B
21.65 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 82 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.99 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Hostal Providencia
12.49 USD

Hostel 90.9% 128 reviews
Hostal Romandia
33.30 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 16 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
57.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

407 out of 419 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ventana Sur Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 347 of 404 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good atmosphere, easy to meet other travellers. The staff were very friendly and helpful as was the owner. There was a free chicken bbq the first night I was there and the next day the owner took us out for lunch and paid for wine for us, so generous of him.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Francis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2012 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, it feels like home and Ivan, Jason and Fletcher were amazing.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Waclaw Berzynski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Waclaw would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: everything fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Francisco Souza Ribeiro

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Luiz Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: We have chosen Ventana due to the good reviews and they are all true. Bathroom is fine, bed and linens confortable. They lend towels for free and so on... The Hostel is at a very good location in Santiago. Near good restaurants, the subway and all kind of facilities. A good place to chill and meet a couple of travellers. Absolutely not a party hostel. Great for couples!

Disliked: We had a little electricity problem and coudn' t use the iron in our room. All the rest was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend the private double room that overlooks the pool - really great value for money and a very spacious room. Really close to the metro line too which was handy.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Warm and friendly atmosphere. More like a home away from home. Ivan welcomes you to be part of the family.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade carroll

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2012 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: awesome friendly staff, lovely people, friendly and relaxed =)

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan was so welcoming when we first got there. Our bus was over 2 hours late from Mendoza and we got there at 10.30pm. He fed us and provided us with much needed alcohol. The outside communal area is great and the pool is the cleanest I have seen. The breakfast is served until basically everyone has eaten-so that could be 2pm in the afternoon if someone requests it. We really enjoyed our stay here and although the hostel is not in the hustle and bustle of Santiago it is only a 15-20 minute walk to Bella Vistaand the main park where the zoo is. There are lots of restaurants nearby and a massive supermarket and bank. We definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing really, I would say just the distance maybe as at night time if you do want to go to a club you would have to get a cab to Bella Vista or elsewhere. Otherwise, we were very happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hutchinson

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy and simplicity

Disliked: Breakfast could be more varied.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Young

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2012 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: set in a tranquil residential district 5mins walk from shops bars and the efficient metro system this ultra friendly hostel is professionally but sensitively run by genial and hospitable owner Ivan.Delightful pool in rear garden sundeck fast free Wifi superb surround sound TV DVD system sumptious barbecues all combine to create a peaceful haven from frenetic Santiago.Dont be surprised if like many before you linger longer than planned.For more privacy book the detached garden cabana!!In short a good value comfortable unequivocally recommended home from home Jeffrey Young

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tyler Parkes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

06 November 2012 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: It was big and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and easy going

Disliked: The room was sweltering, I slept maybe 20 minutes the whole night.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wellington Menezes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2012 Wellington would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan is a good man. Helped me with information about the city and around.

Disliked: Wellington left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and relaxed travellers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 October 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone alms to each other. The owner is very helpful & is very out going. Helped me with directions to a football stadium amongst other locations. Hostel is a five minute walk to local metro station,

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aanne Darr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 Aanne would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is just perfect. Everything is clean, the breakfast is great and the location is amazing. You are in the city center but not in a busy area, so you can sleep very well. Above all, the owner, Ivan, is super friendly and we had a awesome time with him. Had the best BBQ ever. Definitely the best hostel on our trip.

Disliked: Aanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tony & Beth Hamilton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Tony & Beth would recommend this property

Liked: The Friday night BBQ, excellent time, great swimming pool, and the helpfulness of all the staff and the other back packers.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Viney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and a top notch breakfast!

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpfull, clean, good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronan Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Ronan would recommend this property

Liked: Ivan is a legend, we had a wonderful stay and a great night out in Salsa Brave. It is so close, but not too close to the action. Having come from traveling in Oz and NZ it was so nice to have free wi-fi etc. Staff were very friendly and helped us feel so settled after a long flight and 17 hour time change. Loved our staff will be back. Ivan will sort you out!!

Disliked: Not much to dislike in my book

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It;s a perfect place with very friendly staff with a lot of knowledge of the city. All necessary facilities are there, and more. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rozana costa miranda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 rozana costa would recommend this property

Liked: A prestatividade do Ivan (responsavel pelo hostel), sempre disposto a ajudar, mesmo entendendo pouco de português. As roupas de cama tb são super limpas e o ambiente bem festivo.

Disliked: Os quartos eram muito frios devido a ausência de calefação e o café da manha não era servido no horario combinado.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ROBSON SERAFIM GIMENES

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 ROBSON SERAFIM would recommend this property

Liked: a hospitalidade do Ivan, sempre atento e prestativo e a interação entre os hóspedes que só acontece num Hostel mesmo, em hotéis jamais isso vai acontecer!

Disliked: o fato de não ter armários dentro dos quartos!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Morgan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here! The rooms and beds are comfortable and clean. The hostel is actually a house, so it feels homely and welcoming, and the host, Ivan, is friendly, helpful and kind. There is hot water available all day, free wifi, a locker per person, a good breakfast included in the price. The location - although not central - is good, it's pleasantly quiet but only a 15-20 minute walk from the tourist sights, and with a metro station 5 minutes away. If I return to Santiago I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: The bathrooms are a little run-down and could do with a bit of repair, but nonetheless are clean and functional.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good location and stuff is friendly and provide good information about places of interest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, really good breakfast

Disliked: It would be in a good location if you would like a relaxed quiet area, if you want to be near the nightlife then you should stay in bellavista.

The property's response is...