We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of casAltura Hostel

Guesthouse | San Antonio 811 (Downtown), Santiago, Chile 8320020

84.8% Overall Rating

87 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

Roy Titheridge thinks…

"Close to the Metro, a Supermarket, Buses etc. Just across from the main food Market ( massive) Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and full use of kitchen. Everything you need and few of…"

Read all casAltura Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.14

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- Reservations canceled up to 2 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. - Reservations canceled 24 or fewer hours in advance will be charged 100% of the first night. - There will be a charge of 10% of the total amount at the time of booking (non refundable amount).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 110 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
9.99 USD

Hostel 82.6% 312 reviews
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 10 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Lucia Suites
14.99 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal del Barrio
16.65 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

87 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'casAltura Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 90 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roy Titheridge

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2014 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Metro, a Supermarket, Buses etc. Just across from the main food Market ( massive) Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and full use of kitchen. Everything you need and few of what you don't need.

Disliked: A bit noisy being so close to the road but you can't have all things.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014

Liked: great building, spacious rooms, great terrace

Disliked: horrible showers! tried four different ones... they barely dribble

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 5 bed dorm was airy and spacious with high ceilings and big windows. Comfortable beds Good common areas / nice lounges and lovely roof terrace

Disliked: Unreliable hot water - sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. Bathrooms / general cleaning could have been better. Breakfast ok - didn't have half the stuff the advertised eg fruit

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Most common areas are of high standards and the staff is extremely helpful. The breakfast came with cheese and ham, even after 9 am (some people say it runs out at 9 but it didn't). The rooftop terrace is awesome. The hostel is walking distance from Bellavista neighbourhoud and only a few blocks from Plaza de Armas and metro stations.

Disliked: Since this place advertises itself as a boutique hostel, there are a few loose ends. The bathrooms are dated and the shower I used had no pressure at all so I had to kneel down to wash myself. There were almost no clothes hooks in the bathroom. The kitchen is small and also dated. Wifi only works in the reception area, not in the rooms upstairs or on the rooftop terrace. They try to charge ridiculous prices ($ 25 for a dorm bed) if you would like to stay extra nights in a different type of accommodation. When I was there, lights didn't work in some parts of the hallway so it was completely dark there and I had to carry a flashlight around. The front door often doesn't shut properly and it is possible to walk directly upstairs and bypass reception, so security is not optimal. Considering the price I paid through hostelbookers it was fine, but it is not worth their official prices.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: After reading about this hostel in the Lonely Planet, I expected much more. The staff hardly spoke any English, they gave me wrong directions to the bus terminal. Breakfast is average, and they run out of fruits and ham before 9 am. The floor is squeaky and from my room I could hear everyone passing by my door in the night. In one bathroom there was no tap water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is located very centrally, you can walk into the city centre by foot and reach other destinations with a very close metro station! The staff was very friendly and always helped us out, for example with a hairdryer ;-) The breakfast was nice: Tea, coffee, cereals, fruit salad, bread, cheese, marmelade etc. -> but you should be an early bird to get all of it! It was clean and relaxed, there is a comfortable lobby (with computers) with couches and a room to hang around, watch movies etc.

Disliked: There is a major street next to the hostel, so it might me that it is a bit noisy sometimes. I was able to sleep, though! The Wifi signal sometimes does not reach to the rooms in the upper part, which can be a bit annoying.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Casey Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2013 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel with a nice rooftop

Disliked: The location was a little dodgy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Brian Nolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building. Excellent roof top area!

Disliked: A little overpriced.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was very good.

Disliked: The location is not so good because the neighborhood at night isn't too safe.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a beautiful building, with authentic wooden floors and really spacious rooms. We had a double room w/shared bathroom, which was huge and the beds were comfortable. The shared bathroom was clean, spacious and equipped with a nice, hot shower. Location is perfect; close to interesting places, a supermarket and the local mercado.

Disliked: I first tried to reserve a room via email, but I got a response that they didn´t have anything for the date I wanted. However, on hostelbookers there was still plenty of availability so we were still able to book it anyway. When we got there, we got the room without a problem...so that was really strange and not hospitable at all! Furthermore, the breakfast wasn´t really special and although they say they serve it untill 11:00, things like fruit and fresh coffee are already gone by 9.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in centre of town. We stayed in a private twin which was a large room with very comfy beds and very clean bathroom. It was very good value for money.

Disliked: Breakfast was a shambles! Food was never replenished and you had to ask for everything. Dirty plates from previous guests were never cleared so there were no clean tables.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well kept, clean and tidy. Incredibly helpful staff. Good location. Lovely roof terrace.

Disliked: If travelling on your own, not a tremendously friendly atmosphere for meeting other travellers, but a nice place for the older traveller. Single room very small. Lots of noise at night from traffic as located on one of the busiest roads.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewen Anderson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Ewen would recommend this property

Liked: OF THREE HOSELS I USED IN SOUTH AMERICA, this was by far the best. It is clean, bright and looks good as soon as you walk through the door. The rooms match that first impression.

Disliked: can´t think of anything off hand.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Janette Allison

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2011 Janette would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, pleasant place with friendly staff and quiet atmosphere. A traveller's hostel.

Disliked: It was very nice but a bit expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean and friendly hostel. We stayed first in twin room with private bathroom and the room was better than in many hotels I've been in. Nice towels and atmosphere. The kitchen is really clean and good. The dorms are a more simple but also clean and you can get a dorm just for two people. The best part is, that there is a big supermarket just up the street, fruit sellers in front of the building and the metro stations are close.

Disliked: There are some homeless people living in the street - like in all Santiago - so the front door sometimes smells like pee.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cameron Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great rooftop. Pretty good breakfast. Comfortable beds with fans. Nice kitchen. Friendly staff. All in all, a great hostel.

Disliked: Can't check in until noon, but other than that, not a whole lot to complain about.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooftop! Near to the nice fishmarket.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Mannerson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing, spotless rooms with fantastic clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Not really a social place, and also rooms can be noisy due to closeness to main road.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The building is nice and people are nice too.

Disliked: my room was too small and smells to cigarette. When I suggested to the service to change my room they asked me more money. I think it was not fair enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Rodney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely gorgeous old house, so clean, so well set out, welcoming, comfortable and the perfect place to have a bit of a chill out in style. Breakfast is st out for you in the morning, the beds are lovely and comfortable, the rooms spacious, there are loads of rooms to sit in, free book swap.

Disliked: Fruit at breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I couldnt believe when I saw it. The hostel is with out doubt the best one I ever stayed at. It is like a good hotel. There was only beds for four people, but in any other hostel their would have been 8. Come here and be amazed!!! Location is great!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Perez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The constant chatter by the many visitors here was "This is the best Hostel I have ever stayed in". I highly recommend Casaltura.

Disliked: I had no dislikes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael king

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful classic building, high ceilings, very spacious rooms, clean and modern bathroom, ample breakfast (fruit, cereal, bread, half decent coffee). 10 min walk from Bellas Artes metro station. Lots of supermarkets nearby. Really lovely hostel.

Disliked: Unfortunately the hostel was pretty empty during my stay so the ambience was very quiet and little opportunity to socialise as a solo traveller.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time in Casaltura Hostel and I loved it like the first time! The staff keeps very friendly and the location together with the roof terrace are the best. I really recommend it!!!

Disliked: Really nothing negative!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've been travelling over the last 6 months in Latine America and this hostel is maybe the best one that I've been to: big and comfortable beds, great breakfast, extremely friendly staff, incredible roof terrasse, very clean, very well located, great deisgn and decoration

Disliked: absolutely nothing