We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of casAltura Hostel

Guesthouse | San Antonio 811 (Downtown), Santiago, Chile 8320020

84.8% Overall Rating

87 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

Roy Titheridge thinks…

"Close to the Metro, a Supermarket, Buses etc. Just across from the main food Market ( massive) Very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and full use of kitchen. Everything you need and few of…"

Read all casAltura Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- Reservations canceled up to 2 days before date of arrival, no fee will be charged. - Reservations canceled 24 or fewer hours in advance will be charged 100% of the first night. - There will be a charge of 10% of the total amount at the time of booking (non refundable amount).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Santiago Backpackers
14.00 USD

Hostel 86.5% 86 reviews
Andes Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 110 reviews
Plaza de Armas Hostel
10.06 USD

Hostel 82.6% 312 reviews
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 90.8% 9 reviews
Hostal de la Barra
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 13 reviews
Lucia Suites
15.10 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 25 reviews
Che Lagarto Hostel and Suites Santiago
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal del Barrio
16.77 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

87 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'casAltura Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 90 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Treated like a true friend by all the staff! Muchas gracias!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people working there! Very cozy and homey feeling! Appreciated the computers and Wi Fi. The best…. cleanness and location!!!

Disliked: Nice place to stay, I will definitely recommend this place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, I had a great time! Staff is really friendly and always ready to help you!! Very clean and awesome location! I'll definitely stay here again! Muchas Gracias!!!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel in downtown Santiago, very clean and safe and only a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas, Museums, Fish Market, etc... Definitely recommended!!!

Disliked: There was no real negative to this hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, nice decor.

Disliked: Average breakfast - not a dislike really, just an opinion.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010

Liked: Clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff and great location a stone's throw away from the town centre and a short(ish) walk from the restaurants and bars of Bellavista

Disliked: Its soooooooo quiet... Not a great place for solo travellers to meet other people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful place, within walking distance from the downtown center, barrio bellavista and lastarria. very friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: while i adored the atmosphere of the hostel in general, the single room I stayed in was very, very small. however, all the other rooms (dorms, twins, doubles) were bright and spacious.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

José Kazi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2010 José would recommend this property

Liked: People are really eager to help here

Disliked: not so clean, breakfast well bellow average, we-fi slow and without coverage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a very beautiful colonial style house with a lot of dark woods - very nice!The location is perfect - very clos to the city center (only minutes to walk to Plaza de Armas, right beside the Mercado Central!).

Disliked: The breakfast is not perfect although okay. I have expected a little more for the price. But still, I would definitely recommend the place due to its charming interior, the great terrazza and the perfect location....!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's centrally located; safe and secure; in a beautiful older building with lots of character. We had a private room with a king bed (most comfortable pillows I've ever had in a hostel; hugest bath towels I've ever seen in a hostel!).We were only there one night but the staff was incredibly helpful and welcoming.

Disliked: There was no real negative to this hostel. In addition to being 'buzzed in' to the building, you also needed to be buzzed out (we often got to the door at the bottom of the stairs only to have to go back up to the top to ask to be buzzed out). It's obviously for safety/security reasons, but it was the only constructive criticism I had about the place - it's wonderful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Gollagher

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2010 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Nicholas the manager was fantastic. I felt like I was at home and had my best friend there to help with everything I needed or wanted. There was never any problem with any request or stupid questions!!

Disliked: The only thing for me was not meeting other travellers but it was a pretty quiet time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Christopher Black

24 June 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Nicholas is greatVery close to ATM, supermarket and Central Market and short walk to Plaza de AmasGood quality fittings and furniture. Comfy bedDelightful old buildingGood brekky and decent internet

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A real luxury hostel, worth spending those extra pesos on, it was the most luxurious I stayed in in the whole of South America. The hostel is a beautiful old building with lovely large dorms, plenty of space, fantastically comfortable beds and hotel quality bedding and towels. The bathrooms are hi-tech and clean with the greatest power showers. A real treat. Nicolas, the hostel manager was very accommodating, friendly and helpful in arranging tours, providing local advice and booking airport transfers. overall a great stay I'd highly recommend this hostel and really hope it gets more and more visitors as it becomes more well known on the hostel websites. Oh, and it's in a great location..five mins walk from main square and subway, large supermarket and central market only 1-2 mins walkaway.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Webster

10 May 2010 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: It was a character filled, friendly place to stay, central to all the things we wanted to see. The staff were very ehlpful in suggesting things to do, see and where to get good value meals.

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really beautiful hostel - one of the nicest I've ever stayed in! The rooms are lovely, the bathroom is divine, the beds and bedding are the nicest of any hostel I've stayed in. The rooftop lounge is awesome too! I'd highly reccomend staying here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness and the home feeling

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alina Seghedi

09 May 2010 Alina would recommend this property

Liked: We got the cheaper bunk-bed rooms which of course were not nearly as nice as the other rooms (but no photo of our bunk-bed rooms on hostelbookers), so we were a bit disappointed. But otherwise we had a nice stay and the receptionist was very helpful, indicated to us a lot of cool places to visit that we would have missed otherwise. Nice terrace if you go in the summer.

Disliked: Alina left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Undergoing some renovations, so a little dirty/noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Great location. Good value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great terrace.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to metro. Amazing terrace to hang-out and meet people. Tons of character!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn Opps

18 March 2010 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, old building in the heart of downtown. Nicolas was so helpful and friendly. The kitchen and terrace was fantastic. We really loved our stay.

Disliked: Carolyn left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ricardo Sampaio

24 February 2010 Ricardo would recommend this property

Liked: The cleaness, and the entire place is new, linem, bed sheets, towels.The staff is very friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Ricardo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and great loaction

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in a good location. Very high quality rooms and facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.