We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dominica Hostel

Hostel | Dominica 24 Recoleta, Barrio Bellavista, Santiago, Chile 8420415

88.7% Overall Rating

48 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Jack Meyers thinks…

"I enjoyed that everyone staying there at the time was friendly and engaging. It wasn't cliquey and all of the Latin American travels were really forward with their conversation skills and open to…"

Read all Dominica Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.84

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

La Chimba Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel 93.3% 368 reviews
Bellavista Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 88.1% 550 reviews
Hostal del Barrio
16.77 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
12.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rado Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 59 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.26 USD

Hostel 92.6% 56 reviews
TRENDELSUR H-BOUTIQUE SANTIAGO
41.85 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 90.8% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

48 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dominica Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Elborough

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff & other backpackers

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jack Meyers

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed that everyone staying there at the time was friendly and engaging. It wasn't cliquey and all of the Latin American travels were really forward with their conversation skills and open to hanging out, which helps for someone like me who does not make that first step as easily.

Disliked: It could've been cleaner. One of the toilets was clogged for quite some time and smelled awful, but luckily the hostal has a bunch of other bathrooms. I'd recommend bringing sandals to walk around in. Otherwise, the staff was quick to fill toilet paper which is nice.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool decor and dorm layout. Nice lockers and very close to Cerro San Cristobal.

Disliked: The staff was pretty unpleasant and unhelpful. Definitely not interested in meeting or helping their guests. Really really noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great dorm layout with good lockers. Bar down stairs on weekends is also great for meeting other travellers.

Disliked: Can be a little noisy at night with wooden floors and doors of doom rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chris Hussey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: As we've cycled north, and the opportunities to use our tent have become less frequent, we are often forced into staying in hostels. This has brought us into greater contact with 21 year old Gap year types, who appear to spend most of their time photographing themselves at arms length, posting pretentious status updates on Facebook, and saying things such as "Oh yah, it was like, totally amazeballs". This hostel has none of those insufferable twats. If you're reading this, and the word amazeballs has even passed your lips, then please don't stay here. Go and stay at the Bellavista Hostel. It has a sign saying "No Fuckheads Allowed". You could Instagram it and show it off to your friends. How cool is that?

Disliked: There was a puddle in the men's showers that didn't seem to go away. I think it may be trying to form a new lake. Oh, and the two big hotplate things in the kitchen don't work. And a band has just kicked off at 10.30pm. Hmpf

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. When we arrived at 5am the young guy working at reception was so welcoming and showed us somewhere we could have a little nap for a few hrs.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an awesome stay at Dominica Hostel!! The hostel is beautiful, very clean and with a nice atmosphere which makes it easy to meet other people... The breakfast has absolutely all we need and the staff is excelent, very helpful! I would definitely recommend this hostel in you go to Santiago!!

Disliked: Nothing really, I enjoyed everything...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathrooms and shower are clean and staff is very helpful. Also, the location is excellent.

Disliked: It is not so easy to get to top bunk in shared rooms, specially at night . It is difficult to unpack your luggage if you are in the top bunk.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great.

Disliked: The noise of the wooden doors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas Deleuil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2012 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very nice wooden hostel with very good facilities and excellent beds!

Disliked: Lack of spanish speaking people...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Alvariza

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2012 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, extremely clean, very safe, cool atmosphere, comfortable rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpfull, especially Jackson and Daniel. The best hostel in Santiago!

Disliked: Rafael left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2012

Liked: Location and the hostel's decor is quite cool.

Disliked: Would be really great if the staff was better. They were extremely unpleasant and unhelpful. Also, the hostel wasnt extremely hospitable to meeting with other travelers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel novo e muito bem cuidado. Os funcionários são muito prestativos. Excelente lugar pra ficar e perto de tudo!

Disliked: A roupa de cama não parecia muito limpa.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Sampaio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2011 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: very very clean, awesome showers, everything is brand new. the beds are super confy.

Disliked: the bar was never open, it´s not a party hostel at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast, style/decor, clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: A little dark but nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the barbecue!

Disliked: N/A

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011

Liked: The hostel has a lot of potential, but is badly run. If you are an investor here, I would be concerned. Only good thing is location, but this is also a bad thing as it is v noisy until the early hours of the morning.

Disliked: Bathrooms were dirty, no soap provided for 2 out of 3 days of my stay - gross when sharing with so many people. Breakfast was chewy white rolls literally thrown on the kitchen counter in a white plastic bag. My dorm bed had not been cleaned when I arrived, and it took another hour before the cleaners got round to it. The hostel is extremely noisy until the early hours of the morning due to proximity of nightclubs.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very clean and has interesting architecture.

Disliked: The neighborhood can be very loud at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jozef Avgoustakis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Jozef would recommend this property

Liked: it´s modern, clean, cool, friendly staff, cheap, good location.... one of the best hostels i stayed in the last 14 months.

Disliked: it was all good!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2010

Liked: The location is good, right in the heart of the Cultural area, close to the city. Towering bunk beds make for a bit of light excerise everytime you get into bed.

Disliked: Like the comments below, I felt this hostel could of been a lot better. It has all the elements of a good hostel, but there is just something missing. Staff weren't very helpful in assisting with getting around the city or bookings, maps of the city would be start. Personally I won't be staying here again.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ken McKeown

18 June 2010

Liked: Ok where do I start. I want to give this hostel a good reviwe but I can't. This hostel has so much potential. The potential to be the best hostel in Santiago, but somehow it doesn't. I can't decide is it lazyness either by the owner or staff. Bedrooms - extremely functional for backpackers, best room layout I've seen in a hostel. Each bed has a locker beside their bed, two good size sheelves and a light. even though there is 8 in a room, you feel like you have a bit of your own private space. The bunks are quite high. Not the best for those of us which serious height issues and a sore foot. But thats personal and not the hostels fault. Floor room isnt the best, but you can store alot in the lockers. Bathroom - mmmm very open. I feel sorry for those who sleep in a particular room upstairs. they open the door and the washbasins are there. Kitchen - Yet again could be fantastic, but things are all over the place. equipment (espically clean equipment) is hard to get. BreakfastBread, jam and butter, tea and coffee, Theres supposed to be cereal but I never seen any. It was all gone in no time and it seemed it was just threw on the counter. on the positive the bread was good, so is the tea. Communal areas and communal facilities - if you wana watct TV, you may forget it once the bar gets going. both are in the one room and once the music is on thats that. computers are ok, but the wi-fi is very tempermental.Lets jus say I'm waiting for it to disconnect at any time.Staff - seemed helpful enough nothing over and above.Be warned website prices have been changed. Its now 7500 CH pesos for all dorm rooms.Yes the first floor rooms are noiser. you hear everything in the hall and just outside the door. Ear plugs help alot. As for me didnt affect me alot as once I conk I'm out for the night.Overall the place is quite new and you can see that, but what ever happened to a quick mop of the floors. I did feel the place was dirty. Granted i did see the cleaner giving out about having to clean. There were flies in the fridge and food was going missing.At the moment there are 22 American students living there for a few weeks - I felt like I was taking over invading their house rather than staying a hostel which was very uncomfortable considering I had paid probably the same as them. they day we got there also the beds were being sprayed - good thing.Next day the water was off all day. As I write this at 9:30 pm we are still waiting on it to come back on. Yes I know they were at the plumbing but a hostel with nearly 30 people in it should have water. didnt meet the owner but didnt get a good impression. From our dealings with him over the price of a bed, he was out to make money and didnt care after that. He would want to sort out his marketing on his website also. False advertisement is not a way to sell your business. As I said I wanted this to be a good review but its not. dont let the pictures fool you. Photos do not always tell the truth. It's amazing what a bit of lighting can do! We are only staying two night and fleeing to another hostel in the morning - EARLY!

Disliked: Ken left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and helpfull staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Johnston

11 April 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: A really different hostel with a nice atmosphere

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Ward

11 April 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, staff were very very helpful!!! Only downfall is we stayed in the front dorm room and it is very loud so dont get much sleep. The hostel is a wicked place though and woulkd stay there again

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent standard of hostel, fantastic dorm rooms partitioned and private, lockers available, comfy beds, clean....showers tricky to regulate at first however excellent still...fantastic help from all staff, excellent location, definitely would recommend to others and stay here again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.