We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dominica Hostel

Hostel | Dominica 24 Recoleta, Barrio Bellavista, Santiago, Chile 8420415

88.7% Overall Rating

48 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

Jack Meyers thinks…

"I enjoyed that everyone staying there at the time was friendly and engaging. It wasn't cliquey and all of the Latin American travels were really forward with their conversation skills and open to…"

Read all Dominica Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

La Chimba Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel 93.3% 368 reviews
Bellavista Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel 88.0% 551 reviews
Hostal del Barrio
16.65 USD

Hostel 78.6% 41 reviews
Chile Backpackers Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rado Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 59 reviews
Hostal Boutique Bella
15.15 USD

Hostel 92.8% 57 reviews
TRENDELSUR H-BOUTIQUE SANTIAGO
41.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Casa Mosaico Backpacker Hostels
14.00 USD

Hostel 91.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

48 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dominica Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 51 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Worth every penny

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great helpful staff and well-laid out accomodations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, nice staff, ... only the showers are cold!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice house, new interior, small breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Nash

30 January 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here an extra night and we'd recommend here to anyone and wouldnt now stay anywhere else in Santiago if we went back. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It had a good balance of people, if you wanted to meet lots of people it was great, but if you wanted to keep yourself to yourself it wasn't in your face and that was fine. It was a bit noisy at night sometimes due to it's excellent location, but dont let this put you off! I was unwell when I arrived and was very happy to spend a couple of days in a bed here so it must of been good! As you can tell we were very impressed - and it is designed as well as it looks on the pics!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Hewitt

22 January 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean place to stay.. Still very new hostel, free internet access, very helpful staff, good location and breakfast included in the price. A touch noisy as on busy road but can be easily forgiven in light of all the good stuff this place has to offer. Recommended place to stay and also within very short walking distance of St Christopher's Hill, nice place to run or cycle if the mood takes otherwise can take the funicular up to the top!

Disliked: Clare left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The managers and owner, I think, were really lovely. Helpful. Thoughtful.The shower was hard to control, so I ended up not using it. The toilet took me a bit of getting used to. No toilet paper could go in to the actual flushing type bowl. The little bin wasn't emptied quite often enough to my preferences.The brekkie was not as good as a similarly priced hostel we moved to.Very lively disco/karaoke across from our window, which was the most difficult aspect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen blowes

26 November 2009 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, but more then anything the staff were awesome!The hostel its self was very clean and under rated if anything!

Disliked: stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paula stephensen

16 November 2009 paula would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Dominica, the staff were really fun, friendly and helpful. The place was clean and very well kept with excellent facilities and activities available. Dominica is in an ideal location and we would highly recommend people to stay there.

Disliked: paula left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lukasz Pietrzykowski

27 October 2009 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff there is just the best from all hostels I've been in!Who will like it - those who prefer home like atmosphere than club like.I just would like to spend more time with them.

Disliked: Lukasz left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Toft

27 October 2009 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful hostel! Go there if you like "5 star" hostels ;-)

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

marit fujiwara

26 October 2009 marit would recommend this property

Liked: great staff! facilities don't work very well. the shower gets cold in the middle..it's quite noisy.

Disliked: marit left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Laura Nazzari

15 September 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly. Common area is a great place to meet other people.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tim booth

04 September 2009 tim would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and comfortable hostel! very good location, nearby bars and in the interseting Bella Vista district..... would highly recommened this hostal! also try the vietnamese restaurant advertised at the hostal!!!

Disliked: tim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having travelled through Central and South America for nearly 8 months I have visited many hostels. Dominica Hostel for me is one of the best I have visisted. The staff there are very helpful (speak really good English) and go out of there way to make sure you enjoy your time in Santiago.I would definately stay here again. Phill

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tomas Pastoriza

03 September 2009 Tomas would recommend this property

Liked: People who host the hostel were very cool guys, and travellers overall with a lot of experience about travelling.

Disliked: Tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Roberts

02 August 2009 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, great place to stay and always happy to help or assist in anyway!

Disliked: Benjamin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

charles ward

26 June 2009 charles would recommend this property

Liked: a fantastic hostel, newly refurbished with pine adorning the walls everywhere. looks a bit like a sauna. maybe slight overkill with the pine, but it's pretty unique. great rooms with real privacy and comfy beds. each bed had its own cupboard, shelves and a reading light. kitchen was pretty good too. great location, 25 yards from the bottom of the Cerro San Cristobal asensor and 10mins walk from the Baquedano metro station. Really cool staff always trying to help, throwing in lots of little extras for free. great bathrooms & showers. really quick free internet & friendly guests. one of the best i stayed in in south america

Disliked: charles left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.