HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Providencia

Hostel | Vicuña Mackenna 92-A, Santiago, Chile 7500910

91.8% Overall Rating

110 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2014)

Isabel Burman thinks…

"The rooms have everything you need and the showers are HOT!!! For my stay the real positives were the staff!. They are exceptionally helpful and kind! They are very sympathetic to the fact my bag was…"

Read all Hostal Providencia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
44.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
13.62 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Ecohostel
8.71 USD

Hostel 87.4% 205 reviews
Hostal Forestal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 111 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.30 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Rado Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 59 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

110 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Providencia'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 68 of 112 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabel Burman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms have everything you need and the showers are HOT!!! For my stay the real positives were the staff!. They are exceptionally helpful and kind! They are very sympathetic to the fact my bag was lost by the airline, allowing me to make numerous calls on their phone!

Disliked: Isabel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome. You get a lot for your money. Delicous breakfast, you can call for free oversea, wifi, computers, tea. They cleaned the bathrooms every 2 hours and your room every day. The rooms are very big and comfortable. The atmosphere was great and the staff very helpful. The Metro is not far and you can Walk to the center. Perfect Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Silva

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: atendimento muito bom, ótima localização, ambiente agradável

Disliked: paredes finas, é possível ouvir todo barulho que fazem do lado de fora

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luke Host

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hostel. Great facilities and very friendly staff. Location is good. Was not too much atmosphere when I stayed but I think this was because the hostel wasn't very full.

Disliked: Bar is rather expensive and it is not allowed to bring in your own alcohol.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Bridges

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decor, great staff and good facilities

Disliked: Rooms a bit cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro, neighbourhood seemed a nice place, staff was very friendly. Rooms had good wifi.

Disliked: There didn't seem enough bathrooms per floor as I always had to wait to use one, and often was not that clean. Kitchen also needed some maintenance, I understand the above are mostly due to the people that use them but should be maintained every now and then.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good friendly helpful staff - free internet, breakfast and storage

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Koskinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good kitchen facilities, friendly staff, nice decor and breakfast pretty decent. Short ( 10 - 15 min ) walk to a metro station and a must-visit Fuente Alemana restaurant. Cool little courtyard.

Disliked: The hostel did not have our booking through HB's and it took a long time to sort out, not great after a 11h flight. Eventually we were upgraded to a room with a private bathroom for the same price, so all in all nota bad result, thankfully it wasnt too busy! I guess these things happen, so I would stay again and we were quite impressed with HB's customer service when we highlighted tge issue to them via email.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway station. Cheap and clean.

Disliked: Small showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCOS BENITEZ RUBIANES

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2014 MARCOS would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, superb location, nice atmosphere and the wtaff was allways really helpfull.

Disliked: The showers on the private rooms area of the building (first floor only) were getting out of hot water constantly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Kitchen and breakfast needs attention

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: skpe phone for free. 2 computers to use for free. Close to metro station. Very helpful english speaking staff.

Disliked: small single room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victoria Cunha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well located and the breakfast was great!

Disliked: the shower didn't work very well and in the night it's a little cold. The staff did their job but they weren't so friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very clean and the lockers in dorms did not lock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, easy access and good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing. Good quality for the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raul Assumpção Nunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Eu gostei muito da recepção e da área de convivência.

Disliked: Nada!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

olivia amter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2013 olivia would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the big beds (we got a private room for two and ended up with 3 beds!) and the breakfast was pretty good. Showers were hot and towels were free. The location was amazing; we were a quick walk from a central metro stop.

Disliked: The rooms were really cold and we had to pay 6,000 extra just to rent the heater for two nights. It was worth it and the heater was great, but its winter and it would be much nicer if it were already included in the price. Walls on our private room were very thin and you really can hear everything. Light sleepers (thankfully we are not!) beware. Bathrooms were average.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriella RAULT

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 June 2013 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Hot water, Good wi-fi connexion, hot bread and plenty of fruits for breakfast, Free teas and infusions at any time. My boyfriend and I booked a private double room and were actually given a bigger room with extra beds and a lot of space!

Disliked: No bath mat in the bathroom!! Quite rough to get out of the shower and walk on a frozen floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Martins do Nascimento Júnior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 June 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. When we arrived, the room that we booked (a double room, shared bath) was not avaliable, so they gave to us a bigger bedroom, with private bathroom, it was amazing. The breakfast is good. Is near of the subway, on a very safe location.

Disliked: Eduardo left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

SPYRIDON KASSIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 SPYRIDON would recommend this property

Liked: the location... it was in the centre of the city, and everything is around you on foot... it also felt safe at nights

Disliked: the noise of the rooms in front... broken wooden windows, just in front of a main street...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Sedman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is centrally located and our room was nice. We generally liked our experience at Hostal Providencia and are planning to stay there again upon returning to Santiago.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff that spoke French as well as English and Spanish

Disliked: the shared kitchen was not clean, the water for washing dishes cold, the towel dirty- not as we would expect a kitchen for use!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, really really helpful staff. Loads of tours on offer. Location is really close to metro and cool bars and restaurants. Breakfast was nice too.

Disliked: Our room had paper thin walls so could hear everything happening outside the room as if it were inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fi Tim

Alone

City break

17 February 2013 Fi would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located to restaurents, bars bus & train station shops The staff are very helpful n friendly. I checked in at 6pm & only stayed for 1 night so had very limited time to explore the city of Santiago. However the staff (thanks to Andre) was very kind to lend me his bike. I rode around the city & had a great time. Great hot shower only improvement ..... the bread was dry but this apply to ALL the hostels i have stayed. Just not sure all breads i have come across are too dry Overall i would recommend hostel Providencia to other travellers

Disliked: The bread could have been a bit less dry

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gesiel Rocha de Araujo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Gesiel Rocha would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, staff very friendly and great atmosphere. Hugs to Maia and Fanny...

Disliked: Gesiel Rocha left no negative feedback.