We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Providencia

Hostel | Vicuña Mackenna 92-A, Santiago, Chile 7500910

87.4% Overall Rating

136 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2015)

"We only stayed here one night, but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel offered a number of tours and organised events, which would really help anyone to get the most out of their stay in Santiago.…"

Read all Hostal Providencia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
12.27 USD

Hostel 68.6% 12 reviews
Ecohostel
8.37 USD

Hostel 84.2% 212 reviews
Hostal Forestal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 115 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.75 USD

Hostel 91.9% 127 reviews
Rado Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 61 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 91.9% 425 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

136 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Providencia'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 139 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy Coventry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and great amenities

Disliked: Othing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We only stayed here one night, but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel offered a number of tours and organised events, which would really help anyone to get the most out of their stay in Santiago. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer to fully take advantage of it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Rossano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 February 2015 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, comfortable beds, 500ml free water per day, really good breakfast with a lot of options, if you have a early tour, they prepare to you a decent breakfast to go, staff really helpful, if you need more towels for the tours, the pleasantly give it to you

Disliked: The one really problem the hostel is the hot water... There is not a warm water, or it is really damn hot or really damn cold, but for what I heard in San Pedro de Atacama, this is a problem in all hotels in the town, it is not exclusive from Hostel Base.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good WiFi, free breakfast and tea. The staff are there all the time, even in the middle of the night, and are always friendly!

Disliked: The rooms are a little hot - no aircon.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015

Liked: The location was perfect

Disliked: The staff were extremely unhelpful and rude and most couldn't speak English. They acted like we were wasting their time if we had questions. Our room was so small that with two suitcases in there we couldn't even walk. Also I don't mind leaving my key with the reception whenever leaving, but when you have to wait 10 min at the desk every time to drop it off and pick it up it's quite annoying.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, good room

Disliked: Very big, bit impersonal, no airconditioning while it was 35 degrees

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andy Christensen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, close to all the cities main attractions.

Disliked: Andy left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erin Allenby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a good location, and has a nice courtyard. Wi-Fi works well.

Disliked: We booked a twin private, which was pretty small with two adults and two backpacks inside. Some of the showers were very small, and the bathrooms could benefit from exhaust fans. Leaving our key at reception every time we went out could get tedious, especially when staff at the front desk ignore you/take a long time to help once you come to collect the key.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hui Ing Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2014 Hui Ing would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: nil

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top location, nice staff, small but ok rooms

Disliked: more showers needed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabel Burman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2014 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms have everything you need and the showers are HOT!!! For my stay the real positives were the staff!. They are exceptionally helpful and kind! They are very sympathetic to the fact my bag was lost by the airline, allowing me to make numerous calls on their phone!

Disliked: Isabel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome. You get a lot for your money. Delicous breakfast, you can call for free oversea, wifi, computers, tea. They cleaned the bathrooms every 2 hours and your room every day. The rooms are very big and comfortable. The atmosphere was great and the staff very helpful. The Metro is not far and you can Walk to the center. Perfect Hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Silva

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: atendimento muito bom, ótima localização, ambiente agradável

Disliked: paredes finas, é possível ouvir todo barulho que fazem do lado de fora

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luke Host

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: A nice hostel. Great facilities and very friendly staff. Location is good. Was not too much atmosphere when I stayed but I think this was because the hostel wasn't very full.

Disliked: Bar is rather expensive and it is not allowed to bring in your own alcohol.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Bridges

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decor, great staff and good facilities

Disliked: Rooms a bit cold

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to metro, neighbourhood seemed a nice place, staff was very friendly. Rooms had good wifi.

Disliked: There didn't seem enough bathrooms per floor as I always had to wait to use one, and often was not that clean. Kitchen also needed some maintenance, I understand the above are mostly due to the people that use them but should be maintained every now and then.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good friendly helpful staff - free internet, breakfast and storage

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Koskinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good kitchen facilities, friendly staff, nice decor and breakfast pretty decent. Short ( 10 - 15 min ) walk to a metro station and a must-visit Fuente Alemana restaurant. Cool little courtyard.

Disliked: The hostel did not have our booking through HB's and it took a long time to sort out, not great after a 11h flight. Eventually we were upgraded to a room with a private bathroom for the same price, so all in all nota bad result, thankfully it wasnt too busy! I guess these things happen, so I would stay again and we were quite impressed with HB's customer service when we highlighted tge issue to them via email.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway station. Cheap and clean.

Disliked: Small showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCOS BENITEZ RUBIANES

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2014 MARCOS would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, superb location, nice atmosphere and the wtaff was allways really helpfull.

Disliked: The showers on the private rooms area of the building (first floor only) were getting out of hot water constantly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Kitchen and breakfast needs attention

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: skpe phone for free. 2 computers to use for free. Close to metro station. Very helpful english speaking staff.

Disliked: small single room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victoria Cunha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well located and the breakfast was great!

Disliked: the shower didn't work very well and in the night it's a little cold. The staff did their job but they weren't so friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very clean and the lockers in dorms did not lock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, easy access and good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing. Good quality for the price.