HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Providencia

Hostel | Vicuña Mackenna 92-A, Santiago, Chile 7500910

90.7% Overall Rating

98 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/04/2014)

Anne Koskinen thinks…

"Good location, good kitchen facilities, friendly staff, nice decor and breakfast pretty decent. Short ( 10 - 15 min ) walk to a metro station and a must-visit Fuente Alemana restaurant. Cool little…"

Read all Hostal Providencia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 11.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
41.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
40.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
13.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 85 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
14.35 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Ecohostel
9.17 USD

Hostel 86.9% 201 reviews
Hostal Forestal
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 109 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
15.06 USD

Hostel 92.1% 114 reviews
Rado Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 93.8% 55 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

98 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Providencia'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good friendly helpful staff - free internet, breakfast and storage

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anne Koskinen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good kitchen facilities, friendly staff, nice decor and breakfast pretty decent. Short ( 10 - 15 min ) walk to a metro station and a must-visit Fuente Alemana restaurant. Cool little courtyard.

Disliked: The hostel did not have our booking through HB's and it took a long time to sort out, not great after a 11h flight. Eventually we were upgraded to a room with a private bathroom for the same price, so all in all nota bad result, thankfully it wasnt too busy! I guess these things happen, so I would stay again and we were quite impressed with HB's customer service when we highlighted tge issue to them via email.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to subway station. Cheap and clean.

Disliked: Small showers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARCOS BENITEZ RUBIANES

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 January 2014 MARCOS would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean, superb location, nice atmosphere and the wtaff was allways really helpfull.

Disliked: The showers on the private rooms area of the building (first floor only) were getting out of hot water constantly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Kitchen and breakfast needs attention

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: skpe phone for free. 2 computers to use for free. Close to metro station. Very helpful english speaking staff.

Disliked: small single room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Victoria Cunha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is well located and the breakfast was great!

Disliked: the shower didn't work very well and in the night it's a little cold. The staff did their job but they weren't so friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very clean and the lockers in dorms did not lock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, easy access and good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing. Good quality for the price.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raul Assumpção Nunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Eu gostei muito da recepção e da área de convivência.

Disliked: Nada!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

olivia amter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2013 olivia would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the big beds (we got a private room for two and ended up with 3 beds!) and the breakfast was pretty good. Showers were hot and towels were free. The location was amazing; we were a quick walk from a central metro stop.

Disliked: The rooms were really cold and we had to pay 6,000 extra just to rent the heater for two nights. It was worth it and the heater was great, but its winter and it would be much nicer if it were already included in the price. Walls on our private room were very thin and you really can hear everything. Light sleepers (thankfully we are not!) beware. Bathrooms were average.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriella RAULT

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 June 2013 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Hot water, Good wi-fi connexion, hot bread and plenty of fruits for breakfast, Free teas and infusions at any time. My boyfriend and I booked a private double room and were actually given a bigger room with extra beds and a lot of space!

Disliked: No bath mat in the bathroom!! Quite rough to get out of the shower and walk on a frozen floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Martins do Nascimento Júnior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 June 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. When we arrived, the room that we booked (a double room, shared bath) was not avaliable, so they gave to us a bigger bedroom, with private bathroom, it was amazing. The breakfast is good. Is near of the subway, on a very safe location.

Disliked: Eduardo left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

SPYRIDON KASSIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 SPYRIDON would recommend this property

Liked: the location... it was in the centre of the city, and everything is around you on foot... it also felt safe at nights

Disliked: the noise of the rooms in front... broken wooden windows, just in front of a main street...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Sedman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is centrally located and our room was nice. We generally liked our experience at Hostal Providencia and are planning to stay there again upon returning to Santiago.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff that spoke French as well as English and Spanish

Disliked: the shared kitchen was not clean, the water for washing dishes cold, the towel dirty- not as we would expect a kitchen for use!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, really really helpful staff. Loads of tours on offer. Location is really close to metro and cool bars and restaurants. Breakfast was nice too.

Disliked: Our room had paper thin walls so could hear everything happening outside the room as if it were inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fi Tim

Alone

City break

17 February 2013 Fi would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located to restaurents, bars bus & train station shops The staff are very helpful n friendly. I checked in at 6pm & only stayed for 1 night so had very limited time to explore the city of Santiago. However the staff (thanks to Andre) was very kind to lend me his bike. I rode around the city & had a great time. Great hot shower only improvement ..... the bread was dry but this apply to ALL the hostels i have stayed. Just not sure all breads i have come across are too dry Overall i would recommend hostel Providencia to other travellers

Disliked: The bread could have been a bit less dry

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gesiel Rocha de Araujo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Gesiel Rocha would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, staff very friendly and great atmosphere. Hugs to Maia and Fanny...

Disliked: Gesiel Rocha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martín Jiménez Arango

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 December 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Everything was good

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Farrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012

Liked: clean beds. Hot showers

Disliked: The hostel has a policy of checking your keys into reception before leaving the building. After I returned from a long hike, the reception told me that they did not have my key, and if I did not find it I would be fined 5000 pesos. I told them that I had turned it in, and they needed to look again. Later that night, I asked the night staff to please check the keys again. It had been hanging on a different key rack the entire time. The afternoon staff had not even bothered to check for their own mistake, and were rude to me in the process. I checked out of the hostel early, and was refunded for much less than the full cost of one night. I had to retrive my receipt to show what I had originally paid, and was still not reimbursed for the correct amount.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Leal de Carvalho

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a great value for money and the location is just awesome! I walked the entire city coming from the hostel. The other thing is that our bedroom (my husband and mine) was very simple but clean and had everything we needed. The hostel was pretty clean and smart.

Disliked: The thing we disliked the most is that our bedroom locker wasn't the best one, it would be very easy to anyone to just push in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good as you can walk to Bellavista & Lastarria easily and it's near a metro station. There are shops and restaurants nearby too.

Disliked: There wasn't a very good atmosphere in the hostel when we were there. The rooms are pretty old and past their best & didn't feel very secure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Juranitsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spot near Pio Nono and Baquedano. Good Atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, Nice hot showers

Disliked: Not much information for travel and excursions.