We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Providencia

Hostel | Vicuña Mackenna 92-A, Santiago, Chile 7500910

90.3% Overall Rating

116 out of 130 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2014)

Erin Allenby thinks…

"Some of the staff were friendly and helpful. The hostel is in a good location, and has a nice courtyard. Wi-Fi works well."

Read all Hostal Providencia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.82

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

HOTEL VICTORIA ORIENTE EXPRESS
57.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 91.5% 105 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
13.32 USD

Hostel 67.8% 11 reviews
Ecohostel
8.51 USD

Hostel 87.4% 205 reviews
Hostal Forestal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.2% 111 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 121 reviews
Rado Hostel
22.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 60 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

116 out of 130 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Providencia'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 118 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, really really helpful staff. Loads of tours on offer. Location is really close to metro and cool bars and restaurants. Breakfast was nice too.

Disliked: Our room had paper thin walls so could hear everything happening outside the room as if it were inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fi Tim

Alone

City break

17 February 2013 Fi would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located to restaurents, bars bus & train station shops The staff are very helpful n friendly. I checked in at 6pm & only stayed for 1 night so had very limited time to explore the city of Santiago. However the staff (thanks to Andre) was very kind to lend me his bike. I rode around the city & had a great time. Great hot shower only improvement ..... the bread was dry but this apply to ALL the hostels i have stayed. Just not sure all breads i have come across are too dry Overall i would recommend hostel Providencia to other travellers

Disliked: The bread could have been a bit less dry

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gesiel Rocha de Araujo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Gesiel Rocha would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, staff very friendly and great atmosphere. Hugs to Maia and Fanny...

Disliked: Gesiel Rocha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martín Jiménez Arango

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 December 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Everything was good

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Farrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012

Liked: clean beds. Hot showers

Disliked: The hostel has a policy of checking your keys into reception before leaving the building. After I returned from a long hike, the reception told me that they did not have my key, and if I did not find it I would be fined 5000 pesos. I told them that I had turned it in, and they needed to look again. Later that night, I asked the night staff to please check the keys again. It had been hanging on a different key rack the entire time. The afternoon staff had not even bothered to check for their own mistake, and were rude to me in the process. I checked out of the hostel early, and was refunded for much less than the full cost of one night. I had to retrive my receipt to show what I had originally paid, and was still not reimbursed for the correct amount.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Leal de Carvalho

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a great value for money and the location is just awesome! I walked the entire city coming from the hostel. The other thing is that our bedroom (my husband and mine) was very simple but clean and had everything we needed. The hostel was pretty clean and smart.

Disliked: The thing we disliked the most is that our bedroom locker wasn't the best one, it would be very easy to anyone to just push in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good as you can walk to Bellavista & Lastarria easily and it's near a metro station. There are shops and restaurants nearby too.

Disliked: There wasn't a very good atmosphere in the hostel when we were there. The rooms are pretty old and past their best & didn't feel very secure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Juranitsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spot near Pio Nono and Baquedano. Good Atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, Nice hot showers

Disliked: Not much information for travel and excursions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeanette stanley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, the location was great. Good size room and plenty of hot water.

Disliked: Unable to book bus tickets or get any timetable/fare information through hostal was a little frustrating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice private room and good atmosphere. Best hostel instayed at in Santiago.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Cornell

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a central location, has a wide variety of rooms, plenty of bathrooms and comfortable common areas. I love the patio and computers.

Disliked: I wish that the milk at breakfast was not instant. We did have one check in mix up when they couldn't find our reservation, but it did get resolved.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011

Liked: great location, amazing staff.

Disliked: absolutely no vibe, at night the place was dead. the crowd was a lot older and a few families with little kids.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In good proximity to the centre of Santiago. Well within walking distance to Bellavista. Clean and tidy with good use of facilities including kitchen and living area. Not the most fun of places to stay but we went in

Disliked: Not the most fun of places to stay but we went in low season which may account for it's quietness.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanne Huban

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were put in room 5- it was really bad and of a much lower standard than other double rooms there. The walls were damp and crumbling, the room smelled damp, had no window and the ensuite bathroom was so small, smelly and uncomfortable. The bed was lumpy and the sheets were viscose, not very nice for sleeping in. The other rooms looked a lot nicer. Also we were told our laundry would be returned in 24 hours but it was closer to 36 hours - beware of this if you need to leave early the next day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Rolls

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hutchinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good convenient location, close to metro station and only 10min walk across bridge to great dinner and drinks area ´Belavista´. Friendly, helpful staff and secure buiding.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ezequiel De Notta

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2010 Ezequiel would recommend this property

Liked: Lindo lugar

Disliked: La cocina no puede usarse a partir de las 22.30 para cocinar. Es un horario temprano para cuando estas de vacaciones,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2010

Liked: lounge room was bright and inviting. Easy access to computers. Never had to wait to use one.

Disliked: No hot water on two mornings. Room damp in cold weather. Bathroom smelt of kerosene.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ben Day-Roche

11 January 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: God location, helpful staff and value for money. Just needed a little extra clean in the share bathrooms

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 January 2010

Liked: We liked the location very much, and the room we stayed in, was very nice, but we have a few comments. With narrow ceilings, it was very noisy. And there was a big private bbq, with a lot of people and a lot of noise. The other guests couln´t use the facilities offered.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the neighborhoodits close to a lot of nice places

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Macdonald Krystie

23 November 2009 Macdonald would recommend this property

Liked: Overall this hostel is quite fine, it´s a littleold and shabby but the staff are really helpful and offer heaps of information.

Disliked: Macdonald left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

15 November 2009

Liked: Location was great. Staff were VERY helpful. But just an average hostel, average clean, bathrooms small and cramped (the shared ones on the second floor that is). Beds were clean and we slept very well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katharina Leichtfuss

12 November 2009 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The information was outstanding

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.