We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Providencia

Hostel | Vicuña Mackenna 92-A, Santiago, Chile 7500910

87.3% Overall Rating

137 out of 152 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2015)

"We only stayed here one night, but the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hostel offered a number of tours and organised events, which would really help anyone to get the most out of their stay in Santiago.…"

Read all Hostal Providencia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
11.78 USD

Hostel 67.0% 13 reviews
Ecohostel
8.03 USD

Hostel 84.1% 214 reviews
Hostal Forestal
13.00 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 115 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
14.29 USD

Hostel 88.7% 132 reviews
Rado Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 61 reviews
Ventana Sur Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 92.2% 428 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

137 out of 152 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Providencia'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 78 of 140 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Raul Assumpção Nunes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2013 Raul would recommend this property

Liked: Eu gostei muito da recepção e da área de convivência.

Disliked: Nada!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

olivia amter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2013 olivia would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the big beds (we got a private room for two and ended up with 3 beds!) and the breakfast was pretty good. Showers were hot and towels were free. The location was amazing; we were a quick walk from a central metro stop.

Disliked: The rooms were really cold and we had to pay 6,000 extra just to rent the heater for two nights. It was worth it and the heater was great, but its winter and it would be much nicer if it were already included in the price. Walls on our private room were very thin and you really can hear everything. Light sleepers (thankfully we are not!) beware. Bathrooms were average.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gabriella RAULT

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 June 2013 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, Hot water, Good wi-fi connexion, hot bread and plenty of fruits for breakfast, Free teas and infusions at any time. My boyfriend and I booked a private double room and were actually given a bigger room with extra beds and a lot of space!

Disliked: No bath mat in the bathroom!! Quite rough to get out of the shower and walk on a frozen floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eduardo Martins do Nascimento Júnior

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 June 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. When we arrived, the room that we booked (a double room, shared bath) was not avaliable, so they gave to us a bigger bedroom, with private bathroom, it was amazing. The breakfast is good. Is near of the subway, on a very safe location.

Disliked: Eduardo left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

SPYRIDON KASSIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 SPYRIDON would recommend this property

Liked: the location... it was in the centre of the city, and everything is around you on foot... it also felt safe at nights

Disliked: the noise of the rooms in front... broken wooden windows, just in front of a main street...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Sedman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hostel is centrally located and our room was nice. We generally liked our experience at Hostal Providencia and are planning to stay there again upon returning to Santiago.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff that spoke French as well as English and Spanish

Disliked: the shared kitchen was not clean, the water for washing dishes cold, the towel dirty- not as we would expect a kitchen for use!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, really really helpful staff. Loads of tours on offer. Location is really close to metro and cool bars and restaurants. Breakfast was nice too.

Disliked: Our room had paper thin walls so could hear everything happening outside the room as if it were inside.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fi Tim

Alone

City break

17 February 2013 Fi would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located to restaurents, bars bus & train station shops The staff are very helpful n friendly. I checked in at 6pm & only stayed for 1 night so had very limited time to explore the city of Santiago. However the staff (thanks to Andre) was very kind to lend me his bike. I rode around the city & had a great time. Great hot shower only improvement ..... the bread was dry but this apply to ALL the hostels i have stayed. Just not sure all breads i have come across are too dry Overall i would recommend hostel Providencia to other travellers

Disliked: The bread could have been a bit less dry

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gesiel Rocha de Araujo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Gesiel Rocha would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, staff very friendly and great atmosphere. Hugs to Maia and Fanny...

Disliked: Gesiel Rocha left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martín Jiménez Arango

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 December 2012 Martín would recommend this property

Liked: The staff

Disliked: Everything was good

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Farrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012

Liked: clean beds. Hot showers

Disliked: The hostel has a policy of checking your keys into reception before leaving the building. After I returned from a long hike, the reception told me that they did not have my key, and if I did not find it I would be fined 5000 pesos. I told them that I had turned it in, and they needed to look again. Later that night, I asked the night staff to please check the keys again. It had been hanging on a different key rack the entire time. The afternoon staff had not even bothered to check for their own mistake, and were rude to me in the process. I checked out of the hostel early, and was refunded for much less than the full cost of one night. I had to retrive my receipt to show what I had originally paid, and was still not reimbursed for the correct amount.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amanda Leal de Carvalho

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a great value for money and the location is just awesome! I walked the entire city coming from the hostel. The other thing is that our bedroom (my husband and mine) was very simple but clean and had everything we needed. The hostel was pretty clean and smart.

Disliked: The thing we disliked the most is that our bedroom locker wasn't the best one, it would be very easy to anyone to just push in.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Wilson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 July 2012

Liked: The location was pretty good as you can walk to Bellavista & Lastarria easily and it's near a metro station. There are shops and restaurants nearby too.

Disliked: There wasn't a very good atmosphere in the hostel when we were there. The rooms are pretty old and past their best & didn't feel very secure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Matthias Juranitsch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2012 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Nice spot near Pio Nono and Baquedano. Good Atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, Nice hot showers

Disliked: Not much information for travel and excursions.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeanette stanley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, the location was great. Good size room and plenty of hot water.

Disliked: Unable to book bus tickets or get any timetable/fare information through hostal was a little frustrating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice private room and good atmosphere. Best hostel instayed at in Santiago.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Cornell

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a central location, has a wide variety of rooms, plenty of bathrooms and comfortable common areas. I love the patio and computers.

Disliked: I wish that the milk at breakfast was not instant. We did have one check in mix up when they couldn't find our reservation, but it did get resolved.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011

Liked: great location, amazing staff.

Disliked: absolutely no vibe, at night the place was dead. the crowd was a lot older and a few families with little kids.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In good proximity to the centre of Santiago. Well within walking distance to Bellavista. Clean and tidy with good use of facilities including kitchen and living area. Not the most fun of places to stay but we went in

Disliked: Not the most fun of places to stay but we went in low season which may account for it's quietness.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanne Huban

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: We were put in room 5- it was really bad and of a much lower standard than other double rooms there. The walls were damp and crumbling, the room smelled damp, had no window and the ensuite bathroom was so small, smelly and uncomfortable. The bed was lumpy and the sheets were viscose, not very nice for sleeping in. The other rooms looked a lot nicer. Also we were told our laundry would be returned in 24 hours but it was closer to 36 hours - beware of this if you need to leave early the next day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Rolls

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hutchinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Good convenient location, close to metro station and only 10min walk across bridge to great dinner and drinks area ´Belavista´. Friendly, helpful staff and secure buiding.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ezequiel De Notta

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2010 Ezequiel would recommend this property

Liked: Lindo lugar

Disliked: La cocina no puede usarse a partir de las 22.30 para cocinar. Es un horario temprano para cuando estas de vacaciones,