We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Gallo con tacos

Guesthouse | Almirante Riveros 025, Providencia, Santiago Santiago, Chile 7501545

95.0% Overall Rating

92 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2015)

Constanza Medina thinks…

"Comfortable warm beds, clean and pleasant to the view rooms and common spaces, marvelous breakfast (they prepare something different each day, it includes fresh juice and fruit, coffee or tea, a main…"

Read all Gallo con tacos reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

Ventana Sur Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 92.2% 428 reviews
Atacama Student House
23.78 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ecohostel
7.60 USD

Hostel 84.1% 214 reviews
Hostal Providencia
11.15 USD

Hostel 86.9% 153 reviews
B&B Rio Amazonas-Plaza Italia
32.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.8% 107 reviews
Terra Extremus Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 83.4% 87 reviews
Castillo Surfista Hostel
13.52 USD

Hostel 88.7% 132 reviews
Residencial Plaza Italia
11.15 USD

Hostel 67.0% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

92 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Gallo con tacos'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 91 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constanza Medina

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Constanza would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable warm beds, clean and pleasant to the view rooms and common spaces, marvelous breakfast (they prepare something different each day, it includes fresh juice and fruit, coffee or tea, a main course and a sweet). We would defineatly come back.

Disliked: Constanza left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to center

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool decor but I didn't think paying for the garden view was worthwhile as you can't see it from the windows in the room anyway (it does open out onto the garden though). Bed was very comfortable, room had good storage and a fridge. Communal kitchen facilities were nice and the breakfast provided was absolutely amazing. Overall we would go back if we return to Santiago.

Disliked: Getting the balance of hot and cold for the shower was a daily experience. The staff were not unfriendly but not particularly helpful either. The place is not marked externally which is great for security but not great when you're trying to find it the first time

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niall Millar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2015 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Friendly manager, close to metro, very clean, homely. The most fabulous breakfast ever!!! We loved staying here!

Disliked: Niall left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wojciech Osiak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 March 2015 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: Great, familiar atmosphere. Hostel is furnished and equipped with a very good taste. Breakfast is delicious! Beautyful common space is a patio with fountain, plants and sofas.

Disliked: Wojciech left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juergen Frerich

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2015 Juergen would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, nice rooms, very friendly staff, good location (metro station is very near)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

karen rosen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2015 karen would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful calm and quiet

Disliked: Speaker for TV was close to my room...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Kanne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: We had an awesome stay here! Facilites are great! Enjoyed the best breakfast!

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - very clean facility, we stayed in a double room with garden view and private bath, which was small but very nicely designed - the garden/terrace is a little oasis to chill and relax with a cool drink after long travels or a sunny day in town - Kurt, the owner, was very sweet and helpful; he greeted us with a beer and fruit cocktail and gave a lot of helpful tips; only speaks little English, but makes a huge effort to help you understand in Spanish, speaks slowly, repeats, uses simple words - great for us who do not speak a lot of Spanish, but would like to learn - the breakfast is amazing, every day Kurt prepares something different like pancakes with fresh fruits, chocolate sauce or ice cream, omelettes and always served with fresh juice an coffee

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is outstanding. Lots of fruits and handmade bread. Delicious! Vary close to subway and marketings.

Disliked: the staff does not have much information about local trips and do not have much time to help us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Caforio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome. I recommend this location to everyone visiting Santiago. Kurt and his staff were really friendly and always very helpful!

Disliked: Fabio left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanderlei Martins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Vanderlei would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the receptivity, location and the room was in agreement with the predicted. I would like to thank Fernando and Andres for the tips.

Disliked: I think could be best is the Wi-Fi signal and offer some maps for tourists.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henryk Berlet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Henryk would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely patio - the perfect place for the nice and tasteful breakfast

Disliked: the neighborhood seems not to be the best one / not so close to city center

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Hansen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the best breakfast out of anywhere we've ever stayed; it's a hot cooked breakfast that is different every morning, and is always accompanied by fresh juice, tea, coffee, and a croissant or crepe with jam. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean, it's near to Santa Isabel metro station, it has a nice patio and good free wifi. Breakfast is at 9 on the weekdays and 10 on the weekends, and you eat at a big table with other guests so it's easy to get to know people.

Disliked: It would be nice if there were trash cans in the bedroom and bathroom. This has nothing to do with the hostel, but we did our laundry a block away at Astra, and at first they didn't give us all our clothes back and then they gave us three pairs of someone else's socks with the rest of our clothes, so beware!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Starr Gilmartin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Starr would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is unbelievable! The best I have ever had hear or the states; fresh fruit, homemade jams and juices; stewed vegetables. The bed was very comfortable! Fernando was extremely helpful! Best by far value for the money!

Disliked: Hot water ran out in showers; take a fast one!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, relaxing atmosphere, good supermarket close by as well as an excercise park good for jogging in the mornings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed and all its coverings are wonderful, the breakfast is amazing (and different everyday), right by a supermarket a metro station and laundromat. We came back and stayed again a week later.

Disliked: Upstairs bathroom needs a little money investment, but it is kept clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice neighbourhood. Friendly owner very welcoming. Really good breakfast of omelette, bread, fruit, pastry and orange juice and coffee. Bed very comfortable and clean. Good Value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackelene Sutton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Jackelene would recommend this property

Liked: Kurt was a fantastic host! He was very friendly and he served the best breakfast in all of South America. The rooms were spacious and clean. The indoor open-air courtyard common space was refreshing with running fountain, comfortable chairs and couches, and grapevine covered trellis. The kitchen was well stocked and it was a pleasure to cook there. Only one block from the bus or metro and within walking distance of many attractions.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Pashias

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: The owner kurt was great and made us delicious breakfast every morning.

Disliked: Stephanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room with a big double bed, vert beautiful garden, délicious breakfast different every day

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashleigh Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: The place is an absolute gem. Very relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay. The breakfast was different each morning, very delicious with great care and thought. The host was great, friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rose petals and candles on valentines day was a perfect touch. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything Bout the hostel except for the welcome we received.

Disliked: Our welcome. We arrived late(about midnight) because we had been forced to wait 4 hours at the Argentinian-Chilean immigration. The owner was very put out - despite us explaining it was not our fault and that we were supposed to arrive no later than 8pm. He kept saying we should have told him we were going to arrive late. We asked how, as there is no space on the hostelbooker booking form to say what time we were due to arrive! Anyway, eventually he chilled out and was friendly from then on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Atkin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 February 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: The place has an amazing relaxed atmosphere - it's like a little oasis in the middle of Santiago. Easy to walk into the centre and close to the Metro. Kurt, the owner, is lovely.

Disliked: Nothing. We'll be back.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Ward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: This was a superb little B&B. we had one of the downstairs double rooms which was huge and clean with nice linen. The host, although appearing a little strange at first, was very kind and friendly and made a wonderful breakfast including homemade fruit juice. The kitchen area and outside patio was wonderful. Located just a few blocks from a metro station and about 15mins to the edge of the city centre.

Disliked: Difficult to find as no signs outside so make sure you note the B&B number. The owners play music with heavy base all morning and most of the day which became slightly annoying.