HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

El Gallo con Tacos Guesthouse

Almirante Riveros 025, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 89%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Café
  • Ceiling fan
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 89%

Location 89%

Safety 96%

Staff 96%

Value 94%

Showing 21-18 of 18 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Kurt was a fantastic host! He was very friendly and he served the best breakfast in all of South America. The rooms were spacious and clean. The indoor open-air courtyard common space was refreshing with running fountain, comfortable chairs and couches, and grapevine covered trellis. The kitchen was well stocked and it was a pleasure to cook there. Only one block from the bus or metro and within walking distance of many attractions.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big room with a big double bed, vert beautiful garden, délicious breakfast different every day

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner kurt was great and made us delicious breakfast every morning.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place is an absolute gem. Very relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable stay. The breakfast was different each morning, very delicious with great care and thought. The host was great, friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rose petals and candles on valentines day was a perfect touch. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The place has an amazing relaxed atmosphere - it's like a little oasis in the middle of Santiago. Easy to walk into the centre and close to the Metro. Kurt, the owner, is lovely.

Disliked: Nothing. We'll be back.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved everything Bout the hostel except for the welcome we received.

Disliked: Our welcome. We arrived late(about midnight) because we had been forced to wait 4 hours at the Argentinian-Chilean immigration. The owner was very put out - despite us explaining it was not our fault and that we were supposed to arrive no later than 8pm. He kept saying we should have told him we were going to arrive late. We asked how, as there is no space on the hostelbooker booking form to say what time we were due to arrive! Anyway, eventually he chilled out and was friendly from then on.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This was a superb little B&B. we had one of the downstairs double rooms which was huge and clean with nice linen. The host, although appearing a little strange at first, was very kind and friendly and made a wonderful breakfast including homemade fruit juice. The kitchen area and outside patio was wonderful. Located just a few blocks from a metro station and about 15mins to the edge of the city centre.

Disliked: Difficult to find as no signs outside so make sure you note the B&B number. The owners play music with heavy base all morning and most of the day which became slightly annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Whatever its negative aspects they melt your heart evey morning with a really fantastic breakfast, very sweetly served (you won't want lunch, honestly!)It's near the metro, but in fact it's not really very far to walk into the centre of town & all the things you're likely to want to see either, unless you have a heavy bag. It has a certain sort of charm about it.

Disliked: As above, it's very un-hostel like. All the rooms had occupants, but we seemed to be the only 'guests'. At first we felt as if we'd walked into a time warp - a 1970's short-life property - but if you don't mind that, it's ok. Stay here if you are a good sleeper or have good earplugs, as people seem to come & go at ALL times of the night, and it has very creaky floors and bangy doors.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean rooms, good kitchen, hot water and nice fresh breakfast daily

Disliked: Quite difficult to locate as there is no sign outside or building number. Staff speak limited english but are nice. B&B so not much information about activites or things to see in Santiago

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The room was sooo lovley, big and comfortable!

Disliked: The bathroom isn't very privert! I also didn't like the fact that you couldn't use the stove to cook on.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability