HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.4% Overall Rating

381 out of 399 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2014)

"The staff were so friendly and helpful and were extremely kind when we had our bag stolen at the bus station and had to stay an extra 4 nights in Santiago. It felt like staying at a friends house and the staff even…"

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.49 USD

Hostel 82.4% 129 reviews
La Casa Roja
11.66 USD

Hostel 83.0% 120 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
9.82 USD

Hostel 89.3% 127 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
15.82 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
29.97 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Happy House Hostel
19.98 USD

Hostel 89.7% 35 reviews
Traveller's Place Hostel
10.82 USD

Hostel 86.8% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

381 out of 399 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 350 of 372 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful and were extremely kind when we had our bag stolen at the bus station and had to stay an extra 4 nights in Santiago. It felt like staying at a friends house and the staff even helped us translate the police report for our insurance. The breakfast was the best we've had traveling.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing stay! Staff is really welcoming and helpful, great people work here and create this positive atmosphere. Just for a few days or for longer, you feel like home. So much that it's hard to leave! See you soon Don Santiago hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome! I stayed at the hostel for two weeks as I will study in Santiago for 5 months and needed some place to start. The staff are extremely nice, helpful, like to chat and tell you more about Santiago and Chile. We also had a BBQ night which was really nice and funny. The living room is the perfect place to get to know other travellers, which is really easy as there are only about 15 beds available at the hostel. The breakfast is yummy, fresh fruit and bread, tea, coffee, nutella, eggs.. and they even serve you and clean up your stuff afterwards! I'd absolutely recommend it! Located only a 3 min walk from the metro stations Republica and Cumming, and 2 min to the closest supermarket.

Disliked: It does look a little shabby in some places and could possibly be a little cleaner. So if clenaliness is really important to you, it might not be the best place to live. However, all the other factors outhweigh this easily!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sherie Lee Leinse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Sherie Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Great small hostel, very very helpfull friendly staff, awesome breakfast, cozy home feeling and on a great location!

Disliked: Sherie Lee left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christoph Baumann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: so nice people! :)

Disliked: a small thing: if you get up early, the breakfast offer is quite poor...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Donaghey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Simply put the hostel has a great atmosphere. Its relatively small and they offer a great breakfast in which all the guests sit around the breakfast table and get it served to them. Its a good way of bringing the guests of the hostel together. The guys who work there are fantastic and keen to help. I cant speak highly enough of them. The location is very good and close to places you´ll likely want to visit as well as being a 5 minute walk away from 2 seperate metro stops. The hostel is clean and comfortable and I think it offered great value for money. All in all its a great place to stay and id be suprised if anyone left it feeling disappointed. Thanks to Don Santiago for a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pato and The crew, breakfast, local tips, atmosphere

Disliked: That we couldn't stay longer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jaqueline Kunz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Jaqueline would recommend this property

Liked: It is not a party hostel, but is very friendly and beautiful. The staff is very nice and the breakfast amazing. We love it!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

HERNAN MONZIONE

Alone

Visiting friends or family

30 June 2014 HERNAN would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel, but a good option to stay in Santiago. The staff was very firendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was not hot water in the main bathroom.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute and comfy atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Stephenson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: It was right next to the underground line making easy access to the city. Breakfast was one of the better ones in Santiago and the people there were all of a decent sort.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. Their breakfast was fantastic and balanced.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Schaefer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

01 May 2014 Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: very kind and helpful staff, nice room design, one of the best breakfasts I had for months

Disliked: Hendrik left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy! We loved it! Helpfull staff and nice atmosphere.Good breakfast with fresh juice and fruits!

Disliked: .

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast and an open and welcome living area. The staff were all on hand to help with questions at anytime.

Disliked: I came back to find my backpack had the zipper broken and was open. I have no idea how this happened but thankfully I store any important stuff in lockers provided.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meagan Pennington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like we were just staying at a friends house! Felt very comfortable, safe and cosy there. Staff were so helpful and nice. Would 100% stay there again :) this hostel made our time in Santiago what it was.

Disliked: Meagan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. They helped a lot, gave information before arrival, on arrival and on request. They made "melon con vino" on our last evening ("you can not leave without having tried melon con vino")

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Hower

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was absolutely amazing! Great location and very friendly staff. Great vibe.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cool hostel and good breakfast

Disliked: Not clean enough The toilet in the place is not good

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpfu. Excellent welcoming atmosphere, delicious breakfasts, excellent common areas, intimate garden patio, bright colours, very clean, just awesome! Lots of restaurants around, parks, museums, metro all within walking distance.

Disliked: No laundry facilities. Sometimes the toilet didn't flush too well, but I think it's Chile's fault and not the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had such an amazing time at Don Santiago. The staff there are amazing and can help you get around, where ever you need to go, and they are full of awesome recommendations. The people who stay there are also awesome. It felt like we had our own little family- a home in Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, staff and the breakfast was great. There is also a terrasse with barbecue facilities and a cool lounge. The staff was very helpful and gave good advice. They spoke really good English.

Disliked: It seems like they can't say no to anybody even if the hostel is full. They let more people in than they had beds for. We booked a twin room which had 4 beds though and 2 of the 3 nights we were asked if we could let some other people stay with us. The bathrooms were a bit old and there was one room that just had a shower in it and no place to put your stuff or anything.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013

Liked: Nice small hostel, good staff

Disliked: Location is too far from everything and only 2 bathrooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Seitz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 November 2013 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: La decoración y el desayuno es muy bueno.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benny Cao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Benny would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are awesome, helpful and friendly... good clean hostel. The smallness of the hostel made it a nice relaxed atmosphere. Of course the staff and other hostellers made it like that too... highly recommended for the people who want to relax in santiago.

Disliked: Benny left no negative feedback.