HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel

Hostel | Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile 22331

94.1% Overall Rating

365 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/03/2014)

Mark Brown thinks…

"Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast and an open and welcome living area. The staff were all on hand to help with questions at anytime."

Read all Don Santiago Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1,000.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Santiago

The Princesa Insolente Hostel
12.55 USD

Hostel 87.9% 122 reviews
La Casa Roja
14.35 USD

Hostel 84.2% 115 reviews
Chile Lindo Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Landay Hostel
12.55 USD

Hostel 89.7% 125 reviews
HI - Santiago de Chile
14.35 USD

Hostel 73.9% 26 reviews
Hostel Ayekantun
32.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel So Be
16.00 USD

Hostel 76.7% 27 reviews
Happy House Hostel
21.52 USD

Hostel 90.2% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

365 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Don Santiago Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
96.8%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 336 of 355 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great cooked breakfast and an open and welcome living area. The staff were all on hand to help with questions at anytime.

Disliked: I came back to find my backpack had the zipper broken and was open. I have no idea how this happened but thankfully I store any important stuff in lockers provided.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meagan Pennington

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like we were just staying at a friends house! Felt very comfortable, safe and cosy there. Staff were so helpful and nice. Would 100% stay there again :) this hostel made our time in Santiago what it was.

Disliked: Meagan left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. They helped a lot, gave information before arrival, on arrival and on request. They made "melon con vino" on our last evening ("you can not leave without having tried melon con vino")

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Hower

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was absolutely amazing! Great location and very friendly staff. Great vibe.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cool hostel and good breakfast

Disliked: Not clean enough The toilet in the place is not good

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpfu. Excellent welcoming atmosphere, delicious breakfasts, excellent common areas, intimate garden patio, bright colours, very clean, just awesome! Lots of restaurants around, parks, museums, metro all within walking distance.

Disliked: No laundry facilities. Sometimes the toilet didn't flush too well, but I think it's Chile's fault and not the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had such an amazing time at Don Santiago. The staff there are amazing and can help you get around, where ever you need to go, and they are full of awesome recommendations. The people who stay there are also awesome. It felt like we had our own little family- a home in Santiago.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere, staff and the breakfast was great. There is also a terrasse with barbecue facilities and a cool lounge. The staff was very helpful and gave good advice. They spoke really good English.

Disliked: It seems like they can't say no to anybody even if the hostel is full. They let more people in than they had beds for. We booked a twin room which had 4 beds though and 2 of the 3 nights we were asked if we could let some other people stay with us. The bathrooms were a bit old and there was one room that just had a shower in it and no place to put your stuff or anything.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2013

Liked: Nice small hostel, good staff

Disliked: Location is too far from everything and only 2 bathrooms

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Seitz

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 November 2013 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: La decoración y el desayuno es muy bueno.

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benny Cao

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Benny would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are awesome, helpful and friendly... good clean hostel. The smallness of the hostel made it a nice relaxed atmosphere. Of course the staff and other hostellers made it like that too... highly recommended for the people who want to relax in santiago.

Disliked: Benny left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen and breakfast was good. Rooms were big and lockers were also a good size. Staff were very friendly and would often be offering a glass of wine and good conversation every night.

Disliked: Only 2 bathrooms which could sometimes be a problem. Hostel could get very cold at night but a heater can be provided. The hostel was always quiet after 12 however the bars behind the hostel were loud but they do provide ear plugs.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely nice staff. Good location in a fun neighbourhood with lots of street art. Very close to metro station and supermarket.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Cox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice double room with very comfortable bed. Staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast good - unexpected Vegemite AND Nutella included - as well as bread, fresh eggs, fruit and tea/coffee. The only thing missing was fruit juice. Nice decor

Disliked: A brighter light in the bedroom would have been good - it may be a cool shade, but you cannot see much...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niesje Hayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Niesje would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago Hostel really feels like home. Dorms are heated with warm, comfortable beds, common room is cosy and perfect for hanging out and meeting people. Breakfast was awesome, scrambled eggs, fruit, bread, real coffee, seriously a step above any other hostel breakfast I´ve had. Staff are lovely, super helpful, and really add to the whole package. I will definately come back.

Disliked: Can not think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i ever stayed at! Lovely house, good breakfast, funny and friendly stuff... AWSOME!

Disliked: There is really nothing i can complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Trapl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay at in Santiago, one of the best hostels i have ever seen. Cosy living room, nice people, clean and heaters in the room!

Disliked: Nothing at all - a fantastic place to stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don Santiago Hostel is fanastic and arguably the best hostel I've stayed at. Awesome atmosphere and in a great location that doesn't feel overrun with tourist traps surrounding it, but in close proximity to sites, museums, etc. The breakfast is amazing and the staff are incredibly helpful and welcoming. I will definitely be back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Robin Davies

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff make you feel at home in fact you feel like you re staying in someone s home. Good breakfast, too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abby dowel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 abby would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Location is fantastic, best staff I've come across, really a faultless hostel; we came back & stayed longer!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicola Forsyth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, nice common area, funky decor and friendliness and helpfullness of staff

Disliked: Private rooms are a little hit and miss. The first time I stayed here my partner and I had a great double but the second time we were put in a crummy four bed room for the same price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the breakfast served at the table evey morning. Very nice staff to hang out with. I would highly recommend this place to travelers and backpackers from all over the world.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is doing things right! Amazing staff, great breakfast, beautiful decor & atmosphere!

Disliked: Honestly I couldn't name one thing if I tried

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a funky decor and the staff were very helpful with activities and restaurants in the area. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. Lighting was a bit dim in the room. Great breakfast included each morning. There was a strong wifi connection and even two computers to use for free. There are storage lockers available to use, bring your own lock. Great location near the tourist sites but also in a more real life area of Santiago. Lots of restaurants and bars nearby full of local people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great staff, very helpful. Very safe, good location for getting to buses and airport. Gorgeous breakfast every morning!

Disliked: nothing