HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Don Santiago Hostel Santiago Hostel

Av. Ricardo Cumming 95, Santiago, Chile

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 85%

Location 91%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1,000.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Santiago?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 85%

Location 91%

Safety 96%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

Showing 81-50 of 50 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Don Santiago is a very nice hostel with clean bathrooms.

Disliked: I didn't like that there was no reception. In the beginning it was a bit hard figuering out who actually worked at the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it is al pleasant and clean hostel. The staff is really nice and very helpfull.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy, but that is what you can expect when you book a room with a guesthouse.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Pato was incredibly friendly and helpful. Arriving back to the hostel after a day out felt like coming home to a friends house. The communal areas were welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was really good, fresh fruit, and scrambled eggs on toast. They even had vegemite and marmite... Wireless internet was a bonus. Was one of the smaller hostels we have stayed in, which we enjoyed as it was easy to meet people and didnt have the craziness going on that some of the larger hostels have. Would definitely stay here again if back in Santiago.

Disliked: Wear your earplugs (given some on arrival) as the place is quite old and has creaky floorboards.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: An amazing stay at this hostel! I planned to be there for two nights but decided to stay for four nights. Everything is there for you. A beautiful living room well decorated to be calm, read a book, go on Intenet, watch TV. The dorm is great with only six beds. The staff is amazing, friendly and you really feel that you are welcome in there hostel. You have to meet Jorge, Pato and Rachel! They are very helpful and generous. After a day of visiting, it's great to come back because you feel just like home! The ambiance created helps the get together with travelers for great conversations, to have a drink, to sing songs, or to go out for a show!!

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer because I had a flight waiting for me!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Beautiful, colourful hostel. Friendly and warm staff, delicious breakfast and excellent taste in music. Really enjoyed my stay here, much more relaxed and friendly than any other hostel.

Disliked: Nada!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast was Awesome, fruit, scrambled eggs, toast and real coffee!

Disliked: It was very loud at night, could not get to sleep until after 3am one night!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, atmosphere and breakfast. I have stayed here 3 times and had a great time everytime.

Disliked: Pato's singing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Don Santiago is a fantastic hostel in a central location in Santiago. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. It is a small hostel that feels more like a home than a hostel. The facilities are great (great wifi, comfortable dorm, 2 computers) and the breakfast is amazing. It's a great hostel to meet other travelers but you will also be able to relax. I highly recommend it.

Disliked: There was nothing that I disliked. This hostel is fantastic.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The host approaches to the travellers as a friend which was very nice. he also speaks English very well and informative. We only stayed for 2 nights, but one of nights was "Pisco sour" night. While drinking Chile's typical drink, we met other travellers, it was very good atmosphere..

Disliked: Room was very small and next to the kitchen, right in front of the main door, etc.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel has a lot of personality, with cool decor and comfortable common rooms. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The staff was friendly and pointed out the best places to visit in the city. It was four blocks from the metro, which will take you anywhere you want to be in the city.

Disliked: The staff was a little hard to get a hold of at times.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability